We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice Hotel centrally located to the stores and shops. No parking although parking is available with a short walk to two large car parks, we used the south gate shopping center (cheaper parking) about 10 minuets walk.
The room we had was a compact double, very well presented and clean, it has just about everything you could need bar the kitchen sink, having said that the bathroom is huge, very modern and spotlessly clean just like the rest of the hotel. The slight downside is the price which is high but you do have the location to blame for that.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank René Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Myself and 3 girlfriends booked this hotel for a girly spa escape (15th - 17th Nov). Firstly, the package was fantastic value, afternoon champagne tea, dinner, 2 hours in the gorgeous Thermea spa, dinner & breakfast all included in the price.
Secondly, the location of this hotel is brilliant for all of Bath's fantastic shops, restaurants and bars (everything we needed to enjoy our weekend away from the children).
Finally, the quality of the service and the food at this hotel is amazing (I work for a 5 star hotel in Sussex and the service we received was as good as any a guest would receive at the hotel I work in). The dinner in the Allium Brasserie was beautifully flavoured and presented. The staff member who remembered the type of Rum my friend had the night before should be congratulated for attention to detail. And Fish was fantastic (the bar man) he recommended a bar around the corner for us to go to and called ahead to ensure we got in.
The bedrooms and the amenities (REN) we just perfect; beds were so comfortable and the rooms were not too hot.
All in all the perfect weekend. We felt well and truly spoilt by the time we left on Sunday and all said we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request room at the back, views not as good but less noisy
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Rebecca F

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. As you mention we do have one of the best locations for exploring Bath and the team are always very happy to help you find your way around the city.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes

The Abbey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The staff try very hard to impress here and are very welcoming. The location is brilliant and the redecoration coming along nicely. The beds are beautiful and the heating system a lot quieter than before. But... too much fuss with the bar and restaurant staff; retraining needed here and fast. They don't know the basics about liaising with each other, not relying on the guests for information that reception already has. Any decent restaurant remembers what each guest ordered. The menu is rather biased towards haddock and this leads to confusion, although the food is wonderful once it comes.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the central service area if you want quiet rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisbishop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Prisbishops67

Thank you for your comments and for noticing the on-going improvements in the hotel, we are moving forward as quickly as we are able to and do appreciate you kind words.

It is unfortunate that on this occasion the restaurant and bar service did not meet your expectations, some of the team are still quite new and we take on board your thoughts and will instigate further training.

We look forward to welcoming you back to see more changes soon.

The Abbey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel, situated with amazing views of the hills in Bath, admittedly not from any windows, but from the square. Right next to famous Sally Lunn bakery, and practically on the centre of the Roman bath's doorstep. Feels very swish inside with beautiful decor, and lots of very attentive staff (I highly recommend the cocktails in the bar).
Breakfast service felt slightly panicky, but other than that impossible to fault really. I look forward to returning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank LS259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear LS259

Thank you for your review, we are very lucky to have such a great location from which to explore Bath and the views out of the city. Delighted to hear to you enjoyed the bar and level of service, we are growing and improving all the time and appreciate all guest feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Bath for another visit.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Room nice, heat control, windows that open, bed great, good pillows, toiletries & hospitality tray refreshed daily but not roomservice menu & laundry bag & note pad, normal clothes hangers, master light switch on only one side of the double bed; bathroom laid out weird with strangely placed toilet and loo roll holder, good towels, shower taps take a long time fiddling to get to the right water temperature; lift very small; nice lounge, but bar not always manned and during my stay suddenly off limits when they took on a group booking without having group facilities (met with friends and we were pushed around in favour of said group, this was later compensated via bill), lighting arrangements could be better, no common television or games room, chairs comfy but low; breakfast buffet okay (nothing individually wrapped/presented), menu sheets look VERY used, English breakfast very good; preserves presented in nameless little pots on table incl. butter from guest before you at your table, implement to pick up sugar cubes and salt/pepper sometimes missing; dinner menu not for the longer staying guest (in 2 weeks 1 dessert switch and one minor main dish change), menu pretentious, actual food and presentation poor, when challenged on three occasions I was treated condescendingly: they could simplify the dishes for me..., no record kept of fav drink, two senior waiters/managers very (=too) pleased with themselves for no good reason, first part of dining room (near reception and entrance) can be cold and with a draught; reception always manned and very kind aside from one American and one Italian (?) bossy bootsl, near reception free guest laptop and printer; owners very concerned with flowers and (changing) art on walls; cleaning staff nice but sometimes difficult to understand due to Polish/English language barrier; not the best hotel for the disabled, despite having a walking dissability I was given a room on a floor with at three locations one or more steps between lift and room, in (bath)room no alarm cords, no hand holds for bath/shower, loo too low, a scooter can be hired (one pound per hour at Shop Mobility nearby on Pierrepontstreet) but it cannot enter the lift or the upper floors, an electric wheelchair could only be 'seated' in the first part of the diningroom; ShopMobility nearby, Sally Lunn's nearby, just as Abbey, shopping streets, baths, (guided tour) busses. Great views from front and back. Overall look a bit dark, needs freshening up a bit. Allium, restaurant must get over itself, though they make a mean cucumber sandwich when the bread is fresh. Roomservice not the quickest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaG3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by a cheerful and helpful receptionist who got us checked in with the minimum of fuss. We were staying in the Francis Moore room in the basement. There was a lift down but it was extremely small, barely accommodating my friend and I and our small amount of luggage. The room as you would expect from a basement suite had little natural sunlight, but was large with pleany of lighting. All good so far, but when you started to examine more closely things were not a good as they could have been. There was a fan unit in the main room with a remote but no instructions as to its use. There was a standard lamp that could only be switched on and off at the wall socket. The wardrobe was really to small for a twin room; it was placed so close to the bed that it was not possible to open the right hand door fully. The two bedside lamps did not match. The interior of one of the cupboards in the dressing table had clearly not been dusted every day. Finally the large red abstract painting to the right of the door should not be hung in any guest room, it was not restful.
The bathroom was large and contained bath and shower. However a mixer shower really isn't good enough especially when the water pressure is low. The toilet bowl was too low and located too near the bath, thus it was akward to climb into and out of the shower. The extractor fan was too small resulting in a wet steamy bathroom after either of us showered. Finally there were some brown watermarks on the ceiling above the bath that should have been cleaned.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, served by attentive waiters and waitresses in a bright airy dining room.
This hotel gets so much right it sad to say some details are so wrong.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Nigel H

Thank you for your review following your recent stay, I am naturally sorry to hear that the room you had did not fully meet your expectations. We are only part way through our refurbishment of the hotel under our ownership and so not all rooms are finished, this week there is a delivery of further new furniture some of which is going into the room in which you stayed.

The water pressure situation is also currently being worked on and significant improvements will allow us to go on to refurbish the bathrooms in our next phase of work.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed breakfast and hope we can look forward to a return visit from you.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £111 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing