We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent hotel.”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Managed to find a last minute deal for a impulse trip to Bath. On arrival, we were very pleased to receive a complimentary upgrade to the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in! Huge bed, really comfy, great view out over the park.
Bathroom facilities good, perhaps a little tired but a really good shower.
Staff were polite, offering to look after our bags for the day, while we looked around the town.
Didn't eat at the hotel but on-site restaurant looked really nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Camillatron

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you were upgraded to a larger room and enjoyed the space, we take on board your comments about the bathroom and following our recent upgrade of the water system bathroom refurbishment is next on the list.

Do come and visit us again and you must try Allium, our restaurant, it is one of the best in Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    519
    197
    60
    31
See reviews for
212
684
63
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nothing amazing to say about our stay basically does what it say soon the tin. Good clean comfy hotel and room, pretty much what you expect from a best western hotel really. As usual room was far too hot and had to turn radiator right down and leave a window open which meant we could hear noisy people going by in the evening. Breakfast was good, but could be improved by better meat products. Staff were extremely kind and helpful. We arrived early and asked if they could look after our bags and were told our room was ready so could check in, which was useful as we just got caught in a shower so we were able to dry off. They were able to keep our bags securely on check out as we still had a whole days shopping ahead. My daughters first hotel experience I'm glad to say was a positive one. Would come again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The principal strength of this hotel is its location, right in the heart of Bath city centre.

It is also walking distance from the railway station.

The rooms are a bit small, and the building itself is a bit aged, but the hotel is quite ok for spending a couple of nights.

The common areas are limited, but nice enough if you want to get a rest and read.

Room Tip: No specific requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Vikongu

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay, we appreciate your comments.

I am sorry that you found the rooms to be a little small, we do offer a variety of room categories and I would always recommend discussing these with our team at the time of booking to ensure we fulfil your needs. Very pleased to hear that you found a quiet corner to enjoy some reading time.

We hope to welcome you back to the Abbey Hotel on your next visit to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time I have stayed here. It is in a great location and the staff are all excellent. This time, a birthday treat, I was very disappointed with the room. It was so tiny we had no wardrobe, one bedside table, one drawer, a liable we had to wiggle to get to work and a shower that dripped all night. I have stayed in travel lodge budget hotels that are much more spacious and a fraction of the price. I don't think Room 318 should not be sold as a double! Having to climb over your partner to get out of bed in the middle of the night is not something I would have expected for this price!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Millah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear MillahA

Very pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor to Bath and the Abbey Hotel, but so sorry that on this visit the room did not meet your requirements.

Our cosy doubles are just that, cosy, and I hope that we explained this at the time of booking. For your next visit we will be sure to note that a larger category of room is preferred.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon, many thanks once more for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recently stayed at this very centrally located hotel. The room was very very small but featured whit all I needed and nicely decorated. The room and all the common areas very clean and tidy. The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff attentive and smiley. The reception staff is efficient with some receptionist very friendly and available and others less. Overall a pleasant stay and a very good standard for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great value for money and the rooms are spotless, we didn't eat here in the evenings as with the whole of Bath within walking distance we could pick and choose. The staff are very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Lots of stairs though so not for the faint hearted! Would return here without a worry.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Candy170168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent one night here recently on a break from London and found it very pleasing indeed. There seems to be a wide variety of rooms on offer, and some are better than others- but there is a clear sense that the hotel is looking to stay modern and stylish. I though the quotations/illustrations on the frosted glass of windows with undesirable views was a creative touch.

Service was excellent overall. The lift being broken, we were offered the option of having our bags brought to our rooms. Admin was handled efficiently and helpfully and the reception staff took an interest in our stay. The restaurant, in the evening, was utterly delicious: really quite modest portions, though, so I'd recommend going 3-course. Breakfast there the next morning was also slightly on the modest side and the food, while still tasty, seemed more hastily prepared. Service at breakfast was also slightly less sharp, but still fine.

A comfortable bed, quiet night's sleep and a good shower (always a crucial factor) ensured a lovely stay. Will definitely come back here next time I'm in Bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoviceoftheBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing