We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant surprise”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked this hotel because it looked like good value for a central location but I wasn't expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised. I didn't realise it would be quite so close to the river, gardens, Abbey and Roman Spa - so easy to walk everywhere. I got the feeling the hotel has a new young team and they couldn't have been more helpful. The room I stayed in seemed newly refurbished and was very clean and fresh with good air-con for a very hot weekend. This is the first hotel I've ever stayed in where I was given FREE WIFI access on arrival, without even asking. That alone deserves an award! The other thing that really delighted me was a very new TV in the room which had all TV and radio stations. I've stayed in so many hotels where I couldn't get radio 4. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: My room at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    519
    197
    60
    31
See reviews for
212
684
63
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Abbey Hotel is very well situated with the best of Bath on your doorstep. For our party we booked a twin and a double room with breakfast. Twin room was fairly spacious and looked over the plaza...with a great view. The en-suite was also a good size but the shower was barely a trickle. Not a nice experience getting ready for a big event and disppointing for a room price of £175 a night. The double room, at the rear of the hotel was small, cramped and the furniture had seen better days. The shower again was almost ineffective. We all had the most awful night's sleep due to seagulls squawking all night long. This wasn't your nice gull sound from the coast, but the most appalling non stop screeching The room sound proofing must have poor. One of my fellow travellers text me at 4.30am to say they had not slept at all and nor had I. This spolit what should have been a very special visit. However, the food was excellent and the bar area/restuarant were very relaxing and well designed. The staff seemed very pleasant but after having such a bad night's sleep and the fact that the hotel was very over-priced I'm sorry to say it was very disappointing visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyJ625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We traveled to Bath as part of a student exchange with nine American high school students. Our experience at booking was very easy; the staff were friendly and helpful, especially considering that we were there during graduations week for the University of Bath. The rooms were lovely, clean, and comfortable. Upon arrival, the staff helped us store our baggage so we could go explore the city and were very welcoming.

Where they became outstanding was late that evening. One of the girls came down with a nasty stomach bug and was violently ill. The front desk helped us get in touch with the NHS and when it became evident that our student required immediate help, they got a cab in the small hours of the morning to get her to A&E. The morning staff asked after her immediately when I came downstairs and offered to delay checkout time for her and my colleague who'd come back from hospital at 4 a.m.

We will certainly make the Abbey Hotel our first choice on future trips and recommend them to anyone visiting Bath!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TeacherBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is in the centre of Bath and convenient for all the sites inlcuding the Abbey as the name might suggest therefore don't expect budget prices. We booked a large double which was worth paying up for. The building is old and the layout of the hotel could be difficult if you have any mobility issues. Our room was up a flight of stairs along a corridor and then down two flights so be aware when you book to mention any issues you might have. Also the shower was over the bath with no grab handle.
Cooked breakfast was enjoyable but we thought that the buffet offering was a bit ordinary. Reception and breakfast staff were pleasant.
As it is a city centre hotel in a university town expect some street noise at night but it wasn't a big problem.

Room Tip: Make sure to mention any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Many thanks for your review of our property. I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay.
As 3 original Georgian Townhouses, there is inevitably some distance to some of our bedrooms. We do always ask our guest who book directly whether they have any mobility issues at the time of taking their reservation. For those less able to navigate, we do of course offer every assistance.
Will take on board the comments regarding the breakfast buffet and pass to the kitchen team, although I must say that the vast majority of the feedback regarding breakfast service in Allium is positive.

We do hope you may have cause to visit us again in the near future.

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sp
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Not only is this hotel very well located just a stone's throw from the bath train station, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room we had was spacious and the breakfast good. It is easy to walk to the shops including my favourite M&S! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowfeiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We are indeed blessed with probably the most central location in Bath.
We do hope that we may be seeing you again soon.

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was reasonably priced for such a good location (right by the Abbey). We booked a small double and it was definitely small but clean and fine if you're not expecting amazing luxury. The hotel itself is welcoming and was good value for Bath.

Brilliant if you're looking for location and plan to be out and about for most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaLazarou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you and I am glad to hear that you rated us as good value for money. As the most centrally located hotel in Bath, we try to balance excellent service with value for money.
As the hotel was originally three Georgian townhouses, some rooms do differ in shape and size. I was delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and feel of the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We had a 2nd fl. Room overlooking the plaza. Rooms are adequate ,clean, a bit on the small size, but functional. Don't count on Any great room service or night desk service . Barely adequate at best. Also make sure if you are there over a weekend you have a room away from the square, the farthest from the st. And restaurant as possible. The outside noise can be very loud and easily heard in front rooms. During the week it's not as severe a problem. Also they play some continuous music From the restaurant that can be totally annoying in a room. A quick call to the front desk will stop the music.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chumoda6435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to respond. As a city centre hotel there is inevitably some noise from the front facing bedrooms. We do have quieter rooms which can be requested at Reservation stage. I am pleased to hear the restaurant music was turned down when you requested.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and to Bath soon.

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing