We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a midweek two night stay in one of the twin bed front facing bedrooms. The hotel is so full of character, you could sense its history, and it fits into its location so well. The staff are lovely and the rooms including our bedroom were spotless. The bedrooms have lovely additional extras ie soaps and even a button replacement kit. We treated ourselves to full cooked breakfasts, but I do think the £10 each price is top heavy. For the same reason we went to the local Inn at Freshford for our evening meal, although we would have loved to try the hotel restaurant. We are hoping to have another two night stay later this month.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Peter B

Thank you so very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found your front facing guestroom offered a wonderful view of the local countryside. I will certainly share your feedback with the management team and dedicated staff at the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we all look forward to welcoming you back once again. Should you require any assistance with a future booking please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist with your next reservation.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

My son Sam and his wife also called Sam had their Wedding at this hotel on 1st August. Katie the wedding planner was brilliant right from the first visit. My son and his wife wanted a vegetarian wedding and that was organised with no prob at all. We even had a taster evening so we could decide on which dishes to choose. On the day, Katie and her team were fantastic. The ceremony room, the function room and the bar were set up exactly how it was planned. My son and daughter in law wanted to add lots of little extras to make their wedding individual and this was all easily arrranged.The wedding food was delightful and the serving staff were just great. In fact everyone we came into contact with was so helpful and accommadating. The Piano player they can provide was lovely, about 70 years old and really talented. Oh yes and the setting is beautiful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Patio, have stunning views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Thelia

Thank you for your review following you sons’ wedding at our hotel. I was delighted to read that Katie and her team could provide the perfect event to celebrate such a special occasion, I will certainly share your review with all concerned and I know they will be as delighted as I am to read your comments.

The dedicated team at the hotel pride themselves on providing the perfect setting for celebrations and I would like to thank you for sharing your comments .

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we wish Sam and his Samantha all the very best for their future together and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was reasonably priced but a little off the beaten path ( my fault for not doing my usual due diligence ). The rooms are not fancy but they are well furnished and comfortable. The staff were polite but we had no need to trouble them. The beautiful lounge is of Georgian proportions and is nicely furnished - the bar and terrace were also very well presented.
We chose to eat at the pub at the bottom of the drive (The Hop Pole Inn) which provided great bar food - nothing fancy but all you could need for an one night stay. Breakfast at the hotel would've been £10 each so we skipped that! Bath is as beautiful as advertised so we will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Paul C

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff polite and helpful. We are very proud of our period property and the original rooms and complementing décor, it is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed our location and surroundings. I will be sure to share your comments with the whole team.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed 1 night with breakfast included while I was working in bath. I found the hotel to be in an ideal location. The view from our room was spectacular. The food was pretty good although I would have liked fried egg as an option. The bathroom was good( very small ) but clean and has to be small as its a very old building so you gota work with what youv got. Nice bar too.Really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear lowey1

Thank you for your review following your recent one night stay with us whilst on business in Bath. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and that you took the opportunity to dine with us and relax in our bar and lounge. I would just like to apologise if you did not get the opportunity to order a fried egg at breakfast, we do indeed offer scrambled eggs on our hot buffet, but in addition eggs can be cooked to order and personal preference. Should you stay with us again please do ask your sever for a fried egg and I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we all hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back once again. Should you require any assistance with a future booking please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist with your next reservation.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

location 5* , village pretty, nice pub, stayed two nights for our nephews wedding ,Hotel lots off parking, great views , pretty comfortable, clean , service from all boys and girls working 5* ,old building so we took it in as a part of the gig. But with old places ,on this weekend the sun shone and the building cooked. so very hot in rooms at night , no aircon (probably never will be) made for a bad nights sleep, begged a fan from another room ,it just nicked it so only a 4 rating. ......management get a fan in every room please. overall we would consider staying again. walks around the area are stunning just for that alone.

Room Tip: ask for a fan . choose front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loftsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear loftsaway

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our period property and dedicated team welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout. Your feedback is most welcome and will be used to ensure we maintain our standards and services so that we may continue to provide a superior experience for all our guests.

I can also confirm that we have purchased further fans for our guestrooms. We are in the midst of a wonderful period of sunshine and we all hope this great weather continues, the additional fans will help keep our guests cool during these warm nights.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist with any future reservations or answer any questions you may have.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights earlier this week with my wife, primarily because we were due to attend our nephew's wedding in Priston, we felt that it was too long a haul from East Anglia to there in a day, and this was the closest Best Western hotel to the venue. The hotel is located in a quaint little village just off the A36, and easy to find. First indications are that it is quietly situated, until you hear the first train rush by a couple of hundred metres away. However, after the novelt wears off, the sound of the trains in quite soothing, and you cease to notice them. we were particularly impressed that 'it is what it says on the box' in that the rooms and views are as described, and the car park is substantial enough to accommodate everyone. The hotel itself has seen better daysa on the outside, but this is more than compensated for inside, where the decor is tasteful, and the staff cannot do enough for one. On the question of staff, I always telephone beforehand with accommodation requests - in this instance, we got exactly what we asked for - a spacious room, quiet, and with good views. Anyone booking is recommended to request either 61 or 55 - these are very generously proportioned with commanding views - no the lift does not reach the third floor where these rooms are situated but, being in the rafters, they are truly quiet (apart from the trains!). The food and service were terrific, with a substantial buffet-style breakfast and, in our case, alfresco dining in the evening on the patio overlooking the valley. And, you can leave your car at the hotel and walk down to the river Avon, or drive the 3/4 mile to the Somerset Coal Canal, where there are delightful walks, and canoe rental at £10 per boat for the first hour. Our only cautionary note, which we found amusing rather than annoying - we returned to the hotel from the wedding at 10:30 pm, to find ourselves locked out - we had to sneak in through a side door - all added to the fun of a wonderful day. All in all, a relaxing, quiet break, and reasonably priced; we would certainly stayy here again.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room, then ask for 55 or 61, although they are on the third and the lift stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear A V

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that both you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The management and staff pride themselves on the level of services and standards they provide and it is always a thrill to read when their efforts have helped make a guests stay that little more memorable and enjoyable.

Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated and help us ensure we continue to provide a superior experience for all our guests. I can assure you that I will certainly share your review with the dedicated staff at the hotel and I know they will also be delighted to read it.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website should you wish to return once again, as we would personally like to assist you with any future reservations.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here on a short trip to Bath. The stay in the hotel was free as part of us renewing our home insurance/car insurance/utilities (or something).
The hotel is in a nice location. Overlooking a countryside scene, we were staying in Room 16, which has a lovely view over the village and hills.
Check in was simple. Asked if we wanted a wake up call or newspaper in the morning. Breakfast was an extra charge and we were told where we could get breakfast if we wanted. We needed a taxi for an evening trip and the receptionist was pleased to order one for us for later that evening.
Our room was on the 1st floor and we took ourselves and our bags to the room. At the top of the stairs, the room was a decent size with a double bed, desk, built-in wardrobe, TV and en suite shower room. Clean and tidy. There were also tea and coffee making facilities.
It was a decent room with a lovely view but just on top of the beer garden. This meant people in the beer garden could see up into our room and there were no net curtains (only heavy material curtains).
Smoke from smokers in the beer garden also wafted up into the room, which was a shame. It was very sunny and warm while we were here. We wanted to open the window, which was an old fashioned push-up window, only it didn't stay in place once you pushed it up. We wedged the bin between the window and frame to keep the window open, as it was so hot in the room.
The shower was a little fiddly but there were instructions on how to use it. The shower was nice and refreshing.
We didn't spend very much time in the room. We didn't use any of the facilities (bar, restaurant, etc) at the hotel either.
On returning from our evening out, we went to bed. The bed was quite comfortable with good pillows.The walls in the hotel are paper thin and you could hear everything going on outside the room and in the rooms either side of ours. If someone coughed, you heard it. If a door opened outside, you heard it. And being at the top of the stairs, there was a lot of comings and goings (even overnight!). We didn't sleep particularly well because of the noise (and because it was so warm).
The hotel décor was generally "vintage" with an old country feel to it. I felt that things seemed generally dated, rather than chic vintage.
A decent hotel for one night's stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Katie A

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience of our period property and took full advantage of the spectacular views out over the local countryside.

Your feedback and comments are very welcome and much appreciated. We use all guest feedback to ensure we maintain and improve our standards and services so that we may continue to provide a superior experience for all our guests. I can assure you that your comments will be shared with the management team at the hotel in order to identify any areas that may need addressing and rectifying to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable future experience.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Should you require a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist you with any future bookings or information requests.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,313 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel

Address: Lower Limpley Stoke Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £58 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility in the village is the ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the hotel drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing