We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint English charm in a fab city centre location.”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is great value for money and the rooms are spotless, we didn't eat here in the evenings as with the whole of Bath within walking distance we could pick and choose. The staff are very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Lots of stairs though so not for the faint hearted! Would return here without a worry.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Candy170168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent one night here recently on a break from London and found it very pleasing indeed. There seems to be a wide variety of rooms on offer, and some are better than others- but there is a clear sense that the hotel is looking to stay modern and stylish. I though the quotations/illustrations on the frosted glass of windows with undesirable views was a creative touch.

Service was excellent overall. The lift being broken, we were offered the option of having our bags brought to our rooms. Admin was handled efficiently and helpfully and the reception staff took an interest in our stay. The restaurant, in the evening, was utterly delicious: really quite modest portions, though, so I'd recommend going 3-course. Breakfast there the next morning was also slightly on the modest side and the food, while still tasty, seemed more hastily prepared. Service at breakfast was also slightly less sharp, but still fine.

A comfortable bed, quiet night's sleep and a good shower (always a crucial factor) ensured a lovely stay. Will definitely come back here next time I'm in Bath.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoviceoftheBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location for a night in bath. Reasonably priced but what made it extra special was the kindness from a lady on reception called sylvana. It was our first night away since our daughter came along and she went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay and breakfast in bed which was amazing. She was friendly through out our visit and made us feel tgat nothing was too much trouble. More people like you needed. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaj1aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent location. The room was really well presented as were the communal areas. Only thing that slightly let it down was the poor shower pressure. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Secure bag store offered when you have checked out.

Room Tip: We had a cosy double and this was completely adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent location. Welcoming and professional staff. The quality of the food in the restuarant and at breakfast was impressive. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Tha hotel is being refurbished. However this shouldnt deter anyone from staying as does not detract from the overall positive experience.I would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mawa46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This place is near perfect. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They went above and beyond trying to help me. The room was clean and very peaceful at night. I loved the deep bath and plenty of hot water. The bed was big and very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful. The only issue I had was that the guys painting outside and doing some maintenance were very loud at 7:45 a.m. They were yelling and laughing along with banging doors shut and other noises. If it hadn't been for that, it would have been one of the best hotels in Bath. I never thought I'd need earplugs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yep2Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

All staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful.
Room large and bed very comfortable. DAB radio and good sized TV. Only downside was bathroom, which was a bit tired.
Communal areas, bar and restaurant very pleasant - contemporary original artwork on display is a nice touch.
Best full English breakfast ever!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackRegan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £101 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing