We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location - right in the heart of Bath”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - right in the heart of Bath”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location than where this hotel is - right in the centre of Bath over looking the park and the river, close to the Roman Baths and all the shops. We stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel staff are very welcoming and polite, the hotel it's self is a little tired in areas, but clean. Our room was at the back of the hotel so the view wasn't all that good but the size of the room was ok, the bed was really comfy, there's tea and coffee in the room along with a small flat screen TV, some of the furniture was a little tired and the bathroom although very clean needs refreshing. We only ate breakfast at the hotel as there are so many restaurants around but the breakfast was excellent!
There is a Moroccan restaurant practically next door to the hotel (cafe de globe) which is excellent and very reasonable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jworthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    511
    190
    58
    30
See reviews for
207
670
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Nice character hotel. Perfect location. Hard bed. Great size room. Beautiful breakfast. Would stay here again. Near hop on hop off buses. Also close to heaps of places to eat and the Roman baths. Hotel has a lift which is handy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of Bath. On arrival we had a warm and helpful welcome. Room was small but well furnished. Breakfast was of high quality. Couldn't be better located right in the centre of Bath with plenty of attractions nearby. There's no parking with the closest car park 500 yards away near the police station - this is convenient, but not cheap. Would recommend if you want to stay in a good quality hotel in the centre of Bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I really loved this hotel. I was there for lunch with family, and the setting made our meal a wonderful success. The first thing that I noticed was the way that light filled the dining room. The floor boards are a pretty pale wood, the decor is bright and airy, and that plus the light just made it a great place to sit down and enjoy a break in the city. My second fun moment was when I saw that vegetarians were taken seriously on the menu: my dish was attractive and delicious, and didn't make me feel second best as some restaurants do. I really can't fault anything about this place - outdoor seating options, friendly service, and the attractive nook for post-lunch drinking were all spot on. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

All the staff I encountered at this hotel were very friendly and service minded.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable in room.
Had breakfast in room following morning, toast arrived warm enough to melt the butter :)
The natural yogurt I ordered was smooth as velvet.
I would go back here again!

Room Tip: The room was beside exterior fan and it was a bit noisy - maybe avoid #206 if you are bothered by no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Arriving at the hotel at 2.20pm on a Sunday afternoon we knew that we probably wouldn't be able to check in as check in time was 3pm but thought it worth checking. Upon check in we asked the receptionist if it was possible to check in of which we were told 'no your room is not ready, it will be ready at 3pm' we informed the Receptionist we had afternoon tea booked at 3pm and were told yes if you wait in the lounge, when asking whether we could store our luggage we were told 'if you wait I was going to tell you' - we were in no way being rude just asking if we could store our luggage however the Receptionist seemed to this that it was rude to ask so were a bit 'put off' that we were spoken to in such a manner. We were asked to fill in our registration information and told to leave our bags at the reception desk and she would take them to the luggage room and sit in the lounge, upon sitting in the lounge we could see that the Receptionist was dealing with another guests whilst our luggage was left at the guest side of Reception (of which anyone could have taken it in an instance???) 3pm came and went (so did the Receptionist who we dealt with as this must have been change over of shift) and nobody arrived with reference to our room or our afternoon tea.
Eventually at 3.25pm a gentleman came and saw us and apologised for the wait saying that our room unfortunately was still not ready (working in hotels I do understand this does sometimes happen) and could he offer us a tea or coffee whilst we wait - at this point we explained we had informed the receptionist that we had afternoon tea booked to which the gentleman seemed to have no idea? He said 'no problems I will get someone to bring it over what tea would you like?'. When the tea arrived no cutelery was set out or plates and eventually the afternoon tea came over without crockery or cutlery - it did in fact seem the table we were sat on was not big enough for afternoon tea and we had to rest things on the windowsill to enable us to eat comfortably. The afternoon tea itself was plesant and definitely enough to fill us up.
At 4pm we received our room key and went to our room which was clean and tidy (all that you would expect of a room) which was perfect so we dropped our bags and went out to discover Bath. This was our 2nd time in Bath and I must say we loved it as much this time as we did last time, the location of the hotel was FANTASTIC you could not ask for a better location and there is so much to see and do in Bath. The weather was beautiful and with such good weather you really can appreciate Bath for the city it is!
When we came back to our room we decided to look at the menu the hotel offered, which wasn't to our taste (just personal preference) and the same with the room service so we decided to venture out for dinner and stumbled across Browns Restaurant which is just over the road from the hotel. Food, staff, experience EXCELLENT cannot fault it and for the price you pay well worth it !
The beds in the hotel were extremely comfortable, the type you melt into! Breakfast was well organised, we were seated immediately offered tea coffee and toast which arrived straight away and told to help ourself to the cold buffet. The continental selection was small but adequate, then our order of food was taken and within 5/10 minutes arrived - fantastic breakfast, nicely presented and presented/tasted beautiful. We went back to the room and got ready then checked out which was friendly and efficient and made the most of our last day in Bath
Upon getting back home we advised management of the few 'issues' we had with our stay and they promptly replied apologising for what had happened and their aftercare was so fantastic that we will definately be returning.

So what was at the start an awful experience has actually redeemed itself extremely well and for this we will not be 'writing this hotel off' as some may have done but instead will give it another chance to redeem itself to the hotel the majority of the people on tripadvisor rate it to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milly2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Finally we have found another good one.
The only problem here is depending on your arrival time you may well have to park away from the hotel, because it's so wonderfully central, a LOT of tourist busses pull up out side and you are not allowed to stop.... However there is a long term car park just around the corner as the hotel doesn't have private parking.
Don't let this put you of. This is a great hotel. Old outside, modern inside, great decor.
Big bedroom, big bed, big tv, lovely new carpet, good fittings, good bathroom, a great restaurant, and often full house.
Bath is a city made for walking and looking, but 1st do the City Bus Tours (2) it's really worth it. The bus stops right outside the hotel..how easy is that? There is a pleasant outside sitting area
Where you can watch the comings and goings. We really enjoyed our stay here, would happily come back, and recommend it to you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing