We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday, amazing. Beautiful room and great facilities. Staff very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The decor and ambience is quite special. Great location for exploring the city. Raymond Blanc brasserie in the same building for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I’m delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us. I hope we see you on your next trip!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    699
    207
    67
    19
See reviews for
293
1,339
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It's just a really solid and slick hotel, friendly staff, lovely rooms and a great base to go out and see the City from. Bar area is nice, didn't bother with Marco's restaurant as we had other plans but it did look good. Loved the robes and soft towels, comfy beds and a great nights sleep in the heart of a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peru_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your great review; it is always a great boost to morale. It is actually Brasserie Blanc that adjoins the Hotel – come back and try it!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for one night at the Fracis Hotel ad on our arrival our experience was nothing but pleasurable. We pulled up in Queens square which is about as central as you can get in Bath, the beautiful georgian facade and architecture was wonderful and the wooden rotating door made you feel like you stepping back in time. Straight away we were offered to have our car parked for us (although this is £15 a night but to be honest parking in Bath is expensive anyway and we liked knowing the car was safe and secure) and were helped in with our bags. The interior is a wonderful mix of modern pieces meets a royal feel. Gilded gold mirrors and beautiful contemporary furniture, we sat and had tea in the lounge before heading to our room. We had a superior double which was a comfortable size and even included a quirky painting on the ceiling. The room was completely soundproof and the curtains were black out ensuring a deep sleep for the evening. All of the room was clean and bed was heavenly to sleep in!

We didn't have breakfast here, choosing to explore the cafes near by but we did find a fab restaurant called Sotto Sotto within a five minute walk, do book a table as it is very popular! and we found a few good cocktail bars like Circo which is great, especially as it is 2 for 1 cocktails before 8pm.

You can check out our whole day and where we visited while staying in Bath here http://www.wildandgrizzly.com/2014/08/a-celebratory-city-break-in-bath.html

I would definitely stay again at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which was on the street but was still silent, I think all the rooms are sound p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildandGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for sending in such a wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Francis at some time in the future.
Kind regards
John Willcock- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with our family of 5. Booked 2 bedrooms. The rooms were comfy. The location was great as it was very centrally located. Everything we wanted to see was within a 5-10 minute walk. The staff was great! Very friendly and helpful, especially the 2 concierge men. Great job - hope to be back some day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
And we look forward to seeing you then! Thank you for your kind words.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Recently just returned from a lovely stay here , gorgeous rooms lovely breakfast only downfall was paying to park your car £15 a night especially since the room was far from cheap ... Perfect location very near all the sightseeing places you would want to visit if visiting bath ,friendly helpful staff

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here; it is great to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Francis hotel in Bath immensely!

Even though the view from our room wasn't great...the room was gorgeous. I loved the special touches and decorating throughout the hotel. The bed was very comfortable.

The location was superb for walking to Bath tourist attractions and shopping. The staff was accommodating on questions about things to do.

Breakfast was great and we even enjoyed a couple night caps in the hotel's Bar and downstairs rooms. Such a great atmosphere and great drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. I hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing