We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$249
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$624
US$499
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$176
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,539 results
Traveller rating
635
570
222
75
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
570
222
75
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barallium restaurantroman bathsperfect locationmanvers streetno air conditioninglovely hotelcar parktrain stationhotel barchristmas marketbooked this hotelone night stayafternoon teathermae spadouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,539 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

positive points....great location, very helpful staff on reception. Nice bar area and restaurant...obviously been redone.

Not so good....service in restaurant bit intrusive at times...food adequate (not much choice on DB & B option) not fantastic. Breakfast service slow. Our room was also very hot and could not open windows for fresh air (room 119).

Would go back as location really good, but ask for different room and eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyjack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel last year so had no hesitation in staying here again as we had a really good experience, only was left feeling a little dissapointed this time. The restaurant and bar has had a make over which is very nice, and the lift was working which was a bonus as it wasn't the previous year (& we were on the 3rd floor then). It's ideal location for the city & walking distance for most of the attractions and train station. We were put on the first floor, but had to ask to be moved the next day as it was so noisy we did not get much sleep. We were then put on the second floor, much better! The barman was very friendly as were the reception staff, however the waiting staff could learn a thing or two! At breakfast we asked for some tomato ketchup. The waitress bought over a small bowl, and went to spoon a teaspoon full onto my husbands breakfast. As he has more than most would have, he asked if he could keep the little pot on the table so that he could help himself. Instead of agreeing and saying 'of course sir I'll go and get you another pot', the waitress started to argue that she couldn't possiably leave it as it was for the rest of the guests (one small bowl for the whole restaurant.......I think not!) She finally agreed to leave the pot on the table and then started to talk to her colleague in her own language which we found to be really rude (she may have even been talking about us for all we knew). The waiting staff were all wearing jeans which again for a hotel looked scruffy & unprofessional, uniforms are so important for corporate image and a sence of belonging for the staff & guests. Sorry Best Western, not a bad stay but not a brilliant one either, being a prioirty club member seemed to mean nothing in this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room on the second or third floor, it's less noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay so much this year with us. There is no excuse for the issue you encountered in the restaurant this was a silly situation that should not have happened, it is certainly not our normal standard of service and I apologise for your experience.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we do like to recognise customers who are loyal to our brand and while we do try to upgrade customers who are Best Western members it is not always possible - I was pleased to hear however that reception reacted promptly to the issue that you had with noise, and the 2nd room was much more to your liking.

I very much hope that you will return for another stay as I am sure you will enjoy a more superior experience .

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Positive Points: Great city location, fantastic breakfast.
Negative Points: Unfriendly Staff, small and poor quality rooms and bathrooms.

The downstairs area has been renovated with lovely art work, but maybe they should have paid less on art work and used the money to upgrade the rooms.

Suggest a bar snack menu... Not the restaurant rubbish snack menu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel.

I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your room. Due to the type of building that we are, rooms can be of a variety of different shapes and sizes and we are as you may have read in previous review's in the process of making some cosmetic updates and redecoration to the rooms. I was also surprised and disappointed by your comment of unfriendly staff, as we do take particular pride in our friendly service as mentioned in many other reviews. I would certainly be interested to hear your comments further to what led you to feel this way and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further.

I would also like to take this opportunity to mention that the art work displayed in the public areas of the hotel is an exhibition of art on loan to the hotel by a gallery and that we do not own it.

Once again my apologies for your disappointment, I hope that you will visit us again as we would love to have the opportunity of providing you with a far superior service.

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

New Owners and now a lovely hotel, brilliant location, food in the new restaurant amazing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms going thru a refurbish request a new one.
Parking easy just across the road in a paid car park or the Southgate Shopping Centre.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If, like me Best Western conjures up images of tired decor and coach parties then you really must visit the Abbey Hotel, Bath and I guarantee you will change your views..
This hotel has been completely refurbished recently and provides clean comfortable accommodation right in the centre of Bath just a stones throw from the abbey, Roman Baths and an excellent range of shops.
The staff are friendly, helpful and always willing to help. Breakfast is excellent and freshly cooked. Rooms are very well decorated and extremely comfortable. All areas of the hotel are clean and freshly decorated.
What more can I say - you really must try it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and for the very kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

So as not to mislead future guests who may be reading your review I would point out that although the public areas of the hotel have recently been refurbished, we have, only recently started to make some cosmetic redecoration to some of the bedrooms and this is still ongoing.

The owners of the hotel Ian and Christa Taylor who took over the hotel in February 2012 have plans to fully refurbish all areas of the hotel in time, but completion of some major building work within the hotel will be need to be made before this can fully begin.

Thank you agian for your kind comments and I hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews