We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and i stayed here over the bank holiday weekend in room 5. Room was clean well furnished and quiet overlooking the beer garden. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of cereals, yogurts etc. freshly prepared breakfast was great and served on piping hot plates. Big than you to the ladies so accomodating and friendly. In fact all the management and staff went out of there way to make this a most enjoyable stay. will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 953CHRIS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for your very kind feedback following your visit this past weekend, delighted to read that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and the service, all essential elements of a good stay! I hope that we can welcome you back to Bath soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    519
    197
    60
    31
See reviews for
212
684
63
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Paid over the odds for a room which transpired to be oppisite two loud and noisey pubs filled with hen and stag parties also loud music and a cold room. The breakfast in bed, although for two people waa inconsistent and with missing items. Decor of the bathroom circa 1980's and shabby. Overall an extremely high price for what I would consider a 3* hotel. I have complained and heard nothing. There are far more nicer and reasonable proced hotels than this in Bath!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AmyW
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us, I am so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by external noise. I can only apologise for this, it is from time to time the downside of our extremely central location and whilst we do have measures in place to manager exterior traffic at night it is not always within our control.
With reference to your comments about the room, all bedrooms underwent a soft refurbishment last year, new TV’s DAB radios and fibre optic wifi were introduced. During the winter months we installed a full new boiler and heating system in the hotel which allows us to continue with the next phase of our refurbishment which is the bathrooms and work will commence to upgrade all bathrooms very soon.
We do take all guest complaints very seriously and I am sure that the team were investigating your comments prior to sending a full and informed response.
Once again I am sorry that you felt we let you down on some aspects of your stay, we are always disappointed to read that a guest has left feeling unhappy and prefer to deal with problems when they arise and do our utmost to put things right and ensure a good experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here over the Easter Bank Holiday for one night. The location couldn't really be better as this hotel is right in the centre beside all the main attractions. The room I had was quite large and had a nice big bed along with some seating. Perfectly adequate for two people. I slept very well and there were no noise issues to disturb me. I didn't have the breakfast or eat in the restaurant. All in a very good place to stay but at a price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you judge a hotel by the quality of its staff then The Abbey is an excellent choice in Bath. All of the members of the team I encountered were cheery, helpful and extremely courteous. Sadly only stayed one night this time but would certainly use the hotel on a future visit. Breakfast cooked to order was excellent (how many hotels offer bacon and egg butty?).
I am reliably informed by a local that the restaurant is excellent, so all in all a great venue. I think this is a hotel on the up and will only get better, so have it on your radar if you are visiting England's most beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello KenT
Thank you for your review and exceptionally kind words about our team, they do indeed do all they can to make the guest experience special. Delighted to read you enjoyed breakfast so much, we cook to order so you can have whatever combination is your favourite!
We look forward to welcoming you back and please do take the recommendation of the local guest you spoke with and join us for dinner.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Sunday (on the special dinner, bed and breakfast rate) and also on Monday night (b&b). We had a really lovely time and will certainly come back again. We had a large, comfortable room with a superking bed and the room was very quiet. Throughout our stay the staff were really pleasant and helpful, and there is a luggage room so that you can leave bags after check-out. The location is superb and all of the tourist sights are within a short walk, as is the station. We had lunch twice, breakfast twice and our evening meal once and the food is comparable with most top restaurants. The chicken terrine and the confit of lamb from the fixed menu were excellent, as were the English cheeses. The French Vermentino and Merlot were both really good as house wines, and very reasonably priced. Superb location, comfortable and friendly, helpful service - I would absolutely recommend the Abbey Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, delighted to hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay with us! Especially good to read that you chose to dine on several occasions, Allium is loved by locals and Chris Staines and his team deliver exceptional food and I am so pleased to read that you had such a great experience of food, wine and service.
We hope to welcome you back to Bath again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Abbey Hotel on our weekend trip to Bath and are happy to recommend it. Excellent central location, our room was clean and comfortable nothing really to complain about. It was though a bit pricey, but as we booked rather late for a busy Saturday -our fault.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Franz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I booked 2 x large rooms for a stay to celebrate my mother in laws 70th birthday. The hotel is in an excellent position within Bath. We arrived at the hotel early and one of the rooms was ready so we were able to leave all out luggage in this room why we went out to explore Bath. The check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was very helpful and pleasant.

I had emailed the hotel prior to our visit to ask for rooms with nice views if possible and when we got our rooms, they were at the front of the hotel overlooking the river. They were beautiful big rooms, very nicely decorated and comfortable as were the beds . The staff had also left a box of chocolates with a handwritten note in my mother in laws room, wishing her happy birthday. A very nice and unexpected touch.

There was a choice for breakfast the next day which was all cooked to order and very nice and also with a selection of help yourself cereal, pastries etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Abbey Hotel and would stay again if we return to Bath in the future. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.


Breakfast the next morning

Room Tip: We chose the large rooms and were extremely pleased. I did see the small doubles being cleaned the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northamptonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Northamptonians

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted to hear that your party enjoyed your special birthday celebrations whilst staying with us. The team are very attentive to details when taking bookings and if they know it is for a special occasion will always try to make it memorable.
Very pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast too!
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing