We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath getaway. ”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. We originally booked a standard room and requested a cot but the cot request was not received and we didn't know that the room was too small for a cot. Fortunately it was not a busy night and they kindly upgraded us to a lovely big room at no extra cost. It was a spacious room with a king size bed and was modern and clean. Big bathroom with shower and bath too. Free wifi was useful but dropped out on the occasion. There is a restaurant in the hotel with great food but quiet pricey. Staff were kind a helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a great stay at the Abbey Hotel. When we checked in we found the reception compact, but everything you need in one place. We found the receptionists very polite and welcoming, you can see that they will in endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as possible. On our visit the lift was undergoing maintenance, so we had to climb the stairs, which being fit and healthy wasn't issue for us, although assistance was offered, but declined. When we arrived at our room, we had a lovely surprise a great and enchanting room on the top floor, you feel like you are in the roof, overlooking the roof tops of Bath city centre. The room and bathroom were cleaned to a very high standard with fresh towels each day, although the bathroom was a bit tired and could do with updating.
I would highly recommend the breakfast as it is to a very high quality, with plenty of choice and the staff are great.
If I am ever in Bath again I would definitely stay at the Abbey Hotel.

Room Tip: The third floor is very quiet and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at this Hotel many times booked in here my Company, and always found it to be a very nice welcoming Hotel, and the breakfasts were good also, which always makes an a good additional extra. I used to be always given a room almost at the top of the Hotel, which I quite liked, and it was always nice and quiet. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a good class of Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review, delighted to hear that we have long been your hotel of choice when visiting Bath for business. I hope you have enjoyed the improvements to rooms and public areas since we refurbished and are delighted to hear that you enjoy breakfast, it is for us one of the most important meals we serve as we know it sets guests up for their day.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in January. Staff were friendly and most helpful. Lovely large flat screen TV on the wall in room. Value for money and very central location. The only downside was no car parking facilities. There is a car park 2 mins. away but very costly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mr Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Brian C

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay and for your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I loved everything about my stay in the Abbey Hotel. The service was great. The rooms was very clean, nice and cosy. The hot breakfast was marvellous! The location and the view of my room just excellent! My room had a river view!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at The Abbey Hotel, it means a great deal to the team to see positive feedback on every aspect of a guest's stay and we do value your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We enjoyed very much our stay in this comfortable and friendly hotel. The hotel does not have a car park but we easily parked close by and it is hard to find such a central location that would have a car park. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished and we had an enjoyable time in Bath.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Andre K

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your understanding of the parking situation in Bath, it is great to be centrally located and have the benefit of parking nearby.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Abbey Hotel when you next visit Bath.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent one night in Bath in late July and stayed at the Abbey. Very nice accommodations, helpful front desk. The location is excellent since we were only blocks from the train station back to London. Also within comfortable walking distance to the Abbey and the Baths. We did not eat dinner there preferring to explore other venues in Bath, but thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. We had two rooms, one facing out toward the square and one with a not so good view out the back, but that was okay. Both were comfortable and clean and the beds were comfortable, as well. Would book there again and recommend to friends. As a preservationist, I liked how they reused the building to accommodate the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £111 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing