We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but busy when hosting wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Bath
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but busy when hosting wedding!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just one night on bank holiday weekend. The hotel is nice and is set in lovely grounds and is in a nice part of the country just outside Bath. Our room was on the small side, but was perfectly adequate and the bathroom was nice and clean. This hotel is used for a lot of weddings and you can see why. However, whilst the wedding party would be happy with the service received, I found that all the service and attention was given to the wedding party and not to guests staying at the hotel - you do feel like you have gatecrashed a wedding rather than actually being a guest at a hotel. We usued the bar and the hotel's lounge area on a couple of occasions and this was full with people from the wedding and whilst there were no arguments or anything, you just felt out of place - other guests also commented on this. I would recommend this hotel to people as this is a nice hotel, but personally would recommend on staying when there is not a wedding or function going on.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    423
    257
    99
    62
See reviews for
191
541
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our son in a family room. Although the building looks quite old, the room was modern, although not to big. Unfortunately we couldn't leave the window open during the night, since we were staying on the second floor and it would be very easy for any one to climb into the room. There was no airconditioning. And the door was very difficult to open (worn key?) Beds and bathroom were fine, with good working internet on the room and big towels in the bathroom.
When we arrived there was a wedding party, so although the parking for guests is quite large, it was hard to find a small parking place. The location on a small hill is beautiful with a nice garden around the building. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast buffet offered a lot of choice for everyone.
If you don't want to use dinner in the hotel, you can just walk down the hill within 5 minutes, where you find al lovely small inn, with lots of choice for a good meal. The bill can be put on your hotelroom if you take your hotelkey with you.
The location is fantastic, very nearby Bath. Staff is ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a highter floor, so you can leave a window open if you want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay we also feel we have combined the charm and elegance of a period property with the modern comforts and facilities a quality hotel should possess. I agree the pub is a magnificent addition to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast help yourself to what you want. Waitresses helpful and friendly. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely use Best Western again. Need a car to explore as a bit tucked away but worth it for the views. Steep incline up to hotel, so maybe. It great if struggle on legs. Bath is a lovely area and would recommend this hotel which has pub attached for lunches and beverages. Restaurant like most hotels bit pricier than other places and was quite posh for my bland taste buds.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordingbridgelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull,uk
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We went to this hotel for our main summer break. The staff where heplful and polite although most where polish and not mant english staff there which caused problems with them not understanding us. Beware also that the lift only goes to the 2nd floor too so if like us at 1st you are on the 3rd floor u got to walk up the many flights of stairs there, the top floor is so warm to especailly in room 59 and its small. its too warm on the top floor you are in the roof. We asked to be moved after a few days was too hot up there. got a room on the second floor and bigger too. room 59 is so small. the sunday moring of out stay the boiler went and still wasnt right the monday morning seems to be an on going problem at this hotel. the decore esp in the public places need doing it wore and tired, the carpets r woren too. the breakfast room is built ionto the side of the hill the windows are high up and makes it a dull in there dont like it, the room next door is better. food is ok quite good really beware the menus dont change we where there for 2 weeks so gets boring. on the whole we enjoyed our stay but wont be going back.
have a meal bar
snack on the patio lovely view over the valley. wedding are often on esp weekends but didnt feel we shouldnt be in the bar etc. it just lacked something not sure what

Room Tip: dont go on top floor standards are small and esp room 59.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, Bath is a wonderful place to visit and our hotel is perfectly placed to explore the city and surrounding attractions.

Our top floor rooms are heated the same as other parts of the hotel and are very popular because of their magnificent views.

The boiler problem was in fact a fault with our gas meter and was rectified later on the Monday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was a beautiful hotel. We arrived on a Saturday evening with a wedding in full swing. This just added to the charm of a beautiful English village hotel. Dinner was served in the dining room and was tasty. Rooms are small but comfortable. Shower/bathroom very tiny, but again, clean and welcoming after a long day of sightseeing.
Although the music from the wedding could be heard from down below, it didn't impact on my sleep. Floor boards do creak, but it is a VERY old hotel which adds to the charm.

I highly recommend taking a walk through the beautiful village before breakfast as the sun rises over the rolling hills.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the rolling hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_nomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed at limpley Stoke over the last few months on a number of occasions. I have been in a room on each floor and all have been to a good standard. I acknowledge that some people may have a problem with not such a great view - for me it isn't a problem as I spend little time in the room looking out the window. I see that some reviewers have a problem with a lack of privacy in having to close curtains - I see that as normal life. I can't imagine there are many hotels which offer complete privacy for the price of some of the rooms here.
I have received a consistent, personal, friendly and professional approach with each visit to this hotel. All the staff are helpful, accommodating and incredibly friendly. I need to particularly mention Povilas who works in the Bar, he is lovely, friendly and a very bright chap. Also of particular mention is Petya on Reception, she has been incredibly helpful to me in re-booking rooms and again is a very bright lady.

I have only eaten breakfast which is always fresh with a good selection, and from the bar menu which has been consistently excellent and very good value.

I think this hotel is incredibly good value. The poor reviews are perhaps due to a lack of understanding of what is achievable in an incredibly old building without even floors etc. and surrounded by a real village.
I will continue to stay here and enjoy the experience.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tak1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We spotted this hotel on Trip Advisor and was impressed by the majority of reviews received. We asked for a room with a view and we got a room with the view requested. The country side surrounding the hotel is beautiful with our view from room 42 looking down the valley with rolling fields and directly below the hotels patio and lawned garden. We were initially concerned about the trains passing close by but luckily this did not distract from our experience.
Our room had a double and single bed, our double was very comfortable with superior bed linen provided. The bathroom was very clean and had all the normal bathroom condiments expected. The shower screen had the rubber seal missing which meant once one had stepped into the bath to shower the water leaked onto the bathroom floor. This was fixed by stuffing a towel in the gap. Also exiting the bathroom was difficult as the door would jam but with frantic movement of the handle exit was enabled. We also found the lino very slippery even when dry, not a standard anti slip lino designed for bathrooms that one would normally install.
We only stayed for one night, as intended, and had a meal from the A la carte menu. We had starter and main and was of average quality. For example I had chicken terrine with chutney. One would normally expect small slices of toasted bread but was supplied with cold Melba toast easily bought from a tesco or asda. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and could not be faulted.
On checking out the receptionist had changed from the evening before. She seemed unable to cope and handed our bill without a second glance and passed the handheld credit card machine over to complete. I was going to mention at this time the things wrong with the bathroom but felt we were unable to. (Be warned if you are given room 42)
Overall we did enjoy the stay with the good out weighing the bad.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matster34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#27 of 30 in Bath
173 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing