We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just needed a place to stay for the night while visiting relatives in Bath and this was offering good value for money. There was a wedding while we were there, but we were given a room away from the noisy disco and we didn't hear a thing. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. We didn't have breakfast as that was an extra £10 each. The hospitality tray was fully stocked.The countryside around the hotel is delightful and a mile down the road, you can get to the Kennet and Avon canal which is ideal for walking, jogging or cycling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Arriving at the hotel for a one night stay, the approach up the drive suggested we were in for a treat. The building itself is a an attractive stone structure, set in a small village in a picturesque valley, and the gardens were attractive. From there things went less well....Introducing ourselves at reception, the receptionist seemed to have difficulty tracking down our booking (made via Bookings.com). The hotel had the booking (when they eventually found it) as a double room booked as single occupancy, and there was muttering about having to charge us more....fortunately we had our copy of the booking specifying a twin room for two people. It turned out there were no twin rooms left (we later found the couple who had arrived just before us had the last twin room, with great views over the valley), and we ended up in a double with views of the flat roof and the yard at the back of the hotel with the accompanying roar of a ventilation fan. The "Double" room was somewhat cramped. Space between the end of a not particularly large bed and the desk was limited for access, a large part of the room having been taken up by the fitting of the ensuite. The room was also fairly stuffy, although a fan was provided on request which eased this, and admittedy this was about the hottest day of the year so far ! On a high note, the shower was large and well supplied with a deluge of hot water. The main areas of the hotel look a little tired, and the first floor corridors had slopes and camber on them like a BMX training track. Carpeting and decor was also a bit "busy" in appearance, and some of the woodwork appeared to have been painted in colours suggestive of a job lot sale of redundant paint from 1960's NHS establishment. We chose to eat at the Hop Pole Inn at the bottom of the hotel drive - well worth the walk ! - very friendly and excellent food, and you can put your food and drinks on your hotel bill, which was a nice touch. Can't comment on the quality of food at the hotel, as we decided to forego breakfast to make an early start, having had a failry restless night due to the heat and not the most comfortable bed. However, a guest had commented to us the previous evening that breakfast and a Fawlty Towers element to it. Also notable when my wife ventured downstairs in the early hours, the night staff were notable from their absence at the desk but could be heard apparently having a sing song in the bar........Probably not on our list of places to return, although we shall if looking for a meal int he area visit the Hop Pole !

Room Tip: As for a room with a view, and make sure you get it in writing and take your copy with you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis. The hotel is stunning and the out of decor that so many people mention in their reviews only add to it's charm! The staff were very friendly and even though there was two weddings on over the weekend we were staying nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our room was very airy and clean and the view was magnificent. We had drinks in the bar and even though there was a wedding happening we did not feel like we were in the way if any thing the wedding guests thought they were interupting us and the other non wedding guests and moved outside.

We had dinner both nights in the resturant, you could order off the a la cart menu or the lounge menu or pick and mix from both which is great if you are with a fussy eater like my other half. The food was of a very good standard and the portion sizes are more than genourous. Breakfast was of a similar standard and the waiting staff were very pleasent and again nothing was too much trouble.

We were a little worried when we were told that there were two weddings and reading some of the reviews about being able to hear the disco till late so were ready for a late one. Our room was directly above where the wedding was happening and with the hot weather we had to sleep with the window open, but we were pleasently surprised that we did not hear much noise from the wedding on either evening.

On our second day we want to venture into Bath again the reception staff were very good and supplied with where and what time to catch the bus and also how much it would cost us to get there, excellent customer service.

I can not recommend Limpley Stoke Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your review yes the views form our beautiful hotel are absolutely stunning and we receive many many comments on the location we are set in, in what is an area of outstanding naturaal beauty. Pleased to read also that the Restaurant was excellent and also that you were not at all disturbed by the wedding going on during your stay, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here with another couple for a one night stop over to see Bath. We loved the hotel and our room was lovely. The window opened and overlooked the river down below. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is certainly old and a feeling of lots of corridors and nooks and crannies but this was part of it's charm. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The only drawback we found was that the bus, which was 2 minute walk away, was £6.40 return which was fairly pricey (although maybe cheaper than parking in Bath?)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennywren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your very positive review and kind comments, we receive many compliments on the friendliness of all our staff and their helpfulness,we are very pleased also that you enjoyed your lovely breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Been here a few times in the past 10 years. Very disappointed having not been for a while, cramped, tired and very basic room, obviously being milked for profit and living off past glories. Won't return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fbwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

I am very disappointed to read your comment regarding our hotel. We have worked tirelessly over the last few years refurbishing our bedrooms and public areas with contemporary fabric and colours. As one can appreciate a classic Georgian property such as ours requires constant maintenance and I apologise for your disappointment.
However our magnificent location and stunning building will I hope persuade you to return and I would ask that you contact my office Sabrina@latona.eclipse.co.uk and I will ensure you are allocated an excellent room at a preferred rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My friend and I stayed on the 14th July 2012 overnight for a weekend in Bath. My room was OK but I was unable to open the window as it had been painted and not opened since. The room was OK but dusty. My friends room had a layer of dust on the window ledge and television stand that was not recent. the whole room needed a good dust and clean. Her dressing table glass top had numerous fingerprints. the doors did not close well and worryingly I had a safety chain on the inside which did not give a feeling of security to myself or friend. It had a general feel of half hearted cleaning and maintenance.
There was a wedding in progress when we arrived so we decided to eat at the Hop Pole inn at the end of the drive, which had delightful atmosphere and good food. On our return we decided to have a drink but were unable to get to the bar or sit anywhere due to the wedding guests taking all the space. The lounge has a filthy carpet and plastic type furniture in an awful mustard colour so was not an option to have a drink in. We decided to have a cup of tea in my room .
If this hotel has weddings every weekend they must make an effort to give hotel guests somewhere else to have a drink or give the wedding guests separate bar facilities. When the receptionist on our departure was appraised of the state of my friends room she blamed the fact on some guests wanting to get into the room earlier so they couldn't clean it properly!!!
I have no objections to being in the hotel at the same time as a wedding but as in the case of the hotel I married in we had separate facilities for drinking and seating away from the disco separate to the hotel guests. It felt like a very crowded pub with standing room only.
It is a lovely setting and I was disappointed that my weekend away was spoilt by lack of consideration for hotel guests and unbelievable explanation for cleanliness of the room.
the hotel is relying on its old world charm but it is very tatty now. It is a let down for a Best Western Hotel and having stayed in a 15th century one which was far superior to this for facilities they need to think carefully about what they can offer other than an old tired hotel

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding going on decide from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I was very surprised to read however that your friends room had some dust in it, as we receive numerous positive comments on the housekeeping at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere at the Hop Pole Inn it is indeed an excellent alternative to the hotel’s own very good Viaduct Restaurant. I am sorry that you were not made aware of the Kennet and Avon Suite which is a peaceful and comfortable room within the hotel, dedicated for use by guests who are not attending the wedding, being well away form the noise of any disco that may be playing. We agree that our Hotel has much old world charm dating as it does to 1760.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Spent two nights at this Best Western hotel that is situated five or six miles outside Bath.
Interestingly tucked away in a very picturesque village, and no more than 15 minutes drive from the centre of Bath.
Goods sized rooms,excellent breakfast and very attentive staff throughout the hotel.
The main hotel restaurant serves nice food at reasonable prices, but can be rather underused in the evening: residents have either preferred the bar snacks at lower cost, or more likely will have booked at the very popular food pub two minutes walk away. This is also owned by the hotel chain, and has a very good atmosphere.When I visited 'on spec' on a Wednesday evening, it was fully booked - so reserve a table in advance at the hotel's front desk.(Meal charges at the pub can be booked onto your room bill.)
Overall a convenient retreat if you are on business in Bath.
A little 'tired', with a few interesting sloping floors and corridors in what is a very old building, but nevertheless clean and well run.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RETIRED_TRAVELLERS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Address: Lower Limpley Stoke Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing