We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was very impressed by the warm greeting and the hotel decor which seemed to be a cross between W chic and Georgian history! (But it works very well!) I chose the hotel because of the location which was extremely central to the areas of historical interest and shops. The bar staff were very friendly and knowledgeable on cocktail mixes - will definitely stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback. I’m delighted you had a good stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were going to the theatre in Bath so decided to stay the night. We decided on the Francis Hotel as we saw it had Brasserie Blanc on site. What a great place. We arrived by car and the friendly guy at the front desk directed us to the on site car park behind the hotel.
Check in was smooth and our room at the front of the hotel was amazing, beautifully furnished, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean.
When we returned from the theatre in the evening we found our bed turned down, curtains drawn and water beside our bed.
Breakfast was superb. We were expecting continental but were provided with a buffet which included cereal, toast,pastries and a full cooked breafast which we both agreed was the tastiest we had ever had. Once again the service was first class.
If you are going to Bath this hotel is a no brainer. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markPontypool_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

What a wonderful review; thank you so much for the feedback. I hope we see you on your next theatre trip to Bath
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank yoong ern l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had pre booked during a 30% sale, which made it very affordable in comparison to other hotels in Bath.

Its location is very central with a long stay car park just over the other side of the square, and is a 5 minute stroll into the centre of Bath and to the Thermae Spa (which is well worth a visit).

The hotel is lovely, as are the staff. Upon checking in we found out we had been upgraded, as it was my husbands birthday, to one of the feature rooms. They had also left a lovely hand written note with a little box of chocolates on the bed wishing him a happy birthday and great stay.

The room was fantastic with a huge comfy bed, posh coffee machine, nice toiletries, nice size room... I could go on and on but suffice to say it was all lovely.

The bar served great cocktails and the bar staff were very helpful and polite.

The breakfast was YUMMIE!! Plenty of choice and all good quality (no cheap sausage and bacon here!).

Check out time wasn't until midday which was really nice as it meant we didn't have to rush (especially after the potent cocktails we had consumed the night before!)

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Francis Hotel to anyone and we will most definitely be returning.

Room Tip: 113 - lovely feature room over looking the front of the hotel on the 1st floor. You could hear the t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendations. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis Hotel, hopefully, sometime soon!
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

very boutiquee hotel, nice interior with decent colours and furniture. charming building directly located in the heart of bath. parking spaces around the hotel, paid. free wifi, good relaxing atmosphere. will come back.

Room Tip: all seem to be renewed so go for any
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crazymikemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I only scored the Francis 4/5 because of the extremely slow service in the bar area. We waited 1/2 hour to order drinks when it wasn't busy on one occasion, on another we had to remind reception to send someone to take our order. We were a group of 9 on a hen weekend. The service was otherwise faultless and we all said we'd stay here again. Simon, the evening reception/duty manager was particularly patient especially with one member of our group who had a little too much to drink! He "handled" her very well and is a credit to the hotel. The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the corner of the streets. We had room # 228 &...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sending in your review. I am pleased you all had a good stay with us and enjoyed the hen weekend. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Simon; it is always a great boost to morale. I hope the wedding goes well.
Kind regards
John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

What a class of a hotel. Everthing like it should be. Old Victorian romantic style and so cosy.
Only minor thing dissapointing was at the bar. Asking for a White russian was turned down as it was not on the cocktail list...
Will come again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunnarIngi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

I’m delighted you had a good stay with us. We have a new Bar Manager and I am confident that the service has already improved. I do hope we see you again.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing