We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic two night stay in Bath at this hotel. It has been recently remodeled and is decorated to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable. There is a small refrigerator in the room, which was a nice touch. It's nice to be able to keep drinks cool.
The hotel is located directly across from a park and it's an easy walk to the Royal Crescent and Jane Austen sites. It's also right in the middle of the city center, so close for shopping and all sight-seeing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mysticaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you very much for sending in a review. It’s great to see that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay in August. We had the nicely decorated spacious room 113 with a great bed and large bathroom. Only downside was no tub. Our room overlooked a park and was quiet. The lobby area was spacious with a nice bar area and comfortable seating. The staff were very nice and courteous. The location was great. We found great places to eat nearby and the Brasserie Blanc in the hotel had superb food as well. We had a breakfast and a dinner which were both outstanding. I highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 113 was spacious overlooking the park. No problem with the car noise in the street below, wind...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendations and for taking the time to send in a review. I hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A beautiful hotel. Very grand and regal. Classic period decor. Very friendly and helpful staff- cocktail waiters good sense of humour. Great cocktails. Quite a central location so easy access to shops and sights. Pick up a bus-tour from the square. Great rooms and very spacious suites. A treat to have a great restaurant attached! Definitely stay again. Parents first time in Bath so hotel was a good choice to kick things off.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

It’s great to see you had a good time with your parents and hope it won’t be the last time we see you at The Francis for their second ‘Bath experience’.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in July 2014, and were very happy with the hotel.

We opted for the inclusive modern day spa package, and were really glad we did - it was superb. When we checked in, we spoke to the staff, who said that even if we hadn't opted for the package, that they would have urged us to go anyway. A rooftop pool with great views of the city, awesome! I digress...

The room we stayed in was at the front of the building, but we found it to be quiet and didn't hear any road noise. This could have been because it was a quiet evening, or maybe something to do with the alcohol consumed that night. The bed was really comfortable and the room was fairly modern, clean and tidy.

The cost of the hotel is probably our upper limit (cheapskates!) that being said, we wouldn't hesitate to book again. As others have mentioned, parking included would be nice, although I am not surprised that most accommodation in Bath charges for parking, Bath is a heavily visited tourist destination after all.

The staff were brilliant. Really friendly and helpful, without being sickly or subservient. Personally I don't really like being mollycoddled, so a smile and a "morning" were perfect for me. That being said, striking up a conversation felt natural and welcomed.

Breakfast was of a very high standard. Everything was fresh, in abundance and well prepared/presented. Again, staff took pride in their roles and made us feel welcomed. I probably ate too much...

All in all, would not hesitate to stay at the Francis hotel again, and I urge you to do the same. Spend the extra few quid and be safe in the knowledge that you're going to be treated well, sleep well, and eat, well, a little too much...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeyBoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

It was great to read your review and it has been so well received by the staff; it is a great boost to morale! Thank you
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel to celebrate my first wedding anniversary and loved everything about the place. Staff were very helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The room was beautiful, location amazing and cocktails in the lounge were yummy. Hotel was exactly what we wanted and I would definitely stay again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Congratulations for your anniversary. Thank you so much for your recommendations – I hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Myself and partner went to Bath end of last year and couldn't wait to go back. We booked the hotel through a booking site and when we arrived we were not disappointed! The room was brilliant, very clean and a excellent size! The staff from the moment we arrived were brilliant, nothing was to much trouble and very punicual! The reception staff, extremely professional and help us with all our bookings for restaurants etc. The bar manager was professional, very helpful and educational with the drinks in which he served! The porters were super and again extremely helpful. We cannot wait until we visit Bath again and this is the only hotel we will stay.
So well done to all the staff, the management are very lucky!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

What a wonderful review - thank you. It is always great to read such positive comments and we feel very lucky to have such a good team.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The beds were great, bar wonderful after a long days walking with great service. location perfect for walking and not bad crowds at the hotel. Loved Bath and so did my family. We enjoyed the view from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmasula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

I’m glad you had such a good time in Bath and at the Francis Hotel. Come back soon!
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, ACCOR, Lastminute, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing