We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus Timetables”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bus Timetables”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel was 5 miles from Bath City Centre I didn't want to drive, asked hotel for bus time table. We were given incorrect information on both days of our stay,which resulted in precious time lost.This is a basic request,surely not difficult for the hotel to keep this info up to date.

Also If you do use the bus service and return to the hotel after dark there is a small stretch of road that's pitch black Take a torch.

First room we were allocated had terrible view and cracked window. However, we were offered another room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jackie M

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused in respect of the local transport information available at the hotel during your visit, I would like to assure you that the hotel has updated all relevant information and can offer all our guests the correct information.

I was however pleased to read that we could rectify the situation with your initial guestroom and offer you an acceptable alternative that you enjoyed and offered a view of the local countryside and Avon Valley.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, We do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    412
    254
    95
    60
See reviews for
185
525
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful grounds ( more seating areas would be beneficial for those wanting to take in the view ), impressive ( if a little tired in places ) hotel - we think it adds to the charm to be honest - spot how many different patterned carpets you can find! We were a little "put off" on booking in as the receptionist was informing an elderly lady that yes there was a wedding taking place but the lady could use it "ALL " the public areas including the bar as only one room was exclusively for the wedding party,the elderly lady appeared somewhat abashed and we later discovered had chosen to eat elsewhere.We could understand her angst - yes we appreciate ALL public areas are accessible for ALL the hotel guests,but hey,who wouldn't feel uncomfortable in the bar area surrounded by wedding guests,plus Wedding Cake,champagne for toasts etc - it was the bride and grooms day irrespective of hotel guests being "allowed" in the area ( again not many seats) we chose to take our drinks into the lounge away from the festivities,a fabulous area,we had a light bar meal,it was presented beautifully and was good value for money.we chose not to take our evening meal @ the hotel and wandered down to the Hop Pole at the end of the drive - book a Sunday lunch in advance - it is a small pub with extensive garden at the back - our meal was the usual pub fayre,reasonably priced and was hot. The staff,were keen to ensure everything was alright with the food and it appears Molly the labradoodle is a regular.We were unfortunate to miss (by some five minutes) a meal in the local Seven Stars pub - the menu looked great but bookings cease at 2pm,we were advised we could buy something at the local farm shop,which we did - and more besides! We thought this very hospitable of the lady in The Seven Stars, some of her patrons were less so, if you are a smoker please do not smoke at the entrance/exit as of course we non smokers have to walk through your smoke,we found this very inconsiderate,there,in fairness did not appear to be a designated smoking area,but common sense should prevail.
Back to the Hotel - yes we appreciate character but feel perhaps some boards under the carpets of the third floor would be beneficial - we think we slept beneath the staff accommodation as on the dot 6 am we could hear lots of walking around/voices,we are used to getting up for work at 5.30 am, but fancied more of a half hour lie in on our break away!
Breakfasts were very nice,plentiful,pleasant staff in abundance,but the tea OMG - our advice - have coffee!
We would visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan ASAP as the rooms are hot and some windows painted shut. Enquire if wedding in situ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 56Saintsfan56

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you would certainly choose our hotel again when next visiting the area and that you found our period property charming with impressive views. Many guests comment on the area of outstanding natural beauty that we are very lucky to be located in and being only a short distance from the city of Bath find our hotel an ideal place to visit the surrounding area.

Please accept my apologies should you have encountered any inconveniences due to the wedding taking place at the hotel, the receptionist was correct in informing our guests that all public areas are just that, open to all hotel guests and visitors alike. However I do understand that on occasion hotel guests may be a little apprehensive to take advantage of the bar and lounge areas should they be occupied by wedding guests. I would just like to point out that we do offer a private residents lounge during any event taking place at the hotel which offers table service for drinks and bar meals, should you ever be visiting the area again please do contact the hotel prior to arrival and I can assure you of an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just spent a very good value night (booking.com) at this hotel. It was clean and our room was lovely and light with comfy bed and good breakfast. Staff were all cheerful and efficient. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear EssexSpud

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you would certainly recommend our Limpley Stoke Hotel and that you found our staff cheerful and efficient throughout. We strive to meet and exceed our customers expectations and it is always a pleasure to read when we have been able to make a guests stay that little more memorable and enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here on the 7th of July on a business trip. Unfortunately, there was a wedding on during my stay, which resulted in a bit of noise coming from both the front door (where the happy wedding revelers tended to segregate to smoke) and the sound system. The room was comfortable and had all the necessary facilities. It is pretty close to Bath and is decent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear claire f

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for any noise disturbance you may have encountered during your recent stay with us. We operate a strict policy regarding any noise from events at the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team.

I was however, very pleased to read that you found our hotel ideally located for your visit to Bath and that your guestroom met with your expectations. Your feedback is most welcome and will be used to ensure we continue to offer a superior experience to all our guests.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you go to Bath you have to stay here. Its really close to Bath and Bradford On Avon. Gorgeous view, beautiful hotel, silence. The publication on the web meets their standard, you get what it shows!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Andres B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Andres B

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we could meet and exceed your expectations. Your feedback is very welcome and helps us to maintain and improve our standards and services, I will be sure to share your comments with all at the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope when your next in the area that you will come and visit us again.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent one night in a twin bedded room.
The room was very clean, tissues supplied on the dressing table :-)
Bedding was crisp white.
Bathroom had a shore over the bath so did not use this.
I did not eat dinner at the hotel but was a guest at a wedding reception that was running quite late.
I was amazed at how patient and swift the staff were at getting the food out.
It was hot and very tasty too.
Staff were always polite and helpful.
Booking in and out was a breeze.
Buffet breakfast was plentiful and many staff on hand to help if required.
4* for the hotel as I am not keen on buffet breakfast, beans hardly warm.
I enjoyed this quirky hotel.
Would indeed stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear coolmint

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was extremely pleased to read that you found our hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout and that you enjoyed your experience whilst attending a wedding celebration being held here at the hotel.

Your feedback is very important and helps maintain and improve our standards and services for all our guests to enjoy and your comments will ensure we continue to offer a superior experience.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back once again. Should you ever require accommodation in the area at a future point please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist you or answer any questions you may have. Once again thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Limpley Stoke Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing