We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location couldn't be any better!”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“The location couldn't be any better!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city center which means all of the main attractions are easily walked to. The staff were unbelievably friendly, always helpful and smiling like they genuinely enjoyed their jobs. The room was a tiny bit on the small side but fine for a two night stay for two people. However even with the fan which was supplied it was very warm and we had to sleep with the fan on both nights. But I saw this as a small price to pay for the lovely location. The breakfast was nice with a selection of continental choices, or even pan cakes. Overall amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky4990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    525
    197
    62
    31
See reviews for
213
696
63
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived and were allocated room 115 by a trainee assisted by somebody who we assumed knew which way was up. We had booked about 3 weeks in advance and were given room 115. (easily the worst room in any hotel we have ever stayed at) and I am hoping for the sake of The Abbey Hotel, the worst room they have got. A very small and hot room with bed against the wall, looking out into a very small dim, damp and dirty enclosed quadrangle, opposite the kitchens. Very hot and airless.
That night we lost about 10lbs each. Next morning we asked at the desk for a change and they could not have been more helpful,the receptionist promised us a better room ad she was true to her word.
The location is second to none, the breakfast also very good.
Don't stay in room 115.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very good location close to Roman Baths, Abbey and all major attractions. However, the price for central location is increased noise, the coach tours all seem to pick up and drop off directly outside the Hotel and refuge collection seems to take place numerous times from early morning. Obviously this is not the fault of the Hotel but something to be aware of.

Hotel is very clean and some refurbishments have obviously taken place, new carpets in the bedrooms and throughout the corridors. Bar area is very nicely decorated and is suitable for a quiet drink before going out. The bedrooms are quite small and no air con, so very warm when we stayed. We were given room 116 originally but this could only be described as a single room. Yes a double bed was in there but pushed up against the wall, so you could only get in and out at one side of the bed. In my opinion a double bed doesn't make a double room. Hotel management need to stop using the room as a double. Staff were great and they did give us another room with no argument, but don't no what the situation would have been if no other room was available.

One further warning be careful when using the lift, looks rather old and very small. It failed on us for perhaps only a minute or two (seemed longer though) we did have to ring the alarm (which does work). It started and we got out next floor and walked down. Went to report it to reception and girl was already on phone to maintenance, so staff were great.

Cooked breakfast was excellent and very nicely present, but the choice of the non cooked buffet was quite small. Once again staff in bar and restaurant were great, no problems.

Good selection of restaurants are available within a couple of minutes walk. Try Yak Yeti Yak (Nepalese) and Tilleys Bistro.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSB186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very accommodating when we made reservation, finding us the best rate and the family room for our party of four, complete with the B&B rate. Breakfast was great with a number of hot choices including Full English (no kippers). The Abbey is in the middle of town right beside the river - beautiful walks, a block fro the actual Abbey and the Roman Baths, right next to Sally Lunns (famous Buns) etc.... Desk service, restaurant service and lounge service friendly and helpful. Very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Family room with Queen and two twins was great for us, but in basement, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Although initially the route to this hotel seemed quite complex and inaccessible, once you settle into the area you realise that it isn't so difficult and that the hotel is in a fantastic location. The room was large, well furnished, high quality and very clean, with the usual facilities that you would expect from this quality of hotel. Outside in the square the hotel has a patio area where you can enjoy a drink and watch the world go by and within a few yards there are traditional pubs, tea rooms and restaurants. Across the road is a very pleasant park where you can enjoy a picnic and watch over activity on the river.

Just around the corner you venture immediately into the old area of Bath with the Abbey and Roman Baths. At every corner there is an entertainer, mostly of high quality (just like Covent Garden) an array of bars and restaurants and a fantastic selection of shops. The Roman Baths is probably the most fascinating and interesting historical location I have visited for some time, well worth a visit and the recorded commentary is very useful.

The only draw back for the hotel is that there is no car park, but public car parks are very nearby and cost around £12 per 24 hours. There is also an underground club in the square in front of the hotel which can be noisy if you are in the front of the hotel, but wasn't really a problem. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and good quality and the same in the restaurant in the evening.

Well worth a weekend stay.

Mike

Room Tip: At the front for the view, at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here with my 79 yr old mother last week and I have to say the location is excellent 8 mins to bus/train station and 5 mins to Abbey as well as being very close to Sally Lunn's and excellent restaurants and cafes. The check in with quick and effcient and we chose this hotel because there was a lift which is brillant when you a tired after a long day sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful. Just a few minor things you had to ask for toiletries at reception they were not replaced every day by the chambermaids. And I asked the reception if they had a spare nail scissors as we only had carry on luggage and are not allowed to bring a scissors they did not have one. It was warm in the room but it was quite warm outside anyway with the recent heatwave and there was a fan in the room. There was lots of supplies of tea/coffee and biscuits and a lovely hd tv and radio for having a relax in the evening. I would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is nice and cosy. The lobby makes a good impression. The rooms are just ok, but the bathrooms could be more modern, but at least they are clean. The biggest disadvantage of the rooms is the lack of air con. The breakfast are tasty, but i don't know about the other meals. The bar is open 24 hrs.

Room Tip: the room in a lower ground floor has AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartos999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing