We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay that topped my surprise engagement to my girlfriend”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #24 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic stay that topped my surprise engagement to my girlfriend”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at Bailbrook was fantastic. Upon arrival we were given a tour golf the hotel and where to find everything. We were shown to our room which was a fantastic four poster looking out over the garden. The sink was in an odd place however the explanation that the building is listed made perfect sense and was understandable. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. All questions were answered that we had and plenty of information was provided. We were shown where we could catch a bus and which one to go into Bath but the weather was so nice we walked. Which brought back memories growing up at Bailbrook when visiting relatives. The breakfast in the morning was great and to order, a perfect start to the day. Again all staff went out of their way to help. I highly recommend people to stay here and enjoy the charm of the place. Even in the nice summer evenings sitting in the garden. My other half travels a lot in her job staying at 5 star hotels all over the world provided by her work. She said this was one of the best places she has stayed and was up there with the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPaul87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    163
    60
    27
    17
See reviews for
74
398
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Bailbrook lodge with 2 of our grown up children. We had a four poster bed, the girls a separate room, with 2 single beds. There were tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities, plenty of biscuits, and even chocolates on our beds. It was all beautiful, our room was downstairs, with a huge window opening to the manicured lawns and gardens. Lucky for us we had great weather, and were ale to leave windows open to enjoy the breeze.
Beds were very comfortable, bathroom was off the girls bedroom, but was very clean, supply of soap, hair products and body lotion, and sewing kits. No shower caps, but we had bought our own, anyway.
Breakfast was wonderful! Full English breakfast was served, or you could have an order of anything else on their menu. It was bought to our table very quickly, buy a lovely cheerful lady. Checkout was also done very quickly and efficiently, and brief history of the lodge was given. We were also oven advice about Bath, where to park etc.
We all enjoyed our brief stay, would have loved to stay longer - maybe next time! Thanks to the staff, Bailbrook Lodge helped us enjoy our time together.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmel2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After travelling all morning and spending the afternoon visiting the roman bath's we arrived at Bailbrook Lodge only to be told that even though they had our reservation for two rooms only one was available. In this day and age these type of errors are just not acceptable. Our reservation had been received, our deposit taken but sorry no room. Oh but our " sister hotel " has two rooms available perhaps you would like to stay there instead, and by the way even though you wanted on site parking they have none available but there is a public car park 600 metres away. Well guess what if I wanted to stay there I would have booked that instead and you can jam your hotel up your a#!*e. We did get our deposit back minus international transaction fees, thanks.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook_Lodge, General Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I cannot apologise enough for our error. This was no fault of the online booking system but a totally human error where only one room was reserved for you instead of two rooms.

Our sister hotel was offered to you at the same rate which you declined. The Royal has limited parking facilities, however the car park we directed you to is only 200 metres from the Royal.

Bailbrook Lodge is one of very few accomadation providers in Bath that offers free car parking, others charge on average £12 per day.

We will ensure that every procedure is followed to the letter to ensure that this doesn't happen again,

Once again my sincere apologies,

Regards,

Justine Lewis, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having planned a lovely 2 night 30th birthday celebration at this hotel booked in july attempted check in at 12.00 was understandably told too early to check in by male reception. Headed into bath and enjoyed a lovely walk round the sights and evening meal before heading back to hotel at 9pm.

At this point we were told they had no record of our booking but luckily had a room free for tonight no mention of this at 12.00. Very helpful female receptionist looked at our email booking confirmation and realised they had made a mistake. We stayed one night the room was comfortable, little outdated, very soft bed. Not great night sleep as realised we may have to go home early as they could not fit us in for 2nd night. Reception had promised to find us an alternative hotel by the morning.

Reception were helpful next morning but best option they could recommend was a £130 a night 2 star hotel with terrible reviews the other side of bath. As we booked Bailbrook lodge for a special occasion due to the 4 star rating and good reviews this was not a great alternative. Being put in this situation on the day of trying to find a hotel in August on a Saturday was ridiculous!

We ended up in a lovely hotel we found ourselves that was a realistic 4 star alternative next door but were left having to pay a £220 premium for 1 night as we booked on the day! Very luckily Bailbrook lodge did not charge us for the 1 night stay or we would have been going home!

I would not say don't stay here but not sure worth the £160 per night for our upgraded room they stated on the invoice. I think there outdated half online and half on paper booking system is likely to fail again so definitely phone to confirm booking!

Breakfast I think was ok but not very relaxing whilst trying to find a hotel ourself on a smart phone!

Room Tip: Check they have booked you a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTravis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook_Lodge, General Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am truly sorry that we made a mistake with your booking. Our booking system is very efficient and we very rarely suffer these problems.

Bailbrook House where you ended up staying is much more expensive than rooms here at Bailbrook Lodge, however not having charged you for the night that you stayed with us, we ensured that you were not "out of pocket" financially.

Bailbrook Lodge dates back to 1823 and the hotel has been refurbished with the expertise of an interior designer to a style in keeping with that period.

I am pleased that Jackie eventually found you a hotel that you felt satisfied with. Bath is always extremely busy at weekends.

Yours sincerely,

Justine Lewis
Manager
Bailbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have just returned from a short break in Bath, where we stayed at Bailbrook Lodge. The welcome we received when we arrived was very professional, being shown all the useful things that you need to know on arrival at any hotel. Our room was nice but small and at the back of the hotel, over looking the car park! Whilst this was not a problem, the 44 steps to the room were, suffering from knee trouble and still being a little overweight, I found the climb to our room exhausting, BUT this was not the hotels fault that we were put there, I should have mentioned my knees and back when booking!! There was an excellent choice for breakfast, both full English and Continental, our first breakfast was a little chaotic as there are not enough tables for two and everyone had arrived at the same time, we learnt though, get there before 9am!! Following days were great!!
The hotel may be outside the centre of Bath, but there is good bus service into the city centre, with bus stops only a short walk away, as there was a car park on site, we parked the car on our arrival and didn't use it again until we went home!
We would like to thank Edward for carrying our cases up four flights of stairs and for the advice re; getting the boat into Bath, Justine for the advice re; bus stops etc. Patrick the owner, with whom we had an in depth discussion on the correct way to eat a scone, jam or cream first, he agreed with us, jam then cream. Michelle the waitress who helped us that first morning and finally and by no means least, the lovely Jacqui who served us our cream tea and made our stay at Bailbrook an absolute pleasure. We will return!!

Room Tip: If you have bad knees or back problems, make sure you book a room on the ground or first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Easy access into Bath. Staff very welcoming.. Room delightful though a tad small... Breakfast superb...Everything you need in the room...Only downside for us was the slipper bath which for me was a little difficult to get in and out of but that was just me not the bath. Would have liked an alternative of a shower as well/a;so. Would stay again..

Room Tip: Ask for a shower if you are having difficulty getting in and out of a bath...There are also quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Thoroughly recommended for a short stay near Bath. Very Friendly and helpful staff, and a fantastic location (easy to find, and ideal for Bath as well as the many nearby sites and attractions). The building has a good mix of period character and modern convenience, and is kept very clean. Our room had a wonderful balcony view, a large comfortable double bed, and the en-suite bathroom was excellent and well equipped with a slipper bath. The breakfasts are also very good! We will be visiting again...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryCrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
228 reviews
3.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing