We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with comfort and dog friendly”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location with comfort and dog friendly”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The location of The Abbey cannot be better. We had a wonderful view across Bath and the hills. The hotel upgraded us to a larger room and it was large and the bed very comfortable. Nice and clean. Yes the carpet in the corridors and stairs are a little dated, and the lift is very small, but overall it was a good experience. The breakfasts were very good with a good selection of cold and hot options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texan-n-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    516
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
208
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

A stylish hotel in the town centre. Rooms are fairly basic and can be small but the communal areas and restaurant are top class. The breakfasts are great and the service is professional, the Alium restaurant is one of the best in the city. Recommended for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Abbey Hotel. we appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and would mention that we do also have a variety of larger rooms (many with different layouts)

Our interest is in offering a warm welcome and ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your helpful and honest review and we look forward to seeing you back at the Abbey Hotel.

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is an older hotel which could use some refurbishment, but the location is fabulous and the staff outstanding. Also outstanding is the restaurant - one of the best meals I had in a recent 3 week trip to the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your review, which we appreciate you taking the time to write.

As you comment we are fortunate to be offering accommodation within three superb 200 year old Georgian townhouse properties situated in the heart of Bath. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy a meal in our Allium Brasserie, which is, we are proud to say, included in the top ten restaurants in bath.

I very much hope that you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here for business a few weeks ago and was very disappointed. The location is great, but for the price the size of the rooms (and particularly the beds) is ridiculous. Staff were okay although not overtly friendly, and breakfast was a massive £15 for a rubbish and pretty tiny english breakfast. My advice if you stay here is opt out of breakfast if you can, book room only and go to one of the local cafes for a proper fry up for about a fiver! It is super close to the train station and shops etc, but for a double it was a joke. The bathroom was really tired looking, there was one dingy window which looked out onto the back of the hotel and you could hear the noises from the pubs round the corner, so had a rough night's sleep! If you are staying here as a couple, be sure to request a decent sized bed- I was here on my own but the bed was tiny despite, allegedly, being a double, and my feet hung over the edge!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyrannosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your review, which we appreciate you taking the time to write. It is important that guests comment on their experiences at the hotel, whether positive or negative, and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the size of the room and bed you reserved. Regrettably, feedback through Tripadvisor is often essentially anonymous and we are unable to trace your booking or the room category that you booked through the references used. However I can confirm that we have during the last few weeks replaced 95% of the beds throughout the hotel with wonderfully comfortable beds from the Lansdown Cashmere collection along with brand new luxury toppers. The smallest of these are in our Cosy Doubles and measure 5ft width by 6.5 ft in length.

I would also mention that the £15 Breakfast charge is for the full Breakfast menu, which includes a help yourself buffet of cereals, pastries fruit and continental meats, a freshly cooked to order hot breakfast of your choice, along with toast Tea or Coffee.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with what I am confident will be a superior experience.

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel itself is very nice, clean, fairly modern and bright. We opted for a 'cosy double' room to try to keep costs down. The bed was hard, smaller than expected, the pillows were uncomfortable, there was no ventilation and the window opened into the facing wall of the hotel, not very pleasant. We had the most uncomfortable sleep and had to be up early for a full day tour, so our lack of sleep really ruined our trip.

Other than that, breakfast did make up for it as the restaurant was nice and clean and bright, the selection of food available was impressive and the hot food was of good quality including toast, juice and coffee. The staff were nice and helpful, but overall, it certainly was not worth £126 for one night. Maybe you are paying for the location which is very central, but I would not spend that amount again to stay here.

Room Tip: Do not choose a cosy double unless you are travelling alone or don't mind a hard bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainenutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By letting us know what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I was most disappointed and sorry to read that you had such an uncomfortable night, and whilst I realise it is of little consequence to you now I would like to let you know that 95% of our bedrooms including all our cosy double bedded rooms are now equipped with fabulous beds from the Lansdown Cashmere collection along with brand new luxury toppers, as a result we have received many comments from guests as to their comfort.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience

Yours sincerely

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. The room was clean and tidy. The staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included within the price was excellent. Very convenient for all facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are Delighted that you clearly had a thoroughly enjoyable visit and stay in Bath. Thank you for the positive recommendation.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent 2 nights B & B at the Abbey Hotel. location for the city is excellent. It is only rated as 3* and the rooms are in much need of refurbishment as are the stair and hall carpets that are badly worn in places. There was a lack of hot water the first morning and the shower hose and head were faulty. That said the hotel management were quick to respond and very obliging. My wife and I were overlooking the front of the hotel and it proved to be particularly noisy in the early hours of Saturday morning but that was not the fault of the hotel. Our friend were overlooking the rear 'courtyard' and slept undisturbed.
The staff were all very attentive and I could not fault any of them Breakfasts compared well with hotels of 4 and even 5* ratings.
The hotel is only a few doors away from Sally Lunn's.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and for your recommendation,

We are fortunate to be offering accommodation within three superb Georgian townhouse properties situated in the heart of Bath. Whilst the doors may show the patina of many visitors, and in places seem a little tired we are in the process of replacing and refurbishing many areas, the carpets being one as I write! Our interest is in offering a warm welcome and ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your open, helpful and honest review and we look forward to seeing you back at the Abbey Hotel.

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing