We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here this week , with my daughter for a shopping/sightseeing trip as a mothers day treat.
We had a lovely time here at Bath. The whole experience was lovely. The staff are all very friendly. The room was really big, however it was really cold. The heating had broken down and they had to call out an engineer. This was resolved but unfortunatley after we had checked out. The hotel did compensate us. This however did not dampen our stay. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip and was very impressed with the hotel
Great location only 5 minute walk from the station and close to the city centre
The rooms were nicely appointed,I had a small double which was very comfy
The only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars was the service at breakfast which was slow as it seemed they were a little short staffed
Overall great hotel and will use again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear AK1972

Many thanks for your comments, it is great to hear from a guest who has stayed with us on a business trip, our location is ideal if you have meetings within the city as everything is nearby.
We have recently installed superfast wifi which is free to use and very helpful if you have work to do at the end of the day or indeed are using our bar area for meetings.
Please do try breakfast again on your next stay as service should be swift and we do like to set guests up for the day with some hearty fayre.
Very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We usually avoid 'chain' hotels but chose this because of its location, within easy walking distance from Bath Spa station and the town centre. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. We arrived before check in time but they found us a room straight away. The breakfast was very good - all good quality local produce; my partner also had lunch in the hotel's restaurant and said that was excellent. One point worth checking - the lift was out of order when we stayed. It was not a problem for us but it's worth checking if you are going there soon and would have difficulty with the stairs a problem (the staff will help with your luggage if necessary).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyBettyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear SallyBettyMary
Many thanks for your review and I have very good news for you, our brand new lift is now fully operational and offering a swift service to all floors. The job took far longer than scheduled and the team tried very hard to help however we are all now very pleased to have a shiny new lift.
So delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and your partner’s very positive comments about lunch in Allium are wonderful to read.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Location: I stayed at the Abbey for the weekend for a friend's hen weekend. The location was perfect with the train station, Roman baths, restaurants and many shops within a short walking distance.

Staff: The hotel staff were extremely polite and friendly, in particular the gentleman working in the restaurant at breakfast (Rob? I think his name was), and the charming man working mainly in the bar/lounge. My sister and I arrived 2 hours before check in hoping just to drop our bags off, but the rooms were ready so they welcomed us early. The reception staff apologised in advance that the new lift was not going to be working for the weekend, but promptly offered to take up our luggage to the second floor. They also brought it down at the end of the stay.

Room: The rooms were basic and very tight for a twin room. As I opened the door it was hitting the bed, and the beds were actually joined together as opposed to having a bedside table or at least a gap between them. I assume to save space but I wonder if the layout in the room could be improved as it was congested. The rooms were very clean as was the bathroom however the products used left the room smelling a bit 'clinical'. The bathroom could do with a bit of a re vamp but it was nice and spacious. A number of necessities available - kettle, hair dryer, space saving clothes hanger.

Food: We had arranged a private dinner downstairs in the bolt hole on the first night. We ate from a set menu which was delicious, only comment would be that the portions were a bit small. Breakfast was wonderful, we were able to have cooked and continental food within the price of our stay. The staff were attentive and prompt to bring us more tea and coffee as required. We were a large group, and on both mornings a number of tables were reserved for us so we could sit together.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay, but I do feel the bedrooms could do with being updated. The biggest problem for me though was the noise. I got very little sleep during my stay due to various factors like hearing snoring from across the corridor; doors and floors creaking; and the seagulls which would gather early morning (although I'm not sure a lot can be done about that unless the windows are changed or they are deterred somehow).

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. I'm sure it's not easy dealing with hen parties who can get a bit loud from time to time but they treated us so nicely, and let us have our fun!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DMyers148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ideal location for exploring Bath on foot & only 5 minutes walk from the train station.
We arrived early to the hotel knowing we couldn't check in early, but the receptionist was very helpful offering us the opportunity of leaving our luggage at the house & offering a map of Bath so we could make the most of our day.
With several pubs and restaurants literally on the doorstep, not to mention the Abbey itself, it really is one of the best locations in Bath.
Checked in the the Joyce Hasset room, great size rubbish view, basic bathroom but the added touches of bath robes, slippers, bottled still & sparkling mineral water were very appreciated.
Our only negative was with the breakfast, over priced at £15, very basic, buffet table not very inspiring with only a basic choice. Breakfast served luke warm. The fried bread on the cooked breakfast was the worst we've ever had. Rock hard and completely cold. In fact it was so hard we could barely snap it in half using our hands let alone cut it!
Many of the tables were not laid up fully so the waitresses kept taking items off one table to move it to another which isn't a particularly good practice.
All in all, the staff were very good, the room very comfy and quiet but if staying again, we'd go and look for breakfast elsewhere!

Room Tip: If you want a view, would suggest asking for one on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Bristol Bluebird
Delighted to read that you enjoyed so much about your recent stay with us and appreciated that literally everything is on our doorstep, it makes visiting Bath very easy and allows you to see so much more of the city.
In contrast I was very sorry to read about your breakfast experience and have followed up with the team taking on board your comments to ensure this is not repeated, please be assured this is not at all how we would normally conduct breakfast service.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back and hope we will restore your faith in breakfast with our usual excellent offering.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Couldn't fault the position of this hotel (everything in close proximity). The staff were helpful, obliging and friendly. The dinner we had Allium restaurant was quite simply perfect in terms of food and service. Only drawback was our room which looked out onto a very noisy alley and we got very little sleep the first night...it was a very warm night and we needed the window open but the noises below and the fact that the window catches were faulty so that the windows kept creaking open and shut meant we had to shut ourselves in. In fairness we didn't mention this to the staff (would have done if we had been asked how we had slept) and no doubt they would have dealt sympathetically with this situation ....we chose to have an extra glass of wine the next evening and slept rather better. Would definitely return....but not to a room in the same position.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Alison C

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent stay with us, great to hear you enjoyed the location and dining in Allium. So sorry to hear you had a disturbed night, our reception team most certainly would have done all they could to put this right for you but I do like your approach to a good night’s sleep for the second night.

Sadly we do sometimes suffer from noisy revellers heading home, a downside to the central location that is in all other respects as you so kindly say is an advantage.
I hope we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank deegarkingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £84 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing