We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, great hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location, great hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from a wee break in Bath and stayed at the Abbey hotel. Parking around the corner for two days was £25.00. Hotel is in a fabulous spot. Walking distance to everything. We stayed in the Francis Moore room in the basement but it was a large room with a huge comfy bed. Taps in bathroom a little stiff but that's a petty thing for such a lovely room. Lovely bar area outside taking in the view in the sunshine. Breakfast is cooked fresh with fruit, pastries and cereals buffet style. Staff were friendly and very helpful. My only issue and it's a small one is the staff don't wear a uniform so you can't always tell who to talk to if you need anything. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again if I'm lucky enough to visit this beautiful city again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieOrmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Ellie
Thank you so much for your review, it is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at The Abbey Hotel when you visited Bath recently.
Very pleased to read that you were comfortable in the room, on the subject of the taps, all of our bathrooms are being refurbished next year to further upgrade the rooms but in the meantime we have made adjustments.
I note your comments about a uniform for the staff and in fact this is something we will implement when the reception area is refurbished.
Thank you for the promise to recommend us and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    517
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
210
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel is in a good location. We decided to spoil ourselves and stayed in a large double room which was lovely and overlooked the activities in the square below. The room had everything that you would need and was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here last weekend and would happily stay there again. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar staff were great. Room was good with a king size bed, however there's no air conditioning. Not that this was a problem last weekend. In general the hotel was clean, tidy and well presented. Located right in the City centre no where seemed more than 15 mins walk away.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Paul

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay, very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit.

Just as a note we are adding more Air Con next year, hopefully that won't guarantee a wet summer!

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked this hotel because it was close to the attractions and walkable from the train station. It was and it had a nice sidewalk bar with tables that I found quite welcoming at my arrival. They have some very tasty non-alcoholic drinks (I was on the wagon) and great service. My room was amazing. Huge and in the basement but well lighted, air conditioned, and incredibly comfortable. Nice bath. I had a really great sleep which I needed as I was a bit exhausted in the heat.
I did not try the food. There were several great options within a block of the hotel…didn't have time.
Go to Bath--it is simply one of the most beautiful places I've been to in Great Britain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location, you cannot doubt that. Its right at the top of the high street opposite the gardens, Parking is a little expensive but close to the hotel. ( £12.50 for 24 hours and we waited in the car park for thirty minutes for a space). Saying that the hotel staff are lovely, polite and professional. My only concern with the hotel was that the room was small for the price. I booked two months in advance on a "offer" but the room was very small and over looked another wall. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. You just get the feeling you are paying for the location and ease over anything else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctoctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Cloctraveller
Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel and thank you especially for your kind words about the team.
Due to the nature of the building our rooms do vary in size and location and this is reflected in our pricing, I am so sorry to read that you felt it was overpriced, we do always aim to be competitive with room rates in the city.
Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a large double which was great. The breakfast is one of the best included breakfasts I have had. Not only is there a nice buffet, but you can order terrific food off the menu as well at no additional cost. The location is perfect for the town as well the tour company meets right outside the hotel if you want to go see the Cotswolds or Stonehenge. Friendly staff and an all around great hotel. The fan worked fine, but air cond would be a nice addition if it were hotter out, but it was fine for the days we were there.

Room Tip: Go for the large double if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked this hotel as it was very near to the main Bath attractions plus we are Best Western Card holders. We were not disappointed. The hotel is right by the Avon, just around the corner from the Roman Baths, The Abbey and the Thermae Bath Spa plus central to the vast number of shops and restaurants.We booked a 'larger room' as some reviews indicated the small rooms were - small. Our room had two 3ft single beds that could be joined to make a very large double, plus two huge settees. TV and tea/coffee were in the room plus two daily complimentary bottles of water. Large bathroom with bath/shower and masses of hot water. Large towels changed daily plus bath robes and slippers. Staff were always very helpful and welcoming. We were B&B and the breakfasts were superb. None of this 'serve yourself from hot dishes' where the scrambled eggs become like india rubber and everything else is cool. The hot breakfasts were cooked fresh and served at the table. Good selection too of fruit juices/water plus fresh fruit salad (not the tinned stuff), cereals and cheese/ham etc.
I know some people have commented upon the lack of air conditioning and I have to say the rooms were very warm - but then so was everywhere else!!
There was some building work going on but this did not start until after 9am and ended at 4pm and we never saw or heard them as we were out all day.
We pre-booked the twilight tour of the Roman Baths and the meal in the Kitchen opposite. Well worth doing. We did the Thermae Spa first thing on a Monday and very few people were there for the 2 hours we had.
Superb City and will go back to this Hotel. My wife has already ticked off the shops she wants to visit!!

Room Tip: Would opt for a 'Larger Room'. Costs a little bit more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AshtdMan

Thank you for your review from your recent visit to us. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, we are indeed well located for exploring Bath, the main sites are literally on our doorstep. Good to hear that we set you up for the day with a great breakfast too.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Bath.

Best wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#22 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing