We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I just expected better. We booked two rooms six months in advance. We are not wealthy people, and this was a much planned and anticipated trip with our good friends. Upon arrival our rooms were 3 floors apart. Ours was perfectly pleasant with a view of the valley, but our friends were given what I can only term a renovated storage closet with a view of the rubbish bins. They were good sports and when we offered to change with them said, no problem. We'll be gone most of the time. [There's a good commentary for you. A room you're happy NOT to be in.] The second night we were here the hose came off the shower attachment in our bathroom, and water sprayed everywhere. It was deemed unusable and we were given a key to the room across the hall. What?? The room across the hall is empty??? And they put our friends in the storage closet??
I will say the beds were wonderful, the bathrooms excellent, [mostly] and the place was clean. You really must look out for the slanted hallway though! I wonder, are the rooms on that floor slanted also? Wouldn't you fall out of bed?
Beware that the quoted price does not include a hefty tax, or breakfast, which can be purchased for 10 Pounds/person/day....
All in all, I would love to go back for the area, but we did feel we were treated as if we were "the lower classes."

Room Tip: Beware the stated price does not reflect a hefty tax, or breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Mary C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit. I would like to start by apologising for not exceeding your expectations, we strive to offer a memorable and enjoyable experience for all our guests and clearly we did not achieve this during your stay.

Our period property hotel offers many traditional and original features and rooms and many guest rooms benefit from the magnificent views across the local countryside and valley, as did yours. Should you have requested that your rooms be closer together I can assure you that we would have do all we could to accommodate such a request, unfortunately on this occasion this was not possible on the first night, however we would have done all we could for the remainder of your stay if it had been requested. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I was very pleased to read that you found the guest room furnishings and décor in keeping with our Georgian Building and found the original hallways offered a traditional and authentic feel to the hotel.

I would however just like to point out that all advertised prices include VAT and we do not charge any additional taxes, we are however required to split this out in the final invoice. If when making your booking you were not quoted a fully inclusive room rate could you please inform me of the website or booking agent that you made the booking through so that I can investigate. I can be directly contacted on: operations@latonaleisuregroup.com.

The hotel does offer varying tariffs such as Room Only, Bed & Breakfast and also Dinner, Bed & Breakfast, should you have booked either Bed & Breakfast or Dinner, Bed & Breakfast no additional charge for breakfast would have be added.

Should you be returning to the area at any future point please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be only too pleased to make a booking on your behalf and I can ensure you an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel in a good location. Breakfast adequate. Car park would benefit from a more formal layout with lined bays. When we arrived there were cars everywhere and spaces list because of inconsiderate parking. Each floor seems to have different carpet and corridors look tired and could do with a refresh. W had room 51 which overlooked a scruffy back yard and room 105! Which is the garden shed. Would benefit from being tidied up as the was no view. Disappointed that booking could not accommodate us with a room looking across the valley. Huge bed making moving around the room difficult as chairs where in the way. Room hot, no heating on and no air con. Ideal for a visit to Bath as the local bus leaves from 200 yards down on the main road under the railway bridge.a local service which is a lot cheaper leaves from the bottom of the drive but operates every two hours. Timetable on the wall at the end of the drive. 15 minutes into Bath and easier than finding a parking ing space especially in rugby match days.

Room Tip: View across the valkey
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancmedwaykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Jancmedwaykent

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel following your recent visit. I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel and location ideal for visiting Bath and the surrounding areas.

The hotel boasts many guest rooms with a picture perfect view of the local countryside and Avon Valley, should you return to the area for a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be only too pleased to ensure you have a room with a view and offer you our Best Rate Guarantee.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the start of September :) was brilliant everything we could of wished for our special day! Staff were amazing would do anything we wanted, nothing was to much for the staff. Beautiful scenery, lovely food and drinks. Thank you for our perfect day!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Laurasev

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding here at the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel and that the dedicated team at the hotel could help make your special day that little more memorable.

I will be certain to pass on your comments to all the staff members that helped make your day so special and enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel as the venue for your wedding, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you all the best for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here when taking my daughter to start her degree at the nearby university.
Very convienient location for uni as you do not have to go into Bath City which was very very conjested all weekend (I suspect that is the case each year as the new intake arrive)
Hotel is in a lovely building. Rooms were comfortable - nothing particularly special, but fine for the price you pay.
We only ate breakfast which was good. Plenty of choice available even though the hotel was busy catering for a wedding party.
Would not give it 5 stars as some of the hotel is a bit tired looking, but generally very happy with our choice of hotel for the price we paid. The views from our room (44) was lovely, with the village of Limpley perched on the side of rolling hills.
Although there was a disco at the wedding on one of our nights during the stay, we could not hear anything from our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear CindyandSteve

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel ideally located for your requirements. We are indeed situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and within easy access of the city of Bath and the university.

I will pass on your comments and feedback to the management and the dedicated team at the hotel and I know they will be pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel and we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here while visiting Bath, we found the hotel to be very tidy with lots of olde world charm. The parking is easy and the whole experience was enjoyable. While staying at the hotel be sure to walk down the drive and have a drink at the old pub across the road, built in 1580 it adds to the whole experience. The breakfast was very nice and topped off a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Peter4213

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel following you recent stay. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience of our period property and found the hotel ideally located to explore the Georgian City of Bath.

Our 16th century coaching inn ‘The Hop Pole’ is extremely popular with many hotel guests and I was very pleased to read that you had the opportunity to visit. I will be certain to pass on your comments to all of our dedicated team (including the Hop Pole) that helped make your stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and my partner have recently come back from spending my birthday in Bath, and staying at the Limpley Stoke Hotel for 1 night. I literally cannot fault this hotel. After working in a dissapointing hotel myslef in the past I was wary because the rates were low to stay, But it is safe to say my faith is well and truely restored. The staff were brilliant and an extra thank you to Lena at dinner she was lovely! I must recommend also that anyone that likes chocolate cake, try the hotels it is immense! We will deffinately be back thankyou so so much for the best birthday!... Oh and room service was brilliant :)

Room Tip: top floor... views are excellent rooms are immaculate
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear sophie c

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you and your partner thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us whilst celebrating your birthday. I will be certain to pass on your comments to all of our dedicated team who helped make your stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I decided to take a short break over the Bank Holiday and stayed at the Limpley Stoke in Bath. We had read that it was excellent and so decided to book it. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a lovely historic building and by a very personable and polite receptionist. Our room was brilliant and the bed was 'out of this world' comfy. we stayed for 2 nights and the breakfasts were plentiful, hot and the waiting staff were very attentive. We had dinner at the pub down the bottom of the lane (which is also owned by the hotel) and had a brilliantly cooked meal in an old fashioned pub, what a change from the norm. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear gladders G

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read when a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us and when our dedicated team have helped make the stay that little more comfortable and enjoyable.

The hotel does indeed have its very own 16th Century Inn located just at the bottom of the main driveway and we receive many positive comments on the hospitality and food offered, I will be certain to pass on your comments to all the staff at the hotel and the Hop Pole pub who I know will be very pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do look forward to your return. Please contact the hotel directly or visit the hotels website to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing