We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at breakfast poor”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #27 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yateley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service at breakfast poor”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice hotel but really a B&B no restaurant & a limited bar, room was clean but a bit tired a little way out from the city but we knew that so it's a bus or taxi ride, to far to walk. The only thing that spoiled our stay was breakfast hit & miss if you get toast or not, even when asked for, service slow tables not cleared very quickly so people often had to wait to be seated .

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floody10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook_Lodge, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review of Bailbrook Lodge.

We are quality guest accomadation not a hotel. We offer a wide range of drinks from the bar to 10pm each night.

At breakfast we serve your tea/coffee and toast when we take your order. Breakfast on occasion can become very busy and I apologise that you had to wait longer than you should for your second order of toast.

We clear tables as quickly as possible and relay them with fresh tablecloths and provisions for the next guest. It it only on rare occasions that a guest may have to wait whilst we are doing this. We would not want a guest to sit at a table that was not freshly prepared.

Regards,

Justine Lewis
Manager
Bailbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    164
    60
    27
    17
See reviews for
75
400
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Bailbrook in a 4 poster room overlookung lovely garden. Room had all necessary expected amenities, including an in-room safe, ipod dock, dressing gowns & slippers.
But, no in room telephone which seemed odd.

Lovely old property full of character. Breakfasts were lovely and included champagne.

Only real downside, was fact because it is an old house, no lifts and so stairs only.

Ideal location if you brought your car. Free on site parking and conveniently situated to get inti Bath City and surrounding Cotswolds villages of Lacock and Castle Comb.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.Very clean hotel the rooms were comfortable.Breakfast excellent and spoilt for choice.!! There was ample parking.All the staff were helpful and very pleasant.The location was about a 30 min walk into Bath itself, but did notice several buses pass by.Would consider returning here again and would recommend to others to try it.The only thing I would say is the decor needs a little tidy up in the rooms however it is a very old building and lovely character.!We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor facing back, nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at Bailbrook was fantastic. Upon arrival we were given a tour golf the hotel and where to find everything. We were shown to our room which was a fantastic four poster looking out over the garden. The sink was in an odd place however the explanation that the building is listed made perfect sense and was understandable. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. All questions were answered that we had and plenty of information was provided. We were shown where we could catch a bus and which one to go into Bath but the weather was so nice we walked. Which brought back memories growing up at Bailbrook when visiting relatives. The breakfast in the morning was great and to order, a perfect start to the day. Again all staff went out of their way to help. I highly recommend people to stay here and enjoy the charm of the place. Even in the nice summer evenings sitting in the garden. My other half travels a lot in her job staying at 5 star hotels all over the world provided by her work. She said this was one of the best places she has stayed and was up there with the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPaul87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Bailbrook lodge with 2 of our grown up children. We had a four poster bed, the girls a separate room, with 2 single beds. There were tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities, plenty of biscuits, and even chocolates on our beds. It was all beautiful, our room was downstairs, with a huge window opening to the manicured lawns and gardens. Lucky for us we had great weather, and were ale to leave windows open to enjoy the breeze.
Beds were very comfortable, bathroom was off the girls bedroom, but was very clean, supply of soap, hair products and body lotion, and sewing kits. No shower caps, but we had bought our own, anyway.
Breakfast was wonderful! Full English breakfast was served, or you could have an order of anything else on their menu. It was bought to our table very quickly, buy a lovely cheerful lady. Checkout was also done very quickly and efficiently, and brief history of the lodge was given. We were also oven advice about Bath, where to park etc.
We all enjoyed our brief stay, would have loved to stay longer - maybe next time! Thanks to the staff, Bailbrook Lodge helped us enjoy our time together.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmel2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After travelling all morning and spending the afternoon visiting the roman bath's we arrived at Bailbrook Lodge only to be told that even though they had our reservation for two rooms only one was available. In this day and age these type of errors are just not acceptable. Our reservation had been received, our deposit taken but sorry no room. Oh but our " sister hotel " has two rooms available perhaps you would like to stay there instead, and by the way even though you wanted on site parking they have none available but there is a public car park 600 metres away. Well guess what if I wanted to stay there I would have booked that instead and you can jam your hotel up your a#!*e. We did get our deposit back minus international transaction fees, thanks.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook_Lodge, General Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I cannot apologise enough for our error. This was no fault of the online booking system but a totally human error where only one room was reserved for you instead of two rooms.

Our sister hotel was offered to you at the same rate which you declined. The Royal has limited parking facilities, however the car park we directed you to is only 200 metres from the Royal.

Bailbrook Lodge is one of very few accomadation providers in Bath that offers free car parking, others charge on average £12 per day.

We will ensure that every procedure is followed to the letter to ensure that this doesn't happen again,

Once again my sincere apologies,

Regards,

Justine Lewis, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having planned a lovely 2 night 30th birthday celebration at this hotel booked in july attempted check in at 12.00 was understandably told too early to check in by male reception. Headed into bath and enjoyed a lovely walk round the sights and evening meal before heading back to hotel at 9pm.

At this point we were told they had no record of our booking but luckily had a room free for tonight no mention of this at 12.00. Very helpful female receptionist looked at our email booking confirmation and realised they had made a mistake. We stayed one night the room was comfortable, little outdated, very soft bed. Not great night sleep as realised we may have to go home early as they could not fit us in for 2nd night. Reception had promised to find us an alternative hotel by the morning.

Reception were helpful next morning but best option they could recommend was a £130 a night 2 star hotel with terrible reviews the other side of bath. As we booked Bailbrook lodge for a special occasion due to the 4 star rating and good reviews this was not a great alternative. Being put in this situation on the day of trying to find a hotel in August on a Saturday was ridiculous!

We ended up in a lovely hotel we found ourselves that was a realistic 4 star alternative next door but were left having to pay a £220 premium for 1 night as we booked on the day! Very luckily Bailbrook lodge did not charge us for the 1 night stay or we would have been going home!

I would not say don't stay here but not sure worth the £160 per night for our upgraded room they stated on the invoice. I think there outdated half online and half on paper booking system is likely to fail again so definitely phone to confirm booking!

Breakfast I think was ok but not very relaxing whilst trying to find a hotel ourself on a smart phone!

Room Tip: Check they have booked you a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTravis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook_Lodge, General Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am truly sorry that we made a mistake with your booking. Our booking system is very efficient and we very rarely suffer these problems.

Bailbrook House where you ended up staying is much more expensive than rooms here at Bailbrook Lodge, however not having charged you for the night that you stayed with us, we ensured that you were not "out of pocket" financially.

Bailbrook Lodge dates back to 1823 and the hotel has been refurbished with the expertise of an interior designer to a style in keeping with that period.

I am pleased that Jackie eventually found you a hotel that you felt satisfied with. Bath is always extremely busy at weekends.

Yours sincerely,

Justine Lewis
Manager
Bailbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#14 of 30 in Bath
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 158 in Bath
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 158 in Bath
230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing