We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveller rating
652
590
243
86
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
590
243
86
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barallium restaurantroman bathsperfect locationmanvers streetlovely hotelcar parktrain stationno air conditioninghotel barchristmas marketbooked this hotelsmall roomone night staythermae spaafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,251 - 1,256 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in late October. Hotel is located in the heart of the city, within 2 blocks of the train and bus stations.

Hotel was clean; the room was comfortable and temperature controlled. Very quiet - we did not hear any activity from the hall or other rooms. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast was above average and included in the price of the hotel - there is a cold buffet and a large a la carte selection including smoked salmon, eggs benedict, etc

Do not be put off by the fact that it is part of a chain of hotels. It looks like and is run like a boutique hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Diane

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience and as you say we are perfectly located for exploring the city.

Your comments about the hotel feeling like a boutique property are very accurate we are in fact under private ownership with a very hands on approach which we are delighted to hear you felt came across.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My fiance and I have enjoyed our trip to Bath. The hotel stay has been pleasant. It has been made even better by Jenny, the receptionist. who upon arrival was so helpful, polite and genuine. She took the service from a 3 to a 5.
The bar service was good and the breakfast service was a bit hit and miss, but overall a 3.
We would recommend it for location, although the room was on the snug side.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Duncan B

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us, Jenny was delighted to get a special mention and very pleased that she helped to make your stay enjoyable.
Some of our rooms are quite cosy, when you come to stay again we can recommend the next size up to give you more space.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes

The Abbey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a standard room at the Abbey this week and although the room was snit was adequate. As we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel there was some late night noise but this was probably more than normal due to Halloween. All the staff were pleasant and the breakfast was enjoyable . Our one gripe with our stay at the hotel was the temperature in the room and corridor of the the third floor as it was completely unbearable even though the radiators were not turned on. It was difficult to get any air into the room due to double pane bedroom windows and we had to jack the window open with a brolly to get some relief from the stifling heat. The hotel was in a perfect location but definitely needs to address the temperature problem they have the higher up you are when staying there

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil0163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Phil0163

Many thanks for your review, delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry to hear you experienced issues with the heating we are aware of this and have a team of engineers on site today looking at ways of correcting the problems Hopefully when you return you will find the temperature consistent throughout.

Best wishes

The Abbey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked in here as it was central and not too expensive. We only wanted a bed for the night, no meals.9
The reception lady was very nice and helpful and said we had been upgraded.
The room was ok, but if this was an upgrade...... I am glad we didn't get the room we booked.
It was adequate and reasonable comfortable and central, but the shower had no power and the room was a bit hot and stuffy. The price was quite high for what it was and there is no parking.
Parking in bath is very pricey. £12.50 per day.
Ok, but there are cheaper b&bs in the area and we would have got just as nice a room. Probably would explore other options next time.
Last minute thing, I have an old friend we probably could have stayed with, but didn't want to impose and we were only there 20hrs so a bit of a flying visit. Nice town may visit again for the Christmas market, later this month!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Grant H

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay with us, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully happy with the experience. Due to the nature of the building are bedrooms are of varying size, we will certainly do our best to ensure you have a more spacious room on your next visit. As with other reviews raising the heating and water issues, we are currently working on this with a team of engineers to rectify the problems we have and update the system.

Do come back to Bath for the Christmas Market, it is really magical, one of the best in the country and has a great atmosphere.

Best wishes

The Abbey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service - amazing food, great location and superb cocktails! This hotel goes the extra mile to make your stay perfect - our hen party had a fab time. Andrew Fisher the bar manager is an excellent host!!!! Thank you so much Abbey Hotel we had a fab 2 nights

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Sarah1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear SMJones40

Thank you for your kind words, we were very happy to assist and do hope that when you next visit Bath you are able to stay with us and enjoy the full range of our warm hospitality.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews