We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We visited with a large family group to celebrate an anniversary. The location of the hotel is really central, making it ideal for wandering round the city centre. The room was comfortable, well furnished and clean.Robes, water, and a kettle to make tea and coffee were all provided. We had a celebratory afternoon tea in the hotel lounge which was great with lovely home made sandwiches, and numerous small petit fours. Some members of our group had breakfast in the hotel dining room -fresh strawberries, a great fruit smoothie, a full English buffet style, and more interesting options ( eggs benedict etc) available on request. Others opted for a cheaper breakfast at the brasserie Blanc next door ( but which can be entered without leaving the hotel). The staff were unfailingly helpful, smiling and welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review following your family get together. It is great to see you had such an enjoyable time and we do appreciate your comments.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    677
    197
    66
    18
See reviews for
285
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed here a few times and this was on a Tuesday in July.
We had a classic room which was nicely furnished in the baroque style that is the M gallery type of hotel.
Bathroom although small had a very good overhead shower head in a walk in shower.
The bed was very comfy as was the pillows.
As I have said before request a quiet room as many are situated facing busy roads and frequented at night by youngsters moving around the bars and clubs in the area.
We will stay again.

Room Tip: Request high floor quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came here for afternoon tea with an elderly visitor. First choice was the pump rooms but not being able to book was an issue for someone a little frail. So glad we came here; the lounge where tea is served is quintessentially Bath so, while it perhaps lacked the cachet of the pump rooms our visitor was entranced. Tea was excellent - we had the full afternoon tea - with far more than we could possibly eat despite the temptation of the lovely little cakes. The service was friendly and professional.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bathlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. I am delighted that you came to The Francis to have Afternoon Tea and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and loved it, our only gripes would be that we felt rushed during check in, the carpet in 216 is stained, the floor is not level and would not suit elderly customers, the lights were either all or nothing - not individual, the room was a little snug and we had to ask for extras on the tea tray. I think we would have given 5 stars otherwise. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt rushed on check in; fortunately for us, the Hotel is very busy at the moment, however this should not have effected your arrival. I do hope we will see you on your next trip to Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was perfect. Lovely clean hotel with very friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff.
The room / bathroom was clean, spacious and we decorated. The shower was a large walk-in design and had a wall picture of the Roman baths which we thought was a great touch.

Location is perfect with all main attractions being less than a five minute walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JP07HAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here on a weekend in the summer. Hotel is very pretty, rooms are nicely furnished (nothing fantastic, but nice enough) and the location is ideal. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was pleasant.

The real letdown was the breakfast. The staff was rude, and we gave up on receiving our a la carte food after waiting for an hour (and actually having to walk into the kitchen to enquire as to status as there were no wait staff around the room for at least 25 minutes). After about 45 minutes we gave up and decided to just have something from the buffet, but there was a queue of people waiting for them to reprovision the fruit, eggs and bacon/sausage - only thing that was there were hashbrowns and tomatoes. They were also out of water for more than half an hour. Despite our (iniitally very polite) complaints, nothing was done about the situation, and nary an apology was offered.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel, but go elsewhere for breakfast. I understand that it might be difficult to offer breakfast for a full hotel in the summer - but if you can't do it well, then you should just not offer it at all - there are plenty of nearby places to go for breakfast.

Room Tip: There are long corridors with multiple sets of stairs (2-4 steps each), so travellers with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m pleased that you liked the Hotel but disappointed to see that you had a poor experience at breakfast and I am sorry that the service was not up to expectations on this occasion and can only reassure you that this is being addressed urgently.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a brilliant hotel in the perfect location to explore the city within walking distance from all the top attractions; while still being quiet and not surrounded by traffic.

The hotel has a great style, we stayed in the superior room which was a good size and had it's own style, also a great touch with the espresso machine! Great hotel and a good price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pringle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I’m glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing