We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$622
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,539 results
Traveller rating
635
570
222
75
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
570
222
75
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barallium restaurantroman bathsperfect locationmanvers streetno air conditioninglovely hotelcar parktrain stationhotel barchristmas marketbooked this hotelone night stayafternoon teathermae spadouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,539 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked the Abbey last minute for a weekend get away to Bath - our anniversary. The location is great, you are laterally in the middle of the city and seconds from the Roman Baths.

A special mention to the Manager Silvana Bandini who made us feel very welcome - I called ahead to confirm the booking and asked for a room with a view as it was our anniversary. Not only did we get a cracking view but the lovely surprise of a chilled bottle of wine waiting in our room on arrival - a lovely touch - thanks!

Breakfast was tasty and we left full and glad of our choice to stay at the Abbey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Wandsworth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear James

Delighted that you found us for your last minute anniversary break to Bath, we do like to know when guests are celebrating something special and the team are always delighted to make your stay memorable.

Pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast too and I hope we can maybe welcome you bath to Bath for a future anniversary visit.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good character hotel in the centre of Bath. We had the second tier room on the 3rd floor which was very nice and comfy with views of the Abbey and riverside gardens. Although it was only early June and 20 degrees, the room was pretty warm despite open windows and the 3rd floor corridors were uncomfortably hot. I would imagine in high summer this could be a problem with no aircon. Dinner was great with a good resident menu at a reasonable price but limited choice. the full menu was excellent but very pricey. Breakfast was all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor in hot weather.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairC209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear AlistairC209

Thank you for your review following your recent stay, very pleased to read you enjoyed dinner and breakfast and overall were pleased with the room.
As you say the hotel has great character, but it is a Georgian building and that can bring operational niggles, we are addressing the heat issue on the 3rd floor and will be installing more AirCon to alleviate the problem. This is a priority for us as we settle into what seems to be another good summer.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a surprise hen weekend (I believe the hen party package was booked). The rooms were incredibly comfortable, well stocked and very clean. All the staff (reception, waiters and bar staff) were polite, helpful and very friendly. Special mention to our cocktail host Bella who made the evening great fun.
The hotel went above and beyond for one member of our party who was a celiac and really made the weekend special. They even made a separate complete gluten free afternoon tea with two types of cake, scones and sandwiches!
I really can't recommend this hotel enough and thank you for making our weekend amazing!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrsSBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear MrsSBolton

Lovely to hear from a Hen Party guest, thank you for your great feedback, Bella has only been with us a few weeks so is delighted to get a special mention.
So pleased that our service helped to make the weekend special for everyone in your party and hope you all had a wonderful time

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed there for two days and couldn't fault anything, the staff were helpful and quick. The food was very good both breakfast and dinner. In my view you can always tell a good hotel by the quality of the breakfast, if they charge a lot and give you sausages made of cardboard then other things will be substandard.

Room Tip: dont pick the small double rooms- you cant swing a cat in them!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, on both the hotel and restaurant, really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope we can welcome you back

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room was very-very small for £175 price ( no breakfast) first floor with view at the flat roof of the kitchen below, Room 118 had a corner bed, meaning my partner had to jump across to get to his side of the bed. There was no wardrobe or a place to put the suitcase because the room was far too small for that. Noise from a fan or air con from the kitchen coming from outside. When I went to ask for a better room (we just asked for a room with at least an access to both sides of the bed) the gentleman at the reception showed me one that was smelly and tired deco....so we stayed in the clean one....). On the good side our room was very clean and materass was comfortable. Staff was very polite.

Room Tip: Maybe you want to pay a bit more than £175 if you want to be sure to have a decent side room. Room 118 was a little stamp on the first floor. Major view was on the fire exit stairs and the flat roof.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sissi095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Sissi095
Thank you for the positive feedback on room comfort, cleanliness and staff service during your recent visit.
I am very sorry to read that you felt the room was too small, these room types have recently been re-categorised to “Tiny” rooms and recommended for single travellers. We appreciate access to the bed from one side only is something that needs to be in the description too and have updated this across all booking platforms.
Should you visit Bath again we will certainly ensure you have a larger room category.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews