We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair price for bath”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, fair price for bath”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Central location, good price considering there are some very pricey places in bath. Large well equipped room and staff polite and efficient. Will book again for the Christmas market. Look around online to find special rates. No parking

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    516
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
208
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel is in a very good location for central Bath and is reasonably well equipped. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Although we had a room at the front of the hotel, there was very little street noise even with the windows open. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order, though the staff were not able to be as attentive on the mornings when the hotel was busy.

A couple of points to consider if you are thinking of staying:

1. No parking, you need to use a public car park but it's not far away;
2. Only one lift and this is quite small and can be busy at times. We used the stairs as we were only on the second floor but some may find its better to ask for a lower floor;
3. No air conditioning and the rooms are warm.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobabout1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The location is perfect but we did not sleep well here as it was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept on (at 150.00 per night!). The bathroom blind was too short to actually give you privacy in the bathroom (5 inches too short) and we were on street level.

Room Tip: Ask if you are getting one of the rooms pictured on their website as they look quite different than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
572 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We got the last room in the hotel that night! Front desk was very accommodating and the closeness to the Roman Baths was amazing. The food was a bit pricey and parking is across the street in public lot, but all was convenient and we were glad we found a good spot.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor. It can get noisy from the cafes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

On a recent return visit to Bath, I had the pleasure of staying at The Abbey Hotel. The location was amazing-right smack in the middle of this beautiful city. The immaculate accommodations were modern and very comfortable, and the food was outstanding! An exceptionally helpful and kind staff met every need, answered every question, and made every effort to make my stay a pleasant one. No air conditioning made for a bit of a warm room, but it hardly seemed more than a slight inconvenience. The city remains one of the most beautiful I've seen, and the Abbey Hotel, recently updated, is the perfect place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. An excellent find at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Even my single room had ample space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel has had a part make over. Its position is excellent for all attractions in Bath. Small bedrooms but comfortable and clean, with en suite. Brilliant Restaurant, Excellent staff, pleasant polite and helpful and nice enough lounge bar if you need to sit a while.

Room Tip: Probably a room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived early and put our luggage into a holding room until our room was ready. The room was clean and comfortable. It did not have air conditioning so we had to leave the windows open. This would not have been a problem except for the sea gulls squawking throughout the night (would have probably been the same in any hotel). The location was excellent, close to the train station, parking garage, shops and attractions. The breakfast included with the room was very good compared to some others we have stayed at. The price was a little high, but overall we thought it was worth it due to the great location and because the Police station is right around corner (you can never be too safe when traveling abroad). We were on the third floor but there is an elevator for those who need/want one.

Room Tip: Higher floors may offer more of a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sig691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing