We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
307
468
282
110
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
468
282
110
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshop pole innwedding coordinatorwedding venuebuffet styleminute drivelovely buildingwater pressurekippersone night staytop floorfour poster bedtea and coffeeshort breakbiscuitsvisit batha lovely staysatnav
Filter
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I found this to be a good value 3 star hotel set in exquisite surroundings and a short 10 minute drive into bath.

As my partner is a smoker,we booked the only smoking room,which is number 53. This is towards the rear of the hotel and the window looks into the side of a very steep hill so you have to give up on the views - a very worthwhile trade-off as far as my partner is concerned!.We found the room to be spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom and good tea making facilities.A word of warning here;Best Western central booking do not appear to have the smoking room on record so you have to book directly with the hotel

There is a nice lounge and a bar where you can relax and read the papers and soak up the atmosphere and take afternoon tea if that's your thing.There are chandeliers in the public areas which add to the refined ambience.

I do enjoy a full English breakfast on my travels and the one provided here was very good with hard working staff always in attendance

Another big point in the hotel's favour is its large free car park - many hotels in Bath expect you to, either park in the street and/or,pay outrageous fees!

My only real complaint is that the lift - strongly defended by the manager in a previous review - was not working during my entire 3 night stay.This needs to be sorted sooner ,rather than later,if they wish to keep attracting the many elderly visitors that I saw there.
Another small point,also mentioned in a previous review,was that in my room,and also the ground floor loos, is that the toilet seats will not stay up on thier own - a bit of an inconvenience (no pun intended,) - for men.

There is a comprehensive sandwich and snack menu available until 10pm and a very good a` la carte in the main restaurant,where I found the food to be excellent and the wine to be reasonably priced.

The central heating is very efficient and I found that the room was warm enough for me to switch the radiator off.

The old inn at the bottom of the drive is only about 60 paces away and has a good food and drink menu.It is quite quaint - in fact so much so,that the news of all day opening has not reached them - so don't expect to get any food or drink between 2.30pm-6.00pm.

All in all,an enjoyable experience ,and at these reasonable prices,if you don't expect the Waldorf or the Ritz you won't be dissapointed.
In October we paid £78(about $120 usa ) per night for the room and breakfast for two.

Likes: comfortable beds,ample parking close to Bath
Dislikes:lift not working.

All the best in your travels,

Peter and Rosalind.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel if you want the smoking room. There appeared to be one room wih a balcony that might be worth requesting.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjrmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here for the second time in the last 18 months, last time was OK ish, and this time we attended a family function and stayed overnight.

You pay your money you take your chances!

What a mistake! Room 11 is on the first floor up two flights of creaky stairs, turn right and follow the uniquely sloping corridor (this was before having any drinks!) and the room is on the right. The room door is delicately decorated with a fire break-glass device as the room is a fire exit route? (strange that the break glass had no glass in it nor did it contain a key to open the door. So picture the scene, the hotel is in flames you follow the fire exite route signs, you come to room 11, bingo, it's locked (as I'm in bed with my wife and the the chain on the door of course). How bizare!

Luckily there was no fire during the time at the hotel!

Now then the room. When you open the door beware, it doesn't fully open and bounces back from the door stop catching you unawares, well it did me!

When you eventually do get in, there is a small double bed 2 chairs, bedside cabinets a wardrobe and a small dressing table. Room is something there isn't a lot of! Make sure only one person moves at a time otherwise you'll fall out with each other! Lampshade has obviously seen some action over the decades, it was bashed, broken and a probably good barometer of the hotel overall = it's seen better days! Bathroom, clean, simple, shower not too bad, loo was wobbly and seat does not stay up by itself!! (An important point for males!)

Breakfast. Another forgettable experience, dis-interested staff who are AWOL when you need them!

I could go on, but I have a life to lead.

Want my advice? Avoid! Go to a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delboy190801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Limpley Stoke Hotel for two nights whilst visiting Bath. The hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Bath City Centre and very easy to get to but the scenary couldn't be more different - the hotel is in the heart of the Mendip hills and the views from our room were stunning.

We stayed in Room 5 which is at the front of the hotel and has a four poster bed and a very nice and appears newly decorated bathroom and rainwater shower (which was a first for us) A couple of downsides to the room were that the curtains didn't quite stretch far enough across the window so did not block out the light from the car park and because of the mainline railway running close by you did get the noise of the passing trains - we were so tired from sightseeing this did not matter and we slept through most of them.

The breakfasts were the usual hotel fare. Filling enough. Hotel staff were friendly and polite.

We ate both nights down at the Hop-Pole Inn at the bottom of the driveway - with full stomachs it makes the walk back up a little slower but the food was ok although when they were busy they did get our order's mixed up but resolved it very quickly.

A lovely hotel for a short break - the views make it worth staying in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for one night only thank goodness. Room dreadful heard every noise. Children running up and down .Stairs poorly carpeted so it was 1.15 when we eventually got to sleep.
Never asked at reception if are stay was alright.

Room Tip: Not by the staris
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hally66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Bath and Longleat.
It's in a beautiful setting overlooking the valley but that's about the only good thing about it.
The decor is very very old, the lift is dangerously old. The bar is terrible and looks like an old folks home.
There are disgusting parerga rd carpets everywhere with old pinky coloured paint work.
At night it's like sleeping behind a curtain because you can hear every single movement, creak and door close.
The breakfast is truly disgusting and looked horrible. We tried it and it was as bad as it looked.
Beautiful views but a hotel stuck in the 70's, full of old people and nasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Many thanks for the review,we would like to say that if you had told reception that you were not fully satisfied with your room than we would of course have gladly offered a number of alternatives.The lift is regularly serviced and fit for purpose there is absolutely no problems with it at all.Breakfast reviews for our hotel are good,indeed see one on this page where the guest mentions the "exceptional porrige".The hotel's decor is we feel totally in keeping with the Traditional style of our property which as you say is in the most superb setting with fabulous views across the Avon Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews