We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I've just returned from a two night stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. It is set in beautiful surroundings, in a perfect place to explore Bath and its surrounding villages.

The interior of the hotel is tired and would benefit from a lick of paint, but our room was clean, and the bed was very comfy. The shower in the bathroom was great. Our bedroom had lovely countryside views. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful.

At all times, staff were polite and extremely helpful. We also received a code for free wifi, which was great!

There is a train station within walking distance, which we would recommend using.

Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hmsoapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your review , many guests who stay do use the hotel to explore Bath and the surrounding area,with its superb views across the Valley it is in a superb location, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    412
    254
    95
    60
See reviews for
185
525
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for only two nights. Staff were very helpful and polite. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Bar was nearly always unattended so you had to go and look for someone to serve you, We found it a lot quicker and better to go down the drive to the the hop pole inn where we were made very welcome spent most of the time there, food and beer was great. Thanks to all the staff at the hop pole inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We are plesed that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do receive many compliments on the helpfullness and friendliness of our staff of whom we are very proud, we are glad also that you enjoyed your visit to the Hop Pole Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stay in Best Western hotels for business about 8 times a month and because I am usually impressed so decided to use Best Western this time for pleasure. The building is very impressive and the entrance hall is lovely (shame about the carpet behind the reception area). The lift is fantastic made me want to do a dance as they do in Thoroughly Modern Mille. Our room was ok, very basic but clean and the bathroom although very dated was clean as well with lovely thick towels. There were two massive radiators in the room which made the room far too hot. I tried to turn the radiators down however they seemed to resist so I went to reception to ask them to assist. When we returned to the room after a trip into Bath the room had cooled down to a bearable temperature. There was a wedding being held in the hotel and so we had great difficulty parking the car in the evening and had to leave it at the pub. Because of the wedding we decided to go to the pub for our evening meal, wow what a place, big open fires and fantastic food. We walked back to hotel and returned to our room only to find it like a sauna again. I went back to reception and the lady told me that the heating goes off at 8.55pm until 6am - stupidly I believed her! The radiator continued to belt out heat all night long and made horrible sounds as though it was about to explode! We had to open the bedroom window it was so hot (in February) and the next morning when I looked out various other bedroom windows were open as well so I don't think it was only us that had a problem. I had a terrible nights sleep, I know this is an old building but I live in a house that is over 250 years old so that isn't an excuse. Not a patch on other Best Western hotels and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our Traditional 16 century coaching inn the Hop Pole. Regarding the radiators in your room, unfortunately on the day and night of your stay there was a problem with the Boiler control which has since been rectified and we are sure that should you now visit the room will be very much more comfortable, please accept our apologies for your poor nights sleep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Lovely hotel clean and tidy with comfy beds...nice local pub in village...beautifull country setting

Room Tip: very quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend, when booking make sure your not on the third floor, the lift only goes to the second and then there are three flights to climb, the room was on the small side but perhaps that was because of the 6 foot square bed, the appearance of the Hotel was quite dour, thread-bear carpet and dated décor, the room was quite clean though, staff polite enough (when we saw any). The biggest problem by far was the breakfast, buffet style, so it was cold when back at the table, half cooked sausage, bacon and powdered eggs, the whole thing completely tasteless, worst of all a queue to make your own toast on an almost open, industrial toaster, an accident waiting to happen!, we didn't bother the second morning, also put us off taking evening meals there. The biggest positive must be the Hop Pole Inn, had two lovely meals and real ale, nice place, if only they did rooms. After this and previous experiences with Best Western, have decided not to use any of their Hotels again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay it is correct our third floor is not serviced by the lift however we have porterage available and many guests enjoy these rooms due to the wonderful views they allow across the magnificent Avon Valley, breakfast is normally a positive at the hotel and I apologise for your disappointment we find the commercial toaster works extremely well and is very popular with our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed our pub at the bottom of the drive it is great to spend an evening in a traditional 16th century country pub and book the charges to your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Nice "homey" feeling hotel...if only my home was that nice. Had a great dinner in the bar and the staff seemed to go out their way to accommdate when possible. Enjoyed a few (too many?) drinks at the bottom of the hill at the Hop Pole Inn. Only negative is entrance was a little hard to traverse in our coach (though doable). Also some rooms were harder to access then others, probably comes with not being a traditional hotel layout.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel it is indeed a bit quirky however we believe this adds to its charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arived on Saturday 28th for a one night stay, we booked in OK and went to our room. The double bed was a small double but the room was reasonable ' you get what you pay for'. We had a cup of tea/coffee in the room and watched TV for a while then went down to the bar for a drink, no staff around, had to go to recption to find someone. We returned to our room and noticed that the heating was off, just thought at the time if was on a time clock or reached a preset setting. We returned to the bar before going into the restaurant but noticed it was cold in there as well as in the dinning room. The meal was fine but slightly over priced. We returned to our room and the heating was still off so we retired to bed. We were woken early by noises from the corridor and also as it was extremely cold in the room - still no heating on! Once breakfast was delivered to our room (late!) we made ready to leave the hotel and as we were in reception a gas engineer came in and I remarked jokingly had he come to fix the heating . We spoke to the reception staff about the heating but she only said she had just returned from leave to find no heating on in the hotel - not even an apology was offered! This spolied our weekend as we had to cancel the rest of the planned day so we could go home to warm up. Better to pay extra and stay at another hotel chain in the area or stay in Bath itself!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
I apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay we did in fact have a problem with the boilers however an emergency call out rectified the situation in the morning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing