We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Clean and tidy throughout. A decent size room with a reasonable view. Comftable bed. Lack of Fridge or Safe though. Decent enough bathroom with a quite good shower. Unlike another review I found the WIFI access good - just silly codes though. We did not eat at Hotel - and glad we did not, as it was the same menu two nights running. We had a drink in the Village Pub which was okay and viewed the menu there and showed what you would expect i.e. 'chips and something'. But ate in Bath where you are spoiled. Bath very easy and quick to get to but we wish the Hotel would have supplied (even sold - £1 each at the tourist office) a map. This would have helped the parking side of things. ah well if thats all their is to moan at things can't be that bad. We paid £72 per night which all in all was fair.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife & I spent 3 nights at the Limpley Stoke Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a great time!

The hotel is located in a very quiet village off of main roads, with views over the rolling Mendip Hills. Possibly because they knew it was our anniversary (courtesy of Expedia, through whom we booked it), we had a lovely room with a 4-poster bed and great views from our windows.

The hotel has great character, apparently having originally been the site of a Spa for well- heeled people. Decoration is "heavy", but in keeping with the age and character of the building. There's a small but pleasant garden to walk in and outside seating areas for refreshments (and for fag smokers).

Our bed was queen- sized and very comfortable. We had a newish LCD TV, although there were only about 8 channels, so the choice of programmes was limited. The en-suite shower room was very clean and there was plenty of hot water- but the shower was designed for Dwarves, due to the lowish ceiling! If you're above about 5'6", you have to bend to get your head under the shower head. Nonetheless, you got a very nice shower.

Our room was very quiet, even though there was a wedding just below it one evening. We only heard a few young kids charging around the corridors and that stopped about 10 p.m. Otherwise, very peaceful.

Breakfast was served buffet style, with a fair selection of cereals and tinned fruit, and a good selection of cooked breakfast items (scrambled egg, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, baked beans and fried bread). You cook your own toast on a conveyor belt machine and hope it has been correctly calibrated. Other items were cooked to order, such as boiled or fried eggs, kippers and porridge. These took some time to appear, but the porridge was exceptional and well worth the wait. Overall, breakfast was pretty reasonable.

We didn't eat in at night (although we noticed many did on a rather pricy menu), but we did eat at the Hop Pole Inn at the bottom of the entrance drive. Excellent food at a reasonable price- but it is rather small, so you really need to book a table.

Given this is a 3* hotel, we thought it was good value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent! Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for it's location to a wedding we'd attended over the weekend (Wick Farm). Beautiful entrance and view of the hotel on arrival. Very friendly receptionist who also kindly arranged to order us a taxi to take us to the venue that evening. Good choice of food options including being able to eat in the bar over a set dinner menu. The room was clean and nice. View did look over the flat roof at the back of the hotel but wasn't an issue. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was vast and plentiful in the morning. ONLY slight downside was actually related to the taxi! They booked us a taxi from a company in Bath and we were charged £22 for a 5min journey down the road because we ended up paying for them to "come out to us"! Little bit disappointed as due to minimal mobile phone coverage we were forced to book them for a return journey. On leaving the wedding venue we came across a local company who were doing that journey for £16! Never mind! If you do use this hotel for a wedding at Wick Farm I'd recommend researching taxi companies before hand or asking reception to book from a more local firm!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed staying here one night. Got a pretty good deal for this nice hotel. A little ways away from Bath, but shouldn't pose much of a problem if you have a car.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank MacGuffin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hotel is located off a winding country track with a steep slope (not sure how traffic would fare in winter time) but its height provides exceptional views around. Very spacious inside, quite a grand building and well cared-for, it seems the ideal location for a wedding reception or formal ball.

Check-in went smooth, room spacious (I had the corner one in the website photo) with onsuite and a waist-height huge sturdy four-poster bed that gave me a good couple of nights' kip. Bar snack first night was quite generous (only a burger, but came with plenty of chips and large side salad), delivered quickly. Mid-meal a pianist came in to play and created quite a tranquil relaxing environment. I didn't avail myself of complimentary tea/coffee provided around the bar, but staff were always on hand to serve.

I ate in the main restaurant for the second night; as I didn't order any starter I was provided with a small complimentary sample of carrot soup whilst I await the main course. Service was attentive and timely yet unpressured; I enjoyed my meal and never felt rushed to leave the table.

I had some issues with the internet speed being variable (and terribly slow in some cases) - but that was minor. A place like this is not an internet cafe!

Overall, I would escape to a place like this for a weekend break away just to relax and collect my thoughts. A wonderful peaceful stay. I would easily return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is in an excellent position for visiting Bath and gives good value for money. Better to have bed and breakfast though rather than room only as breakfast costs £9.95 but has a good selection of food. The restaurant is rather gloomy and would be much better on the other side of the hotel where the views are lovely and would encourage guests to eat at the hotel rather than go down the road to the local pub (food is very good there though)! There is good access to the Kennet and Avon canal where walking is very easy and flat.
To get to the hotel go via Bath roads from M4 or from Bradford on Avon. Our sat nav took us through some very narrow roads as we visited Lacock Abbey prior to going to the hotel so beware.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend as we were visiting Longleat on the Saturday which made our journey alot shorter. It is a lovely hotel, very beautiful location and perfect for a peaceful private few days away. It is situated close enough to Bath but nice to come away from the City for a quite nights sleep.

Our room was very nice- although on the small side. It stay was in conjunction with a free night stay so i didnt expect the best room in the hotel. The restaurant and bar is lovely. We stayed for a few drinks and had bar food for dinner which was impressive for just bar food. The hall ways in the hotel are very dated however the main reception area is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing