We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
408
194
66
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
194
66
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel four poster champagne breakfast travelzoo deal slipper bath wet room on arrival afternoon tea number bus bus stop kippers ground coffee beau nash poster room city centre garden suite cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great location , with lovely breakfast and friendly staff.
However, decor especially in our room was tired and dated, despite staying in September the room was cold.
The over bath shower was so awarkwadly placed that it was a real trip hazard if you took a shower.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrienne882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and kind compliments regarding the quality of our award winning breakfast and friendly staff.

I am sorry that you felt the decor was not to your liking. As you are aware Bailbrook Lodge is a Grade II listed building, built in 1811 and rooms are decorated to be in keeping with a building of this age and style. That said we appreciate that choice of decor is very much an individual preference.

With regards to the room being cold at this time of year the heating is timed to be on for periods during the day between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. and normally the level of heating is ideal for our customers and I regret that this was not the case on this occasion. Obviously as the weather gets colder this timetable is adjusted accordingly so that our guests are comfortable at all times.

Turning to the shower I am not sure what you are saying the problem was as the shower fitting sits on a holder above the taps or can be hung from a bracket on the wall.

Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Room smelt heavily of damp and bathroom had an extremely low ceiling so we had to crouch when using. Unfortunately we couldn’t use the shower because as per the sign in the toilet it said to expect limited hot water (or in our case no water at all) at peak times which meant we ended up showering at the Therme spa instead!

Hotel very far from the city centre so had to get Uber’s into town which is not what we expected - would recommend going somewhere closer to town.

The hotel got a reward for their breakfast in 2018, not quite sure how this happened don’t expect anything special.

Overall, I would not recommend.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank willgreenland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

Can I firstly say I am surprised to read your comments as according to our manager, who spoke to you on departure, you told her you had a wonderful time and was looking forward to returning again.

Having personally checked this room on receiving your review I can find no damp smell but what you may have assumed was that sort of smell may have been the lemon air freshener which is applied to all rooms once they are cleaned and ready for guests, however, that said this in no way represents a smell of dampness.

Turning to the issue of hot water, with respect the note you refer to you is placed above the sink and not in the shower and it reads “from time to time you may have to run the water until it reaches the required temperature” therefore this does not imply, as you suggest, “limited hot water”. We have not received any other complaints of this nature from other guests who have stayed in this room.

Ron Zanre
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Hotel set in lovely gardens , approx 2 miles from centre of Bath , lovely cosy rooms with old fashioned Georgian features ours had slipper bath which was a nice surprise ,, hot and cold breakfast choices were excellent with help yourself champagne which was a nice gesture , the sister hotel the Royal in Bath has its own restaurant called Brunel Brassiere and offers a great fine dining experience and If you book from reception at Bailbrook Lodge you get 20% off the bill so well worth a visit . A lovely stay ! With warm and friendly staff

Room Tip: We were on the top floor overlooking the garden ,, did not hear any noise from other rooms ,
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lisaandtony2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The 'Bailbrook Lodge' really is likened to a location used in period drama's. A listed building, full of character and holding onto that same character despite covering many years and live in hosts. This house is cleverly now hosting many guests who aspire to this unique setting. It's situated on the outskirts of Bath city, a short 10min bus/car journey or 30 leisurely walk. Very secluded, quiet, full of character, attention to detail, great breakfast, all rooms on-suite, exceptionally clean and staff attentive and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms accessible, quiet and excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56BrianC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We enjoyed our stay at Bailbrook Lodge. I was slightly disappointed with our room, which was small and the sink was in the room rather than the en-suite. The room needed a lick of paint, and the decor would not be to everyone's tastes. However it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the manager and deputy manager. The location is ideal for getting into Bath by bus, with a bus stop within 5 minutes walk.

Breakfast was good if not exceptional, and overall we were happy with our stay, particularly bearing in mind we took an offer with included meals at the sister hotel, the Royal Hotel in Bath. This is a very nice place to eat and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJ101A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Bailbrook Lodge.

As you will be aware Bailbrook is a Grade II listed building built in 1811 and therefore any structural changes are very difficult to effect which means in some of the rooms there is a sink in the room as opposed to in the bath/shower room. However we do have a variety of rooms ranging from 5 four poster bedrooms with walk in wet rooms (the only hotel/B&B in Bath with so many four poster rooms). The other rooms offer a mix of shower only, bath and shower and rooms with a slipper bath and we always ask guests when taking bookings direct (as opposed to via a booking agency) what particular type of bathroom they would like.

I am surprised you felt that the room needed repainting as it has recently been redecorated and of course, as you say, decor preference is very much down to individual taste.

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the housekeeping and friendly helpful management team.

I am delighted that you found our breakfast to be exceptional and thank you for your kind compliments and for alerting us to our misunderstanding.

I was also pleased to note that you enjoyed your lunch at Brasserie Brunel at The Royal Hotel in Bath so much so that you are recommending it to others, for which we are grateful.

We look for seeing you again.


Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews