We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for this classy spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good price for this classy spot.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed staying here one night. Got a pretty good deal for this nice hotel. A little ways away from Bath, but shouldn't pose much of a problem if you have a car.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacGuffin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    416
    254
    95
    61
See reviews for
188
528
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hotel is located off a winding country track with a steep slope (not sure how traffic would fare in winter time) but its height provides exceptional views around. Very spacious inside, quite a grand building and well cared-for, it seems the ideal location for a wedding reception or formal ball.

Check-in went smooth, room spacious (I had the corner one in the website photo) with onsuite and a waist-height huge sturdy four-poster bed that gave me a good couple of nights' kip. Bar snack first night was quite generous (only a burger, but came with plenty of chips and large side salad), delivered quickly. Mid-meal a pianist came in to play and created quite a tranquil relaxing environment. I didn't avail myself of complimentary tea/coffee provided around the bar, but staff were always on hand to serve.

I ate in the main restaurant for the second night; as I didn't order any starter I was provided with a small complimentary sample of carrot soup whilst I await the main course. Service was attentive and timely yet unpressured; I enjoyed my meal and never felt rushed to leave the table.

I had some issues with the internet speed being variable (and terribly slow in some cases) - but that was minor. A place like this is not an internet cafe!

Overall, I would escape to a place like this for a weekend break away just to relax and collect my thoughts. A wonderful peaceful stay. I would easily return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is in an excellent position for visiting Bath and gives good value for money. Better to have bed and breakfast though rather than room only as breakfast costs £9.95 but has a good selection of food. The restaurant is rather gloomy and would be much better on the other side of the hotel where the views are lovely and would encourage guests to eat at the hotel rather than go down the road to the local pub (food is very good there though)! There is good access to the Kennet and Avon canal where walking is very easy and flat.
To get to the hotel go via Bath roads from M4 or from Bradford on Avon. Our sat nav took us through some very narrow roads as we visited Lacock Abbey prior to going to the hotel so beware.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend as we were visiting Longleat on the Saturday which made our journey alot shorter. It is a lovely hotel, very beautiful location and perfect for a peaceful private few days away. It is situated close enough to Bath but nice to come away from the City for a quite nights sleep.

Our room was very nice- although on the small side. It stay was in conjunction with a free night stay so i didnt expect the best room in the hotel. The restaurant and bar is lovely. We stayed for a few drinks and had bar food for dinner which was impressive for just bar food. The hall ways in the hotel are very dated however the main reception area is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My best friend and I visited the Best Western at Limpley Stoke Sunday 7th August 2011. Lovely looking hotel on arrival, with a pub at the bottom of the short driveway. Beautiful views, which due to the weather were slightly tarnished. We checked in with a lovely, helpful young lady , who was very friendly, professional and informative. The lift reminded me of a guest house I stayed in once when visiting blackpool. I did chuckle at the fact that they had artexed the lift ceiling. The decor wasn't to my taste, but fitted nicely with the history of the hotel. We stayed in room 19. this room had a double and single bed. My friend loved her bed, soft and sumptuous. I prefer a slightly firmer bed, nonetheless slept well. Very warm and inviting room, warm at night, the bathroom was very clean with all the little necessities you may have forgotten.

We had lunch in the bar - we opted for the fish and chips - we can highly recommend this meal - delicious is an understatement. Bar service was a bit slow, no one actually in the bar, so I had to order at reception, not a problem though as once they knew we were sat there, a barman promptly cmae and served. We ordered the Sauvingnon Blanc - The Kings Favour, priced at £19.95 a bottle. very drinkable and palatable - complimented our meal very well.

Make sure you take cash as there is no cash points nearby - We both felt like real "townies" although obviously the hotel took card on checkout.

Evening meal - I enjoyed mine very much, my friend had the hake and said it looked beautiful, however it was watery - shame really. Breakfast on the Monday was very nice, Buffet style - we both really enjoyed until it came to the coffee - AVOID! it was horrid. but then again it was a good excuse to be able to go to Bath for a wander and enjoy lovely coffee and sights.

All in all a very nice trip - would I go back - Yes.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thomas0277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here just for one night at a family wedding reception. The reception was well organised, the food was very good and staff were attentive and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and have great views over the country side.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, too slow to replenish buffet but overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed over night at the hotel as our friends had their reception there. Our room was adequate for what we needed. It was clean and the bed was comfy. We overlooked the garden and the train line which was fine even with the windows open. It wasn't like staying near Waterloo or anything!
We had a fab evening in the bar and reception room but I can imagine that it would have been noisy if you were staying there for any other reason!
Breakfast was good and kept us going all day until we got home.
Checking in and out were easy so no complaints there.
Overall a good stay.
Not sure that this would be the ideal location if you were visiting Bath as it's a fair drive away, but if your looking for a setting in the countryside just outside then this would do the job.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MahoneyclanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing