We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute treat!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An absolute treat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is definitely one of the most pleasant hotels I have stayed at in recent years. We (went with my husband for a special celebration) loved everything about it: the very friendly service, the large room (free upgrade - a nice suprise!) with great bed and lounging area, the fantastic location right in the center of things, the bar with excellent selection of drinks (and bar snacks), the delicious breakfast (included in our rate), the super deal (Sunday night stay) which gave us 2 hours at the nearby Spa - I'm running out of positive adjectives, but it was really that good. Worth planning a trip to Bath almost for the hotel experience alone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ardief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Ardief
Many thanks for your fabulous review following your recent stay, I am so pleased that we helped make your special celebration such a great experience.
I note that you would come back to Bath just to stay with us, excellent news and I hope we can welcome you very soon.

Thank you once again
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    499
    182
    58
    26
See reviews for
201
651
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel situated in the centre of Bath.

On arrival, Jenny the receptionist was absolutely fantastic- she made us feel very welcome, friendly and knowledgeable. On leaving the hotel she was equally helpful and lovely and genuinely cared if we had a good week. You don't see that level of service in most hotels.

Our room was the Frances Moore room, we were expecting a standard double room but the room we received was massive- far bigger than our expectations! The room was clean and tidy and the bath and shower facilities top notch.

Breakfast was speedy and efficient, the staff all very friendly and welcoming (especially the long blonde haired lady whose name I didn't catch- she was lovely.)

All in all we had a very nice stay at The Abbey Hotel and would recommend it to anybody.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

5 out of 5 in every respect. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, beautifully appointed rooms and common areas - some great artworks - lovely big room (came direct from Paris!) fantastic dinner in the in house restaurant. The overall ambience was of the highest level. One tip - get firm directions to the hotel, we did not realise the street was discontinuous and drove around for 20 minutes trying to find it - not their fault!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Marant0
Thank you for your top score 5/5 really pleased to hear that we delivered on every aspect of your stay. I can only apologise that you found us tricky to find, Bath is not the easiest city to navigate on a first visit but soon becomes familiar. We hope to welcome you back again.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Abbey Hotel is in a great location, excellent service, beds very comfortable, rooms immaculate with in trend decor. My recent stay was for my 40th birthday and a trip to Bath Spa, I called the hotel to advise this & on article they gave me the best room 311 (within the price band I had paid for) Comfort Double at £72, it was lovely with an original old fire place and stone feature wall, views out towards the Abbey, park and river. The Duty Manager also left a box of Thorntons Chocs in my room on arrival, such a nice touch. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brineya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Brineya
Thank you for your kind words following your recent Birthday visit to Bath.
Delighted to read that our team helped to make it extra special for you and indeed whilst 311 is one of our smaller rooms it is also a very pretty room as you say with great views.

Lots of guests comment on our comfortable beds, they are made specially for us to ensure a good nights sleep.

Hope that you have an opportunity to visit Bath again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel just before Christmas and the fact that it is very central was great for us. We thought out bedroom and we thought the bed was soo comfy we even bought a mattress the same !! Clean, smart but welcoming and a great breakfast, all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Littlejem52
Great to hear that you loved the bed so much you bought one! So many people ask us about them, they are custom made for us but hey do sell an almost identical version and as you know you cannot beat a comfy bed.

Hope to see you in Bath again soon, at least you know you will get a good nights sleep after a busy day in the city.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Would not normally book a 3* but had good reviews. Its getting some upgrades done but not finished yet. It will be a very good 4* or possibly 5* when finished. Dinner fantastic. Cooked breakfast a bit tasteless. Would go back without any question. By the way Superb Views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Abbey last weekend with husband to celebrate my birthday. We arrived quite late on the Friday, but received a very warm welcome from the staff. As we entered our room, I was very impressed to see how large it was, large bed...two sofas and a walk in wardrobe.

I must also say a huge thank you to the hotel for the lovely box of chocolates placed in my room to wish me a happy birthday....that was most kind. The hotel is the best location for the Roman Baths (just around the corner), sightseeing, bars and restaurants.

We had a really lovely time in bath, it is a great city. I would certainly recommend the Abbey if you are ever in Bath, it is a lovely hotel, great staff, extremely comfortable and great location.

We will definately return!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LvhKfr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I hope you had a wonderful birthday weekend in Bath! Very pleased to hear we were part of it and hope you enjoyed the birthday chocolates.
We have lots more changes and refurbishment planned for the hotel, bar and restaurant this year so do come back and see us soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing