We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend!”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have just come back from an amazing weekend at this hotel. My friends and I were celebrating my big birthday. Everything was wonderful, the staff couldn't do enough to help, the rooms (cosy doubles) were lovely and the food was out of this world! We had a private dining area called "The Bolt Hole" and it was a superb experience. On Sunday morning we ate our breakfast outside on the terrace - fabulous! Everyone agreed that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valmac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location in centre of a Bath next to the Abbey. Paid for larger room which was nice but bathroom poor with cracked tiles and dirty floor. Access to room 131 was confusing as it is stuck at back of hotel along corridor shared by kitchen staff crossing to restaurant This meant floor was slippery in places and stairwell smelled strongly of food.
Staff inattentive and appeared poorly trained.
Shame. Hotel promises so much but sadly did not deliver.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Terry M
Thank you for your review, I appreciate that on a couple of levels we did not meet your expectations.
With reference to the Bathrooms, we re-plumbed the hotel in the early part of this year to allow us to refurbish all the bathrooms and install more powerful showers and of course much improve the overall look. This work will begin later this year and every bathroom will be refitted from top to toe, please do come and stay to experience the rooms then.

Our exceptional service is often commented on by reviewers, at the time of your visit we had some very new members of the team and they are less familiar with our very high service standards. Further training has been undertaken, but I do apologise that you did not receive our usual very high levels of guest service. I hope you will try us on a future visit to Bath.
Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. It was in the centre of Bath and easy to walk everywhere around the town.
Very clean and comfortable. We chose an Executive room which was very generous in size with a decent sized bathroom. The breakfast included in the price was served in the Allium restaurant downstairs and is a very pleasant and sunny place in the morning. The food was freshly prepared and of very good quality.
Two quibbles however- no air-conditioning but a fan was provided and the windows could be opened and I could cope with this but the outdoor temperatures were around 24 C- it would have been a different story just a week later.
No refrigerator though, was a bit more difficult to accept. We did ask the hotel to refrigerate some drinks for us, but a little inconvenient to have to ask for it later. The room was very large and plenty of space available. We didn't use the lounge downstairs as we were sight seeing all day, however, it is a really cosy and welcoming space. In fact the whole hotel is tastefully decorated. We also found it a little annoying to have to pay for parking and the luggage drop off process was cumbersome. The car park is just around the corner- about 5 mins. I think I would have preferred to know about this before we arrived so that we could park, get our luggage out and walk around the corner.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the front and due to the lack of air-conditioning, we had the windows open at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danioneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Danioneill
Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found so many positives to comment on. Air conditioning is becoming more of a necessity as we enjoy warmer summers and we do plan to install this across more of our rooms later this year. (of course that will guarantee a cold wet summer 2015!)
Apologies that you missed the presence of a refrigerator in the room, we take on board your comments and may look at including these in some of our rooms for the next stage of refurbishment.
Delighted that you had such a good visit and hope to welcome you back on a future trip to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located, beautifully decorated and clean. We had the small cosy room which was perfect. The room was stylish with a modern classic twist and provided the extra little luxurious touches such as lovely dressing gowns and even the latest home and garden magazine. It was our anniversary and we were left a box of Thorntons chocolates with a note wishing us a happy time. The breakfast was absolutely lovely, full English and continental included .... Cooked to perfection, hot and served beautifully.I cannot fault this hotel, staff were friendly, rooms and hotel immaculate throughout and extremely pleased with the rate that included breakfast and tickets to the thermae spa. Our room was on the hot side but we had a fan in the room (provided) which was perfectly adequate ... To be fair we are having a freak hot spell though so although a/c would've been nice Its very unusual for it to be this warm ..we are having a heatwave! Thank you for a wonderful time - I'm already planning my next trip for a couple of months of time...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickenlips60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I really liked this hotel. It was a great location right in the heart of Bath, although SO hard to find in a rental car with GPS, and there is no parking at the hotel. They will give you a sign to put on the car while in the bus/loading zone, and then you must park down the street in a pay parking lot (next to the police station so its fine). The rooms are small, yes, but this is a boutique hotel in the heart of Bath, so having big rooms are not the point of staying here! We loved walking right out from the hotel into the heart of the City and being so close to all the shopping, the Abbey, the Roman Baths. The only downside is NO AC. It was so hot there, and the windows barely opened and they give you one small fan that barely got us through the night. I wouldn't stay here again just based on this, because we barely slept. The staff and service are great though!

Room Tip: Just ask for a fan, as there is no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rleeandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A really wonderful stay at this delightful hotel, all the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly.
The room was a little small but still very lovely with a view of the courtyard.
The hotel is perfectly located right in the city centre so great for leisurely walks to all the sights

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked two rooms as we were spending a couple of days in Bath with friends. We've stayed before and found it relaxing and enjoyable, with excellent service and good sized, well decorated rooms. The only complaint was that the toilet took a long while to fill up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank towntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £80 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing