We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have stayed here three years ago and was OK Recent stay in June 2014 found everything very much improved all round. Someone has been listening to customer comments and has acted on them. position of Hotel is also spot on. Really made our stay complete.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear PhilipB
Delighted to hear you are a returning guest and that you found us so much improved since your visit 3 years ago. The Abbey has been under our ownership for just over two years now and we have undertaken a lot of refurbishment of the property and developed the restaurant and bar but still lots to do and you will see further improvement over the coming months, hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit again soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was a recommend place to stay as the place we was staying at could not accommodate us for an extra night. The receptionist Rosa was helpful happy smiling kind & very officiant, the room was spotlessly clean Rm 320 & had all we needed coffee tea dressing gowns such a comfy bed & pillows.The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean A gold star for the cleaning team. The bar was funky & nice however the drinks a tad pricey, the prosecco 125ml was put in a large glass which made it look like a mouthful. The outside was nice & comfy with excellent views clean tables & chairs you could sit there for hours whiling the day away. One night stay £118 was happy to pay this.

Room Tip: Our room was spotless one would think them all the same due to the cleanliness of the whole Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Diana
Rosa is delighted to get a special mention in your review! Thank you for your lovely feedback, very pleased to read that you enjoyed your additional night in Bath with us and really hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Abbey Hotel is literally a stone's throw away from the Bath Abbey, the Baths, and the Pump Room. The room was small but comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. You couldn't ask for a better location in Bath!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notjustaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us, really pleased to read how much you enjoyed every aspect and we hope to welcome you back one day..
Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and wish we could have stayed for longer. The staff were excellent and acknowledged it was our anniversary upon checking in. We were on the 3rd floor with amazing views over the park and city. A complimentary box of Thorntons was left on our bed, and made the stay feel even more special. The room was massive, very comfortable and well appointed. Nicely decorated too. The hotel is within walking distance of every main attraction and the reception staff were very helpful with recommendations, directions etc etc. Breakfast in the morning was superb, freshly cooked and an additional continental buffet. All in all, a fantastic hotel with brilliant staff, all in a central location. Wouldn't hesitate to book again! Thanks Abbey Hotel :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KadieTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear KadieTOxford
Lovely to read a review that starts “we wish we could have stayed longer” so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary break with us in Bath. Your kind words about the staff are hugely appreciated and delighted that you enjoyed breakfast too.
Hope you had a wonderful anniversary and that we can welcome you back for a future visit to Bath.
Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Abbey is a very good hotel and when work is completed to include air conditioning, it will be far more comfortable. At the time of our visit (June 2014) the room on the "quiet side" was very stuffy. Opening the windows and using the small fan helped improve the situation but it meant that noise from outside was quite loud at times. For the cost of the room, this lack of comfort reduced its value. The room and bathroom were large and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the location is excellent - walking distance to all main sites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear TheVals

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us, so pleased to read that you enjoyed the room and breakfast and of course our great central location.

With what looks to be another warm summer settling in we are indeed addressing the need for Air Conditioning across the hotel and are increasing this across our bedrooms.
Thank you again for your kind words.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked the Abbey last minute for a weekend get away to Bath - our anniversary. The location is great, you are laterally in the middle of the city and seconds from the Roman Baths.

A special mention to the Manager Silvana Bandini who made us feel very welcome - I called ahead to confirm the booking and asked for a room with a view as it was our anniversary. Not only did we get a cracking view but the lovely surprise of a chilled bottle of wine waiting in our room on arrival - a lovely touch - thanks!

Breakfast was tasty and we left full and glad of our choice to stay at the Abbey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Wandsworth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear James

Delighted that you found us for your last minute anniversary break to Bath, we do like to know when guests are celebrating something special and the team are always delighted to make your stay memorable.

Pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast too and I hope we can maybe welcome you bath to Bath for a future anniversary visit.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#11 of 34 in Bath
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £84 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing