We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and a four poster bed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and a four poster bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Limpley Stoke Hotel for two nights whilst visiting Bath. The hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Bath City Centre and very easy to get to but the scenary couldn't be more different - the hotel is in the heart of the Mendip hills and the views from our room were stunning.

We stayed in Room 5 which is at the front of the hotel and has a four poster bed and a very nice and appears newly decorated bathroom and rainwater shower (which was a first for us) A couple of downsides to the room were that the curtains didn't quite stretch far enough across the window so did not block out the light from the car park and because of the mainline railway running close by you did get the noise of the passing trains - we were so tired from sightseeing this did not matter and we slept through most of them.

The breakfasts were the usual hotel fare. Filling enough. Hotel staff were friendly and polite.

We ate both nights down at the Hop-Pole Inn at the bottom of the driveway - with full stomachs it makes the walk back up a little slower but the food was ok although when they were busy they did get our order's mixed up but resolved it very quickly.

A lovely hotel for a short break - the views make it worth staying in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    404
    253
    93
    60
See reviews for
179
518
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for one night only thank goodness. Room dreadful heard every noise. Children running up and down .Stairs poorly carpeted so it was 1.15 when we eventually got to sleep.
Never asked at reception if are stay was alright.

Room Tip: Not by the staris
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hally66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Bath and Longleat.
It's in a beautiful setting overlooking the valley but that's about the only good thing about it.
The decor is very very old, the lift is dangerously old. The bar is terrible and looks like an old folks home.
There are disgusting parerga rd carpets everywhere with old pinky coloured paint work.
At night it's like sleeping behind a curtain because you can hear every single movement, creak and door close.
The breakfast is truly disgusting and looked horrible. We tried it and it was as bad as it looked.
Beautiful views but a hotel stuck in the 70's, full of old people and nasty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Many thanks for the review,we would like to say that if you had told reception that you were not fully satisfied with your room than we would of course have gladly offered a number of alternatives.The lift is regularly serviced and fit for purpose there is absolutely no problems with it at all.Breakfast reviews for our hotel are good,indeed see one on this page where the guest mentions the "exceptional porrige".The hotel's decor is we feel totally in keeping with the Traditional style of our property which as you say is in the most superb setting with fabulous views across the Avon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Clean and tidy throughout. A decent size room with a reasonable view. Comftable bed. Lack of Fridge or Safe though. Decent enough bathroom with a quite good shower. Unlike another review I found the WIFI access good - just silly codes though. We did not eat at Hotel - and glad we did not, as it was the same menu two nights running. We had a drink in the Village Pub which was okay and viewed the menu there and showed what you would expect i.e. 'chips and something'. But ate in Bath where you are spoiled. Bath very easy and quick to get to but we wish the Hotel would have supplied (even sold - £1 each at the tourist office) a map. This would have helped the parking side of things. ah well if thats all their is to moan at things can't be that bad. We paid £72 per night which all in all was fair.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife & I spent 3 nights at the Limpley Stoke Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a great time!

The hotel is located in a very quiet village off of main roads, with views over the rolling Mendip Hills. Possibly because they knew it was our anniversary (courtesy of Expedia, through whom we booked it), we had a lovely room with a 4-poster bed and great views from our windows.

The hotel has great character, apparently having originally been the site of a Spa for well- heeled people. Decoration is "heavy", but in keeping with the age and character of the building. There's a small but pleasant garden to walk in and outside seating areas for refreshments (and for fag smokers).

Our bed was queen- sized and very comfortable. We had a newish LCD TV, although there were only about 8 channels, so the choice of programmes was limited. The en-suite shower room was very clean and there was plenty of hot water- but the shower was designed for Dwarves, due to the lowish ceiling! If you're above about 5'6", you have to bend to get your head under the shower head. Nonetheless, you got a very nice shower.

Our room was very quiet, even though there was a wedding just below it one evening. We only heard a few young kids charging around the corridors and that stopped about 10 p.m. Otherwise, very peaceful.

Breakfast was served buffet style, with a fair selection of cereals and tinned fruit, and a good selection of cooked breakfast items (scrambled egg, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, baked beans and fried bread). You cook your own toast on a conveyor belt machine and hope it has been correctly calibrated. Other items were cooked to order, such as boiled or fried eggs, kippers and porridge. These took some time to appear, but the porridge was exceptional and well worth the wait. Overall, breakfast was pretty reasonable.

We didn't eat in at night (although we noticed many did on a rather pricy menu), but we did eat at the Hop Pole Inn at the bottom of the entrance drive. Excellent food at a reasonable price- but it is rather small, so you really need to book a table.

Given this is a 3* hotel, we thought it was good value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent! Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for it's location to a wedding we'd attended over the weekend (Wick Farm). Beautiful entrance and view of the hotel on arrival. Very friendly receptionist who also kindly arranged to order us a taxi to take us to the venue that evening. Good choice of food options including being able to eat in the bar over a set dinner menu. The room was clean and nice. View did look over the flat roof at the back of the hotel but wasn't an issue. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was vast and plentiful in the morning. ONLY slight downside was actually related to the taxi! They booked us a taxi from a company in Bath and we were charged £22 for a 5min journey down the road because we ended up paying for them to "come out to us"! Little bit disappointed as due to minimal mobile phone coverage we were forced to book them for a return journey. On leaving the wedding venue we came across a local company who were doing that journey for £16! Never mind! If you do use this hotel for a wedding at Wick Farm I'd recommend researching taxi companies before hand or asking reception to book from a more local firm!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed staying here one night. Got a pretty good deal for this nice hotel. A little ways away from Bath, but shouldn't pose much of a problem if you have a car.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacGuffin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.1 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing