We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...but”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice...but”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel,friendly staff and great location for getting out and about in bath.The rooms are lovely but some,ours on last visit,are loud.The rooms are also really hot!
The breakfast is worth the additional cost but the veggie options are more limited than they need to be.
Would stay again but would be more particular about room details, etc

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Gem W

Thank you for your review following your recent stay, I do apologise that on this occasion the room did not meet your expectations and have noted your comments about heat and noise. Please do speak with one of the team prior to your next visit to us.

Your comments about our team are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    517
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
210
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

we have been there yesterday the 1st of january with my girlfriend. When we arrived lovely smile face welcomed us. Our room was not ready at that time because check in time is after 3 oclock at this hotel. its little bit late but dont worry you could get a afternoon tea in art bar. I would like to say thanks to Jennifer at the reception because she was smiling all the time and keep asking for more more help which is so nice. unlikely our toilet wasn't working in the room but when we talk to Jennifer at the reception she explaind and excuse . We really enjoyed at abbey hotel. I still prefer Harrington's hotel in bath but I could go to the Abbey Hotel again because of lovely staff. By the way there is a Ski bar out side of the hotel. it was great place , you feel like you are at the top of Alps :) I was nearly goint to forget the thanks to the Art Bar's manager , he served us nice afternoon tea, if you are planning to get afternoon tea this is the place , even if you would like to tap up tour tea pot or jam they dont really mind
. they really like to welcome people not only make money from them. all the best We will come back and recommend to our friends in london.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited with hubby and friends end November for shopping (just as the Christmas Fair was being set up). Lovely hotel, rooms were on top floor and odd shapes. Bed very comfortable, bedding spotless, bathroom clean with toiletries etc. Plenty of Twinings tea bags and two packs of biscuits. This has become a bone of contention with me in BW hotels, having visited two others recently (Brighton and Reigate). Two unspecified tea bags and one pack of 3 little biscuits for a double room? Having travelled to get there, we want a cup of tea, and in the morning when we wake, we want another cup EACH. Had to go begging to reception to get more. Anyway, this hotel was lovely, with well-appointed public rooms, helpful staff (apart from the restaurant manager who couldn't cope when we asked for just tea and cakes, not a full high tea on our return from shopping). They tried to put £16 a head on our bill for this. The breakfast was lovely, good quality ingredients. Particularly good location, quite near long term parking. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Debs G

Thank you for your review following your recent stay, delighted that you appreciated the additional tea bags and biscuits and agree you need to enjoy a cup of tea on arrival.

Apologies for the confusion over tea and cake charges but I am pleased that we rectified this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bath.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Bath a great place to visit and this hotel in the centre is ideal for the shops and cosy bars at night. Stayed over to visit my daughter ideal as she could snooze in the room while i shopped then out for great meal and cocktails. super comfy beds and such friendly staff. Parking just 2mins away from hotel, cant wait to visit again...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank mercury632016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Tess C

Thank you for your review following your recent stay and your very kind feedback.
We are currently undertaking a major renovation of the water system in the hotel which is going to revitalise the flow to all our bathrooms, this is the main project for 2014 and so I hope you get the chance to visit again and enjoy our enhanced facilities

Very Best Wishes

Ian Taylor
Owner The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for our time in Bath, ridiculously easy to find from the bath train station which made for a nice change after London. People were very helpful and nice in bath and the actual staff very welcoming and helpful.
Hotel has a cute little cafe/shack type thing set up outside with fake snow etc which is very cute, hotel is beautiful on the outside and our room was very impressive for a twin share. It was a queen sized bed with a big plasma and lots of space to stick our stuff, our room was level 19 and although I could here someone blowing there nose as their bathroom and our bedroom windows were next to each other, I thoroughly enjoyed it!
However, our shower/bath was not great. It kept alternating between bath and shower functions and would either stream out cold or hot water no inbetween. Having a bath proved to be the best way to clean oneself.
Apart from that wifi was by far the best out of the places we've been and room service was prompt and polite as well as cleaning staff. Would certainly go again next time in bath

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I arrived via bus and was able to walk to this hotel in just under five minutes. The rooms are small in size, but the location is amazing. You can walk to all of the major attractions in Bath and there are lots of food and shopping opportunities just outside. The decor in the hotel is very nice and the bathrooms in the rooms are generous in size. It was expensive, but seemed comparable to the standard rates in peak tourist season. Bonus - some of the tour companies pick up guests from the plaza just across the street. I am happy with my choice to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review, so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with. As you say we are very well located for people coming into the city, only a few minutes walk from the station and yes indeed many of the tours do pick up from outside the hotel.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Bath the next time you are in the UK

Best Wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing