We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smallest hotel room we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Selsey UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Smallest hotel room we have stayed in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel whilst attending a wedding the other side of Bath. The hotel is quite impressive from the outside and the bar, restaurant and lounge areas were very comfortable.
There is a very old pub at the end of the entrance drive which is owned by the hotel and you can charge drinks and food to your room account, food in the pub was very good.
The main downside of this hotel was the size of our room which was small to say the least, every time we moved we hit our legs on the bed, the bathroom was also very small and didn't have a shower apart from a hand held one which I suppose you could use while sitting in the bath. The whole room could do with some re-decorating. I turned the radiator off on arrival and had to open the window as wide as it would go to try and cool the room down, it was still as hot when we left 2 days later, this is in January when it was freezing outside. Others in our group on different floors were complaining their rooms were freezing and they were given Dimplex heaters to warm them up so it is a bit hit and miss whether you will be too hot or too cold.
Our room ( No 64) was in the roof, they have a lift that will take you up 2 floors but from then on it is a climb up several flights of stairs with a suitcase, not very easy.
Buffet breakfast was quite good and the staff attentive, we didn't have to wait at all for coffee or tea.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Extremely small room and bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bondyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    412
    254
    95
    60
See reviews for
185
525
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

The Views are wonderful I must admit & the look of the hotel looks splendid, inside you do realize its a 3* star hotel ! but nice staff & a very quite location which was perfect !
Make sure you got the Sat Nav as this place is hard to find !

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Trying to find it !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

O.K. it does need a bit of a makeover, but overall we enjoyed our stay.The room was clean & an ample size.
The food was excellent, we were with a coach party & there was not a single person who had a bad word for it.
The only real critisism was ( someone has already pointed out) was the price of drinks in the bar, to us from the North West they were scandalous, so down to The Hop Pole at the bottom of a very steep drive.

  • Liked — The choice of food & the quality
  • Disliked — Price of drinks
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohncBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

I stayed in the Best Western on a Saturday night, on a cheap deal, and I certainly found you get what you pay for. The decor in the reception and in the rooms is tired and in need of replacement. The hotel seems to think that by putting a flat screen TV in the rooms that this will make up for the other shortcomings of the room - they are sadly mistaken: The rooms are all small (i saw several that my group of friends were staying in - all tiny) the bed was uncomfortable, and the bathroom was shabby.

Worryingly, there were several buckets in the bar area catching water which was dripping from the ceiling. Perhaps the worst experience was breakfast - although the food was passable the staff we disinterested and we had to ask 3 times for a pot of tea which eventually arrived 20 minutes later - without milk or cups.

Checkout was frustrating - a v small recepton desk with only one member of staff dealing with checkouts at peak time.

Overall, this hotel needs to seriously upgrade it's room facilities and instill some sense of basic skills in it's demotivated staff. Disappointing

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We were attending a wedding at this hotel on the weekend, but as we were travelling with a baby, we thought we had better check in the night before to ensure we were settled and could get ready for the wedding on time...what a mistake!!!

We checked in on the Friday night and there was already another wedding in full swing, which to be fair we couldn't hear at all from our room. When I booked the room months before, I had mentioned on the booking form that we had a baby and needed a room with enough floor space to set up a travel cot. This was clearly lost somewhere in translation, as what we got was a shocker of a room with scarcely enough space to manouvre around the bed...

Our room was in horrendous condition, hot and sweaty, and the windows were set so low in the wall that there was a rather serious risk of our 1 year old being able to climb out when we opened it. The toilet was something out of a bad movie, with a chipboard bath surround painted sloppily and wallpaper peeling off every inch of the walls. There was exposed wiring and the pipes were visible and caked in all sorts of detritus - certainly none of this had been cleaned seemingly in the last decade.

The bed was by far the worst part of the room. The mattress could scarcely still be called a mattress, as it was at LEAST 50 years old, and every spring jutted into every orifice. I ended up abandoning the bed to sleep on the floor, where something started biting me...not nice! My husband actually sized up the bathtub and considered sleeping in there rather than on that torture rack of a bed.

After one of the worst nights that any of us had ever had, we decided that rather than stay the next night in this horrendous excuse for a hotel, we would rather not drink at all and drive the 2 hours home in the middle of the night after the wedding, which was far preferable. Fortunately, the next morning we went down and spoke to the girl on reception, who didn't look even vaguely shocked that we had slept on the floor rather than the horrible bed. She happily gave us a family room on the same floor, and it was like being in another hotel entirely! The room we were given was clean, had been redecorated and the beds were passable. The windows were even at normal height so we were able to keep them open without fear of mortal danger to the toddler.

I wouldn't stay there again, but I would advise anyone that has to to ensure they check the room before accepting it - this can be tricky as with so many weddings, they were booked up the weekend we were there. I would certainly advise against taking children or babies - even with the good room, the place is massively unfriendly for children, having dodgy lifts and stairs absoultely everywhere. We managed to get high chairs for meals but only after very long waits, and my husband ended up finding them himself a few times before the staff could track one down.

  • Liked — The location was stunning
  • Disliked — The beds were the worst I've ever slept in, ever!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamTravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfw, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

This hotel is in a very beautiful loct\ation with lush trees and such but nowhere close to town. There isa bus you can take if you walk down the hill closer to the high way. Bus fares are 3.50 (pounds) one way or 5 for roundtrip/return per day.

Breakfast was excellent and service good. A lot of UK travelers stayed there who drove. Do not buy drinks from the bar- too expensive. Although they did say there are not vending machines, there are if you look really hard.

  • Liked — the price and the breakfast
  • Disliked — not close to tow
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txbeachgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

We've just got back from a fantastic weekend at the Limpley Stoke hotel. We stayed for three nights for my sister's wedding and really enjoyed every minute of it. The wedding coordinator provided excellent service and support leading up to the wedding and on the wedding day itself, the operations staff could not be faulted. Their service was slick and professional and the day was perfect. Our room was clean and comfortable, room service was good, and the reception and restaurant staff were great too. Really good value all round (accommodation, wedding and food). Would definitely recommend for a short break or for a wedding. One tip: have bar food in the restaurant. It's cheap, you get loads of lovely food and it's beautifully presented!

  • Liked — The good service and value for money.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
3.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing