We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Do not stay here if you are under the age of 50! We had a terrible welcome, which was a look up and down as if to say you are not worthy of staying in our hotel. The staff knew nothing about me or my partner and judged us on appearance, mainly with us being a young couple, not knowing i am a teacher and my partner being an accountant! Our room was meant to be a double; however they had pushed two single beds together which was very uncomfortable. The shower didn’t work and we had no hot water for the two nights we stayed! The bed lining and curtains we both dirty with stains. There was NO service at the bar or restaurant, even though there was a wedding on!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review and I must apologise for your welcome which is very disappointing to us as we have always received nothing but compliments on the friendliness and helpfullness of our reception staff, in fact we welcome all guests of all ages at our hotel and do not condone ageism in any form in fact the majority of our staff are themselves young. I apologise also for the lack of hot water during your stay if you had of advised the reception of this then action would have been taken immediately I assure you. In view of your disappointing experience should you return to the area I would be delighted to offer you a very discounted rate to show you then our true level of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    422
    257
    98
    62
See reviews for
191
540
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked and paid for 2 rooms in advance, got allocated 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. They changed the rooms for bigger without asking which was great. They had a wedding on which wasn't a problem. However, at breakfast the next morning there was no scrambled egg, sausages or bacon ready (it was 9.30am). When I asked to see if there was any more I was told quite abruptly that I would have to wait at least 10 minutes for them. When they did come out it was all separately and not at the same time. The waiting staff were muttering quite loudly under their breath, not the most helpful and didn't really seem to know what was going on. Upon checkout the receptionist was quite short with the lady in front of me. Would I stay here again? Possibly, the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

stayed here 5-7 June 12. Visited Bath and Longleat and hotel looked idilic from the pictures on the site. Shame they dont photograph the rooms on the 3rd floor - we had no.57 - tiny room in the attic almost, 2 mattresses pushed together so no sleep except in the crack, tiny little window which, if you look out of it on a night will offer you the view to the right of a semi or naked male sat on his bed!!! - staff i think - Almost felt like we had been shoved out of the way...... and, Best Western customers...... dont ask for an upgrade that you are entitled to as youre told " Its a big bed with a nice view ". The hotel menu is very limited and expensive and the " pub " they advertise is so old the toilets are outside, but they are bigger than the rooms inside the pub so take your beer with you. And the food is expensive too. The only good thing about our stay was breakfast, not for the ambience but for the food, hot and varied except when its raining and they decide to open the big windows so that not only does the food get wet but you need to wear thermals whilst you eat. Bath is a lovely place to stay and there are other hotels which appear a lot nicer, friendlier and " true " to their description. We have stayed at Best Western hotels in the area before as we visit regularly and wont be going to that one again, unless its free and even then I would have to think about it. What a waste of hard earned money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and I appreciate you taking the time to air your thoughts, however I must say I am astonished at your description of Room 57 and the so called attic you stayed in.Our third floor is incredibly popular with stunning south facing views through the Avon Valley.The room is equipped with a King size bed,26 flat screen tv,bath and shower a three foot window and is very popular with our corporate and leisure guests.Our pub at the end of the drive is,as you can see from the many previous comments very well liked by our guests and whilst inexcusably old a consequence of being built in the 16th century, it has agreat charm and is a classic English village pub. I apologise for the semi naked guest we cannot police the standard of dress in the privacy of guests rooms.Your comments that you paid a lot of money is also baffling as £75 per night for 2 people to include breakfast is certainly not escessive, particularly when you consider the quality and variety of breakfast which you complimented us on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I travel around the country for business and have stayed in a variety of hotels form high end chains to others chains and individual hotels. What I like about this hotel and other best westerns is the individuality and charm. Staf were pleasant but no more so than a quality chain but better than high level chains. My room was the best I've stayed in, four poster, roomy and fantastic views, Also free WiFi! Evening meal at the pub at the end of the drive which you can charge to your room was wonderful, good service, great food, plenty of it,good beer and a relief for a single traveller who normally has to sit in a large resturant. I throughly recomend it, also 5 minutes from the canal to walk or cycle into Bath.

Room Tip: Room 5, stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments,we work hard to welcome all our guests and particularly single travellers for which our pub is as you say an ideal refuge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We booked late and arrived 6pm Wednesday and left 8am Friday. £160 for 2 nights in a double room and breakfast. Staff cheerful and relaxed. The whole place (Best Western, 3 Star) slightly old fasioned but a pleasant outlook. We ate dinner in the hotel on the first evening. Restaurant a little claustrophobic as the hotel backs onto a steep hill. Somewhat limited Dinner menu but substantial and well prepared. Another varied menu is available from the bar/lounge until 10pm. 7am to 9am full English breakfast and then some if you wish. All staff helpful and capable.That's from the room cleaner and porter to the Restraunt manager, bar staff and Reception. Nothing was too much trouble. People actually semed pleased to be working there..But note; we stayed mid week. I suspect a room over the bar and or disco during a weekend party could be noisy. Large car park. Hotel not the easiest to find and in Wiltshire but we had to go into Somerset to reach it. Handy for Bath. Leaving early we caught the commuter traffic. The local roads are narrow and as 'quaint' as the hotel itself. We'd go again - short stay midweek.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a 'front' view. They have three floors. Quirky lift only to 2nd floor. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments, we do indeed receive many compliments on the friendliness and helpfulness of all our staff. You are correct in that nothing
is too much trouble for any of our guests.
The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Bath and has stunning views across the Avon valley. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
392 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Limpley Stoke is just outside of Bath and Stonehenge was along the way from London. I had booked this hotel months in advance based on the reviews and pictures. We had just spent three nights at a high dollar hotel in London and were looking forward to something less busy, shall we say. The reception staff were most accommodating and friendly. We were given room 28 on the 2nd floor with a wonderful view. I'm glad there was an elevator, but we still had to navigate a few steps to get to our room. The room was refreshingly quaint as well as the entire hotel experience. By quaint, I refer to the slightly leaning floors, unmatched carpets, character throughout; but nonetheless comfortable and interesting. As I said before, the staff are excellent! Now the shortcomings. The hotel must be a Mecca for wedding receptions! We arrived for Friday & Saturday stay. Each night there was a reception that generally engulfed the entire hotel with visitors. Obviously the dining area was reserved and the bar equally occupied. We were disappointed that we could not partake in the hotel amenities. However, the pub (Hop Pole Inn) at the end of the road to the hotel made up quiet well with excellent food and drink. I would definitely recommend this hotel, conditioned upon verifying that no receptions were scheduled during the stay. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, TX P.S. Another reception was in preparation for Sunday evening!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our quaint and character filled hotel, our floors are sloping however the location is outstanding. Given our stunning location weddings are a speciality of the hotel however we always provide a quiet lounge away from the celebrations and we also have a delightful pub at the bottom of our drive. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff, they all work very hard and will appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stopped for 4 nights as part of a coach holiday with a group of older people. Our room was on the third floor and, as mentioned in previous reviews, the lift only goes to the second floor. However our luggage was delivered and collected from our room for us, which helped. The room itself was very standard hotel with ensuite and over bath shower , which provided plenty of hot water. A large, king sized bed but not much room left for anything else. Room was quite warm from afternoon sun and had a great view of the bins and the dining room roof! Bed comfy with lots of pillows. Everything seemed fairly clean. Some of our party had problems with rooms being cold and hot water not working but that wasn't our experience.
The hotel is in the process of being "done up" with a painter and decorator at work on one day of our stay. The old part of the hotel can be quite confusing, with twisted corridors and steps going up and down everywhere! I had to go down and then up again to find the lift! The dining room is an odd shape and doesn't have a great atmosphere, probably because of the frosted windows - I imagine that it shares the view of the bins that we had from our bedroom. The lounge and bar are spacious with lovely views across the valley and the new external patio area looked very pleasant for a drink outside.
The breakfast was a normal basic buffet complete with hot food and do it yourself toast but if porridge and poached eggs were ordered, they swiftly appeared and were hot and well cooked. The tea was very weak - go for the coffee! I can't comment on the normal evening menu, as we had a special menu for our group with a varied choice of 3 starters and 3 desserts each day, with a meat, fish or veggy main course. All very acceptable, considering what we were paying. The staff were mostly not British but all of them were very kind and helpful, especially to the less able members of our group. Can't fault any them - even had a cheery "Good Morning" from the cleaners!
As usual, I think you get what you pay for and this is a quirky older hotel, in an attractive village near Bath and whilst not 5 star, it was good value for money, with pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Don't choose the top floor if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments it is true our hotel is quirky with a period charm and amazing location on the outskirts of Bath and whilst not 5 star we provide excellent value for money for the discerning traveller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing