We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly but not quite 4 star. I should know ive stayed in over 460 hotels”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here 06/07/2014 and was given room 305 on the top floor.. Immaculate cleanliness throughout this hotel.. Room 305 what let it down from being 4 star.. the bath side covering did not match up to the bathtub which enables moisture and items to get down the back.. also bathroom shampoo body wash etc impossible to open as have a foil top sealed over each.. also a lovely modern wireless that informed me stations need retuning...and worst of all little sleep due to the heat in the room...no airconditioning is a real shame as the highlight to the property is the room service and food artistically presented by the excellent http://alliumbrasserie.co.uk

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location and friendly staff need to be mentioned. Further, its Allium restaurant is also a great place for good food and relaxing atmosphere. I will always this hotel if I visit Bath in the future.

Room Tip: Close to the train station and right in the city centre.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came to Bath for a very special occasion and decided to stay here. We are so glad that we did. We were here for the graduation of our niece and our stay here contributed to making it a very memorable couple of days. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the location is perfect. We really loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloMeophamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a fabulous time in the Abbey last weekend.

Our family had gotten together for a rare reunion to celebrate a special birthday & we couldn't have chosen a better location.

For the birthday meal, we had the pleasure of Daisy attending to us & we couldn't have chosen a more perfect person if we had tried.

In our group we had a mix of tastes, preferences & dietary requirements & Daisy took an interest in all of our requirements, doing her utmost to ensure everyone was not merely satisfied, but delighted with their
meal.

The same can be said for Justine who was always on hand if needed without crowding the table.

That is not to say we found the other members of staff lacking as every one was extremely engaging, polite, personable and (whether deliberate or not) more than willing to ensure their guests had a great experience.

Stay here to experience Bath and it's vibrancy & if you
have Daisy &/or Justine attending to you, you are pretty much guaranteed an excellent break.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnInclination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From my initial e-mail exchange to ensure the right booking, through to adjusting reservations and meeting needs, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant at the hotel. Although the rooms are unfussy, the hotel has decent facilities and a good ambience throughout the shared areas. Plus the food is much better than would be expected at a Best Western!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but in that short time the staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was quite small but the view was amazing and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and could even be served in your room. It was lovely to sit outside the front of the hotel having a few drinks in the very stylish bar and watch the world go by. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed for one night, with breakfast included, paid for by the University of Bath, where I went for a job interview. I requested a quiet room away from street noise and was given one overlooking a courtyard at the back, and it was silent as the grave - apart from squawking seagulls, which didn't bother me at all. I can find only 1 fault with this hotel - there was no aircon, and on a very warm June night, a window that would only open a few inches, and an oscillating fan, weren't quite enough. That said, I believe the hotel plans to install air conditioning soon. Everything else was absolutely excellent - all staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful - receptions staff and breakfast staff alike. The hotel is very clean and nicely furnished, with large fluffy towels and bathrobes. There's very good free wifi, and the room was perfectly big enough, with a spacious bathroom. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in hotel, not so much in terms of range or choice (though that was good), but in terms of quality - a superb bowl of porridge, and excellent cooked breakfast - made to order. This is certainly a 4 * hotel in terms of service and quality. There's no parking, and I was rather nervous leaving my car parked for 5 minutes while I unloaded my luggage before then driving up to park on the university campus, where I had a reserved space - the loading bay is intended only for taxis and buses, but the hotel reception lend you a notice to place on your dashboard, reminding any traffic wardens of the unloading 'agreement' it has - with the local council, I presume. Reception staff are very good - the excellent young man who checked me in arranged for my luggage to be taken up to my room, allowing me to get back to the car and move it.

I would most certainly make this my first choice hotel if I return to Bath - though not in hot weather (until they install air conditioning).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to risk being disturbed by street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmithersMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear SmithersMidlands

Thank you for your review following your recent say whilst visiting Bath University, delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and most especially the team’s level of service and breakfast.
Some of our rooms do currently have air con but as part of our on-going refurbishment project it will be fitted in more rooms later this year in the hope that we are going to continue to enjoy wonderful summers.
Hope the interview went well and that we can welcome you to the Abbey Hotel again.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £110 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing