We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beutiful Romantic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bath
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beutiful Romantic setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Upon our arrival we were literally speechless with how beutiful the setting was. I would like to point out that at a very reasonable rate of 79.20 for a double room we weren't expecting the Ritz however this hotel had a very country manor feel and first impressions was very good.
Our room (29) was one of the newly refurbished rooms and the view over looked the valley - again we couldn't have asked for more, the bathroom only had a shower however we were not interested in a luxury bathroom and were happy to trade for a room with a view.
We then set off for a drive in our car (taking a left outside the entrance) and were met by some beutiful little english countryside and some romantic little inns along the way.
All in all the hotel was good as we had a nice room with a superb view however I was shocked by the lack of investment on the decor - If someone gave this property som TLC ...albeit an expensive facelift...this hotel would have the potential to be an all year money earner. I even thought if they had a spa it would be a perfect girlie get away. We enjoyed our stay but it was definately a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.We are indeed an old building originally Georgian with Victorian additions all contributing to the Country Manor house feel we aspire to.As with all old buildings we are constantly upgrading and whilst as you say we are not the Ritz we provide exceptional value for money in a magnificent village location on the outskirts of Bath.If we were to invest to the level you suggest I am concerned we may lose our olde worlde charm and more importantly would have to charge more than the £79.20
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    412
    254
    95
    60
See reviews for
185
525
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked the hotel for our wedding reception on the strength of the location in the beautiful Avon Valley, their grounds and the attractive features of their reception rooms. They do weddings as a large part of their business, it seems, and can have 2-3 a week especially over the summer. Their wedding package is affordable but clearly set out, you can see what you are getting and no hidden extras like so many others. We stayed the night before and went to the Hop Pole where we managed not only to get a table but the friendly landlord moved them around so guests who happened to arrive could sit with us too. The pub is a lovely charming old building - yes the toilets are 'outside' but that is not uncommon in the UK, the log fires are lovely and the food excellent, though not 'cheap'.

In fact they were excellent on the big day, they have done it so many times they knew what they were doing, and even though we had no clue, never having got married before, luckily they had it down to a fine art! Some of the run up to the wedding was a bit tense and we worried it could all go horribly wrong, but on the day it all came together perfectly. The ceremony and reception rooms were beautifully set out, clean, bright, attractive. The welcome to guests was excellent, and every guest said they felt relaxed and informal. The feedback we have received so far is that it was the best wedding they had ever been to, the atmosphere was so welcoming. Many guests stayed overnight - be aware rooms may not be available until 3pm on the day. One small point - we stayed the night before and had a lovely 4 poster suite. Mid way through my wedding preparations I had to move rooms to the bridal suite so we could change over the rooms - this is not great when you are a bride getting ready, in dressing gown and curlers! In fact the 4 poster room (5) was much nicer than the bridal suite and I would much rather have stayed there.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely, relaxed, the staff didn't seem very clued up as our guests had actually had a table reserved for them but no one knew. Reception staff and the wedding hosts are very friendly and helpful but waiting staff didn't seem so focused on customer service. The breakfast was excellent though, and the dining room seemed cleaner and brighter.
I would recommend this hotel for the green views and some of the lovely refurbished rooms. It has faded charm and a friendly atmosphere, and I would certainly recommend them for weddings as they helped make our day absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigergirlberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your extremely kind comments regarding your very special wedding day here at the hotel which is indeed a very popular venue with many Brides who are looking for that perfect day. We do indeed have the pleasure in hosting many wedding receptions and Civil Marriages throughout the year, each one being equally important to us and all very special. It is very pleasing therefore to read that your guests thought this to be the best wedding day they had ever attended. Once again many thanks and all of us at the hotel wish you the very best for the future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

9 of us stayed here in June 2012. Rooms were a decent size with TV, coffee & tea-making facilities (& biscuits), comfortable beds with lovely fresh cotton bedlinen, & a nice en suite (shower over bath). There was an air of faded elegance about the inside of the hotel - chandeliers & character, but could maybe do with some re-decoration in places.
The hotel staff were very helpful, allowing us to eat from the bar menu in the restaurant, & they brought our drinks from the bar through for us, recommended puddings (which were all excellent!) - nothing was too much trouble.
On the downside - we were woken by 2 very loud women (cleaning staff) who were sitting on the floor chatting, right outside our room on the Sunday morning. We complained to the lady on Reception, who again was a model of politeness & helpfulness.
I would possibly stay there again, although I thought the rooms were pricey at £82 per night for a twin room, which didn't include breakfast. Breakfast would have cost £10 per person, but we didn't try it- we just ate the free biscuits provided in the room!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionamadcatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review and all your comments regarding the politeness and helpfulness of all our staff here at the hotel, we do indeed receive many many compliments regarding the staff and a we are very proud of them and their commitment to the guests enjoyment of their stay with us. I am also pleased to read that you found the beds comfortable and the food of a very good standard.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Looks great from the outside but the inside is a more mixed affair. Some elegance downstairs but the dining room is dark and depressing and the corridors a hideous mishmash of umpteen different floral wallpapers and carpets that look like rejects from Laura Ashley circa 1975. The reception is also variable - some pleasant staff, some surly. Have stayed twice - the first time in a tiny single where I was kept awake by staff who had gathered in the loft above to gossip through the night. The second time I got a large and comfortable double room which was very quiet. So, overall, a mixed bag.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharmaboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Do not stay here if you are under the age of 50! We had a terrible welcome, which was a look up and down as if to say you are not worthy of staying in our hotel. The staff knew nothing about me or my partner and judged us on appearance, mainly with us being a young couple, not knowing i am a teacher and my partner being an accountant! Our room was meant to be a double; however they had pushed two single beds together which was very uncomfortable. The shower didn’t work and we had no hot water for the two nights we stayed! The bed lining and curtains we both dirty with stains. There was NO service at the bar or restaurant, even though there was a wedding on!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review and I must apologise for your welcome which is very disappointing to us as we have always received nothing but compliments on the friendliness and helpfullness of our reception staff, in fact we welcome all guests of all ages at our hotel and do not condone ageism in any form in fact the majority of our staff are themselves young. I apologise also for the lack of hot water during your stay if you had of advised the reception of this then action would have been taken immediately I assure you. In view of your disappointing experience should you return to the area I would be delighted to offer you a very discounted rate to show you then our true level of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked and paid for 2 rooms in advance, got allocated 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. They changed the rooms for bigger without asking which was great. They had a wedding on which wasn't a problem. However, at breakfast the next morning there was no scrambled egg, sausages or bacon ready (it was 9.30am). When I asked to see if there was any more I was told quite abruptly that I would have to wait at least 10 minutes for them. When they did come out it was all separately and not at the same time. The waiting staff were muttering quite loudly under their breath, not the most helpful and didn't really seem to know what was going on. Upon checkout the receptionist was quite short with the lady in front of me. Would I stay here again? Possibly, the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

stayed here 5-7 June 12. Visited Bath and Longleat and hotel looked idilic from the pictures on the site. Shame they dont photograph the rooms on the 3rd floor - we had no.57 - tiny room in the attic almost, 2 mattresses pushed together so no sleep except in the crack, tiny little window which, if you look out of it on a night will offer you the view to the right of a semi or naked male sat on his bed!!! - staff i think - Almost felt like we had been shoved out of the way...... and, Best Western customers...... dont ask for an upgrade that you are entitled to as youre told " Its a big bed with a nice view ". The hotel menu is very limited and expensive and the " pub " they advertise is so old the toilets are outside, but they are bigger than the rooms inside the pub so take your beer with you. And the food is expensive too. The only good thing about our stay was breakfast, not for the ambience but for the food, hot and varied except when its raining and they decide to open the big windows so that not only does the food get wet but you need to wear thermals whilst you eat. Bath is a lovely place to stay and there are other hotels which appear a lot nicer, friendlier and " true " to their description. We have stayed at Best Western hotels in the area before as we visit regularly and wont be going to that one again, unless its free and even then I would have to think about it. What a waste of hard earned money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and I appreciate you taking the time to air your thoughts, however I must say I am astonished at your description of Room 57 and the so called attic you stayed in.Our third floor is incredibly popular with stunning south facing views through the Avon Valley.The room is equipped with a King size bed,26 flat screen tv,bath and shower a three foot window and is very popular with our corporate and leisure guests.Our pub at the end of the drive is,as you can see from the many previous comments very well liked by our guests and whilst inexcusably old a consequence of being built in the 16th century, it has agreat charm and is a classic English village pub. I apologise for the semi naked guest we cannot police the standard of dress in the privacy of guests rooms.Your comments that you paid a lot of money is also baffling as £75 per night for 2 people to include breakfast is certainly not escessive, particularly when you consider the quality and variety of breakfast which you complimented us on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing