We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff.”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff in this hotel were very helpful and friendly. The room we had (a large double) was a good size with a kingsize bed. I liked this hotel because the room was spotless and had character, it is also just moments from many of Baths main attractions and some nice places to eat. If I stay in Bath I would stay here again. The only down side were the heat of the rooms, yes its better warm than cold I admit but when you open the windows , it can get noisy outside. If you can get a room rate which includes breakfast , it's worth it as it is very nice . There is no parking at the hotel so we parked at the Southgate car park , it's indoors with CCTV and you pay when you leave, so it's worth the extra 3 minutes walk for the security.

Room Tip: Pay for a large double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyG32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed so much of the hotels amenities and found the location to be good, we are indeed right in the heart of everything. Your comments regarding parking are hugely appreciated, one of the downsides of being so central is that we don't have on site parking but as you have stated there are good options close by.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great central location. Breakfast good (though why the waiter had to spoon sauces onto our plates is still a mystery!) Toast was just put onto our table then went cold before we wanted to eat it - a large toaster similar to other hotels would be better so we could toast our own.
Room clean and quiet though quite small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for a short break with our 5 year old and 3 month old sons. The room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped.

On arrival we found a lovely box of high end British snacks and nibbles had been left on our bed. A really nice touch - one of those little things that you remember.

The hotel is centrally located making the whole town easily walkable for little legs. No parking but there's a public car park near by. Bit of a pain but can't be helped if you want to be central.

Friendly and attentive staff. All in all a pretty decent little hotel.

Many thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Skipgardener

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with your family, I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good choice for little ones. Whilst we appreciate the parking situation as you say being central does make it easy to discover the city on foot, even small ones!

Many thanks for mentioning the Honest Foods Box of goodies, we hope you enjoyed them, this is something we are trialling to enhance the amenities in guest rooms, they are all British and offer something a little different.

Please do come back and stay with us on your next visit to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Managed to find a last minute deal for a impulse trip to Bath. On arrival, we were very pleased to receive a complimentary upgrade to the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in! Huge bed, really comfy, great view out over the park.
Bathroom facilities good, perhaps a little tired but a really good shower.
Staff were polite, offering to look after our bags for the day, while we looked around the town.
Didn't eat at the hotel but on-site restaurant looked really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Camillatron

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you were upgraded to a larger room and enjoyed the space, we take on board your comments about the bathroom and following our recent upgrade of the water system bathroom refurbishment is next on the list.

Do come and visit us again and you must try Allium, our restaurant, it is one of the best in Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nothing amazing to say about our stay basically does what it say soon the tin. Good clean comfy hotel and room, pretty much what you expect from a best western hotel really. As usual room was far too hot and had to turn radiator right down and leave a window open which meant we could hear noisy people going by in the evening. Breakfast was good, but could be improved by better meat products. Staff were extremely kind and helpful. We arrived early and asked if they could look after our bags and were told our room was ready so could check in, which was useful as we just got caught in a shower so we were able to dry off. They were able to keep our bags securely on check out as we still had a whole days shopping ahead. My daughters first hotel experience I'm glad to say was a positive one. Would come again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The principal strength of this hotel is its location, right in the heart of Bath city centre.

It is also walking distance from the railway station.

The rooms are a bit small, and the building itself is a bit aged, but the hotel is quite ok for spending a couple of nights.

The common areas are limited, but nice enough if you want to get a rest and read.

Room Tip: No specific requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Vikongu

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay, we appreciate your comments.

I am sorry that you found the rooms to be a little small, we do offer a variety of room categories and I would always recommend discussing these with our team at the time of booking to ensure we fulfil your needs. Very pleased to hear that you found a quiet corner to enjoy some reading time.

We hope to welcome you back to the Abbey Hotel on your next visit to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed here. It is in a great location and the staff are all excellent. This time, a birthday treat, I was very disappointed with the room. It was so tiny we had no wardrobe, one bedside table, one drawer, a liable we had to wiggle to get to work and a shower that dripped all night. I have stayed in travel lodge budget hotels that are much more spacious and a fraction of the price. I don't think Room 318 should not be sold as a double! Having to climb over your partner to get out of bed in the middle of the night is not something I would have expected for this price!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Millah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear MillahA

Very pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor to Bath and the Abbey Hotel, but so sorry that on this visit the room did not meet your requirements.

Our cosy doubles are just that, cosy, and I hope that we explained this at the time of booking. For your next visit we will be sure to note that a larger category of room is preferred.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon, many thanks once more for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £101 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing