We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveller rating
635
569
221
75
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
569
221
75
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barallium restaurantroman bathsperfect locationmanvers streetno air conditioninglovely hotelcar parktrain stationhotel barchristmas marketbooked this hotelone night stayafternoon teathermae spadouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel just before Christmas and the fact that it is very central was great for us. We thought out bedroom and we thought the bed was soo comfy we even bought a mattress the same !! Clean, smart but welcoming and a great breakfast, all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlejem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Littlejem52
Great to hear that you loved the bed so much you bought one! So many people ask us about them, they are custom made for us but hey do sell an almost identical version and as you know you cannot beat a comfy bed.

Hope to see you in Bath again soon, at least you know you will get a good nights sleep after a busy day in the city.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Would not normally book a 3* but had good reviews. Its getting some upgrades done but not finished yet. It will be a very good 4* or possibly 5* when finished. Dinner fantastic. Cooked breakfast a bit tasteless. Would go back without any question. By the way Superb Views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Abbey last weekend with husband to celebrate my birthday. We arrived quite late on the Friday, but received a very warm welcome from the staff. As we entered our room, I was very impressed to see how large it was, large bed...two sofas and a walk in wardrobe.

I must also say a huge thank you to the hotel for the lovely box of chocolates placed in my room to wish me a happy birthday....that was most kind. The hotel is the best location for the Roman Baths (just around the corner), sightseeing, bars and restaurants.

We had a really lovely time in bath, it is a great city. I would certainly recommend the Abbey if you are ever in Bath, it is a lovely hotel, great staff, extremely comfortable and great location.

We will definately return!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LvhKfr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review and I hope you had a wonderful birthday weekend in Bath! Very pleased to hear we were part of it and hope you enjoyed the birthday chocolates.
We have lots more changes and refurbishment planned for the hotel, bar and restaurant this year so do come back and see us soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here this week , with my daughter for a shopping/sightseeing trip as a mothers day treat.
We had a lovely time here at Bath. The whole experience was lovely. The staff are all very friendly. The room was really big, however it was really cold. The heating had broken down and they had to call out an engineer. This was resolved but unfortunatley after we had checked out. The hotel did compensate us. This however did not dampen our stay. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip and was very impressed with the hotel
Great location only 5 minute walk from the station and close to the city centre
The rooms were nicely appointed,I had a small double which was very comfy
The only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars was the service at breakfast which was slow as it seemed they were a little short staffed
Overall great hotel and will use again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear AK1972

Many thanks for your comments, it is great to hear from a guest who has stayed with us on a business trip, our location is ideal if you have meetings within the city as everything is nearby.
We have recently installed superfast wifi which is free to use and very helpful if you have work to do at the end of the day or indeed are using our bar area for meetings.
Please do try breakfast again on your next stay as service should be swift and we do like to set guests up for the day with some hearty fayre.
Very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews