We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice in Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great choice in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Friendly staff + clean and quiet room + and great central location = wonderful stay. Our room overlooked a quiet courtyard and a distant view of the hills. There was no A/C, but you could open the window and the room had an oscillating fan. The seagulls on the rooftops were loud at times, but not too bad. There was a small continental breakfast table, plus there were several options for a cooked to order breakfast. If you have a car, parking in the Southgate garage seems to be the most convenient option because the other parking lots require daily visits for Pay and Display payments.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Waypix
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us whilst visiting Bath, I hope should you return you take the opportunity to stay with us again, Who knows Bath may even be free of Seagulls then!

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    498
    180
    58
    26
See reviews for
200
648
60
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room was small but very comfortable. No air conditioning, but that was a relief after our London hotel. It would have been good if the window had opened wider, but the fan provided kept us comfortable. Bathroom was great. Location can't be beat----a 5 minute walk to Roman Baths and the Abbey, and the pick-up spot for our day-long mini-bus tour (Mad Max, very well done). Breakfast was good and service was quick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesTraveler566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that if you visit Bath again we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Boutique hotel in the centre of the city.
I had a so-called "small room", and it was if course small and not very well refurnished.
The location is perfect.
The staff is extremely nice (ask for Rosa) and they will do whatever in thier possibilites to help you.
Nice breakfast, maybe not so cheap.
If you find a good offert with Booking, catch it!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the window on the main square (like 311)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrgM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello PrgM12
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay and your kind words about Rosa, so pleased that we helped you to enjoy your visit to Bath.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have stayed here three years ago and was OK Recent stay in June 2014 found everything very much improved all round. Someone has been listening to customer comments and has acted on them. position of Hotel is also spot on. Really made our stay complete.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear PhilipB
Delighted to hear you are a returning guest and that you found us so much improved since your visit 3 years ago. The Abbey has been under our ownership for just over two years now and we have undertaken a lot of refurbishment of the property and developed the restaurant and bar but still lots to do and you will see further improvement over the coming months, hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit again soon.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was a recommend place to stay as the place we was staying at could not accommodate us for an extra night. The receptionist Rosa was helpful happy smiling kind & very officiant, the room was spotlessly clean Rm 320 & had all we needed coffee tea dressing gowns such a comfy bed & pillows.The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean A gold star for the cleaning team. The bar was funky & nice however the drinks a tad pricey, the prosecco 125ml was put in a large glass which made it look like a mouthful. The outside was nice & comfy with excellent views clean tables & chairs you could sit there for hours whiling the day away. One night stay £118 was happy to pay this.

Room Tip: Our room was spotless one would think them all the same due to the cleanliness of the whole Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Diana
Rosa is delighted to get a special mention in your review! Thank you for your lovely feedback, very pleased to read that you enjoyed your additional night in Bath with us and really hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Abbey Hotel is literally a stone's throw away from the Bath Abbey, the Baths, and the Pump Room. The room was small but comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. You couldn't ask for a better location in Bath!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notjustaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us, really pleased to read how much you enjoyed every aspect and we hope to welcome you back one day..
Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing