We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reunion Weekend”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Trying to book 6 bedrooms for single occupancy in Bath was a nightmare until I rang the Best Weston direct. We were informed there would be 2 weddings during our stay but had run out of options. This proved not to be an issue as the guests were either very quiet or we were very tired!
The village is served with a good bus service to get into Bath central and everyone we met were helpful. Corridor and some bedroom floors do slant but no one in our party fell out of bed! or owned up to falling out! We had a leisure weekend break with bed and breakfast which was very economical.

Room Tip: The older parts of the hotel have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy241251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Joy241251

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent reunion weekend. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful, comfortable and relaxing stay with us and that you found the Georgian City of Bath easily accessible via the regular public transport links.

I will be certain to pass on your comments and feedback to the dedicated team at the hotel, who I know will be very pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    428
    259
    102
    62
See reviews for
191
547
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Very lovely scenery and location just outside of the city scene of Bath. Very uncomfortable beds and a short shower. Be prepared to squat in the shower if you are more than 5'8. Overall nice staff and grounds but definitely not a comfortable room to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GryphonRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear GryphonRosie

Thank you for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that you found our hotel ideally located for the City of Bath and that you enjoyed our grounds and that our dedicated staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout.

I would just like to say that our period property offers many original features and rooms that we feel add to the overall character and charm of such grand Georgian architecture. Should you have bought your concerns regarding the shower in your particular room to the attention of a member of the management team or reception staff we would have done everything possible to allocate you an alternative guest room so that you could thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience encountered.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I just expected better. We booked two rooms six months in advance. We are not wealthy people, and this was a much planned and anticipated trip with our good friends. Upon arrival our rooms were 3 floors apart. Ours was perfectly pleasant with a view of the valley, but our friends were given what I can only term a renovated storage closet with a view of the rubbish bins. They were good sports and when we offered to change with them said, no problem. We'll be gone most of the time. [There's a good commentary for you. A room you're happy NOT to be in.] The second night we were here the hose came off the shower attachment in our bathroom, and water sprayed everywhere. It was deemed unusable and we were given a key to the room across the hall. What?? The room across the hall is empty??? And they put our friends in the storage closet??
I will say the beds were wonderful, the bathrooms excellent, [mostly] and the place was clean. You really must look out for the slanted hallway though! I wonder, are the rooms on that floor slanted also? Wouldn't you fall out of bed?
Beware that the quoted price does not include a hefty tax, or breakfast, which can be purchased for 10 Pounds/person/day....
All in all, I would love to go back for the area, but we did feel we were treated as if we were "the lower classes."

Room Tip: Beware the stated price does not reflect a hefty tax, or breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mary C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit. I would like to start by apologising for not exceeding your expectations, we strive to offer a memorable and enjoyable experience for all our guests and clearly we did not achieve this during your stay.

Our period property hotel offers many traditional and original features and rooms and many guest rooms benefit from the magnificent views across the local countryside and valley, as did yours. Should you have requested that your rooms be closer together I can assure you that we would have do all we could to accommodate such a request, unfortunately on this occasion this was not possible on the first night, however we would have done all we could for the remainder of your stay if it had been requested. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I was very pleased to read that you found the guest room furnishings and décor in keeping with our Georgian Building and found the original hallways offered a traditional and authentic feel to the hotel.

I would however just like to point out that all advertised prices include VAT and we do not charge any additional taxes, we are however required to split this out in the final invoice. If when making your booking you were not quoted a fully inclusive room rate could you please inform me of the website or booking agent that you made the booking through so that I can investigate. I can be directly contacted on: operations@latonaleisuregroup.com.

The hotel does offer varying tariffs such as Room Only, Bed & Breakfast and also Dinner, Bed & Breakfast, should you have booked either Bed & Breakfast or Dinner, Bed & Breakfast no additional charge for breakfast would have be added.

Should you be returning to the area at any future point please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be only too pleased to make a booking on your behalf and I can ensure you an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medway kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel in a good location. Breakfast adequate. Car park would benefit from a more formal layout with lined bays. When we arrived there were cars everywhere and spaces list because of inconsiderate parking. Each floor seems to have different carpet and corridors look tired and could do with a refresh. W had room 51 which overlooked a scruffy back yard and room 105! Which is the garden shed. Would benefit from being tidied up as the was no view. Disappointed that booking could not accommodate us with a room looking across the valley. Huge bed making moving around the room difficult as chairs where in the way. Room hot, no heating on and no air con. Ideal for a visit to Bath as the local bus leaves from 200 yards down on the main road under the railway bridge.a local service which is a lot cheaper leaves from the bottom of the drive but operates every two hours. Timetable on the wall at the end of the drive. 15 minutes into Bath and easier than finding a parking ing space especially in rugby match days.

Room Tip: View across the valkey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancmedwaykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jancmedwaykent

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel following your recent visit. I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel and location ideal for visiting Bath and the surrounding areas.

The hotel boasts many guest rooms with a picture perfect view of the local countryside and Avon Valley, should you return to the area for a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be only too pleased to ensure you have a room with a view and offer you our Best Rate Guarantee.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the start of September :) was brilliant everything we could of wished for our special day! Staff were amazing would do anything we wanted, nothing was to much for the staff. Beautiful scenery, lovely food and drinks. Thank you for our perfect day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Laurasev

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding here at the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel and that the dedicated team at the hotel could help make your special day that little more memorable.

I will be certain to pass on your comments to all the staff members that helped make your day so special and enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel as the venue for your wedding, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you all the best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here when taking my daughter to start her degree at the nearby university.
Very convienient location for uni as you do not have to go into Bath City which was very very conjested all weekend (I suspect that is the case each year as the new intake arrive)
Hotel is in a lovely building. Rooms were comfortable - nothing particularly special, but fine for the price you pay.
We only ate breakfast which was good. Plenty of choice available even though the hotel was busy catering for a wedding party.
Would not give it 5 stars as some of the hotel is a bit tired looking, but generally very happy with our choice of hotel for the price we paid. The views from our room (44) was lovely, with the village of Limpley perched on the side of rolling hills.
Although there was a disco at the wedding on one of our nights during the stay, we could not hear anything from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear CindyandSteve

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel ideally located for your requirements. We are indeed situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and within easy access of the city of Bath and the university.

I will pass on your comments and feedback to the management and the dedicated team at the hotel and I know they will be pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel and we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here while visiting Bath, we found the hotel to be very tidy with lots of olde world charm. The parking is easy and the whole experience was enjoyable. While staying at the hotel be sure to walk down the drive and have a drink at the old pub across the road, built in 1580 it adds to the whole experience. The breakfast was very nice and topped off a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Peter4213

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel following you recent stay. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience of our period property and found the hotel ideally located to explore the Georgian City of Bath.

Our 16th century coaching inn ‘The Hop Pole’ is extremely popular with many hotel guests and I was very pleased to read that you had the opportunity to visit. I will be certain to pass on your comments to all of our dedicated team (including the Hop Pole) that helped make your stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Lower Limpley Stoke, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing