We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Something to remember with these type of hotels is that there is not air conditioning, however there is a fan in the room and you can open the windows. The hotel is only about 5 blocks from the train station and even with pulling suitcases, you can easily get there. The breakfast was very generous and tasty with many selections.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlk703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    499
    182
    58
    26
See reviews for
201
651
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to Bath just for the weekend and we both found it very convenient and comfortable to stay in Abbey Hotel. The staffs here are friendly and helpful. If you stay here only for a few days, it is definitely a good choice. If you stay in Bath for more than 4 days, this is probably a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay, very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and do hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in better hotels for the price but the hotel is in the middle of Bath so easy to see every thing I'm a solo traveler so my room was ok for one person just a couple of things that made me wonder if the room had been cleaned properly, some of the toiletries were empty,hairs around the bath,and the sink had no leaver to empty the water in the sink so I had to dig the plug open with my tweezers to let the water drain.i think I would look at other hotels if I visited Bath again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank thez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear thez50

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, however I am sure if you had raised the issues during your stay we would have resolved them very quickly. Our team are very efficient in the cleaning of rooms and the situation you describe is unheard of so I feel sure that something must have been in error and we certainly would have fixed it. Do wish you had spoken to us at the time and very sorry that it is now too late to rectify for you.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

this is a very good hotel to pick for a weekend in bath.

pros - the location is extremely convenient, less than five minutes walking to lots of the main sights in town. staff are friendly and helpful. it has lovely decor and a nice feel to it, with lots of interesting artwork dotted about, some fascinating paintings in the dining area. and of course there's the food... dinner at the Allium Brasserie (the restaurant in the hotel) was absolutely fantastic with excellent service. and we had a drink in the afternoon, which was just delicious as well.

cons - don't expect anything too glamourous as far as the rooms go, they're just alright but comfortable enough. the bathroom fixtures look a bit old and discoloured but clean and functional. it was a bit on the expensive side too, but we'd booked it for our wedding anniversary and definitely thought it was worth it for a special occasion! the only real con was that our room faced the main square and there was a lot of noise till quite late coming from the pub next door so I didn't sleep all that well.

but in conclusion - it was a lovely weekend and i'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bath!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had to extend our time in Bath due to our 4 year old son being hospitalised, and it was during the time of Bath University graduation week, so accommodation was hard to get. The Abbey Hotel was very accommodating in getting us a room for the night, and helping us move our luggage to our rooms. The rooms were very nice and pleasant, very clean, although a little expensive. Breakfast was pretty good, with lots of choice. Wifi was not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Location is good. Moments walking from main sites and restaurants.
When you book, make sure you are not getting any room at the subsolo. We were given a room there. It's absolutely terrible, small, bathroom disgusting and the smell from the kitchen.
Breakfast was OK, pleasant staff but that's all about it. I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Marcia311
Thank you for your review I am sorry that you did not find the room to your liking, some of our rooms are smaller and this is reflected in the room rate.
Your comments about the aroma from the kitchen have been investigated as this is not a complaint we have had before.
We appreciate that you found the staff to be pleasant.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked this hotel for a short getaway and got a deal through an online comparator; Room was okay, but that's all, just okay. We were given a room overlooking rooftops which is where I suspect the online deals are placed. Staff weren't bad but they weren't overly friendly or helpful either. The hotel is well positioned but is merely trading on that fact and seems to have left the customer service aspect somewhat. Would I stay again?....No, there's plenty of others centrally placed, even a Premier Inn at half the price, and their breakfast is far superior.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear IanM
Thank you for your review, I can only apologise that you found us to be only ok that is not at all the level of service we aim to deliver, as you will see from other reviewers.
With reference to your room overlooking rooftops, we do not allocate according to price paid per room, as the hotel is comprised of three Georgian town houses some of our rooms are on the top floor, guests often like these rooms as they offer a great view of the skyline of Bath.
Your comments on breakfast do surprise me, unlike many of our competitors we offer a full breakfast selection which is cooked to order.
Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing