We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just returned from a 4 day self-drive to this Shearings Coast & Country Hotel. We did have one issue in the room but this was attended to very swiftly and efficiently. As with lots of Shearings hotels this one is the subject of refurbishment so I'm sure rooms will be much smarter in the near future. That said, the staff couldn't have been more friendly, efficient and courteous. Everyhere looked cosy and Christmassy, the food was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful city of Bath. Thanks to all for a lovely break :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Deriel
Thanks for a great review I am really glad you enjoyed your break with us. We have great staff here at the Lansdown who are more than happy to help all our guests have an enjoyable stay.As you said the company is investing in our hotels.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    309
    119
    36
    17
See reviews for
84
419
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

It has been 30 years since we visited this hotel and did expect changes, however paying for less was not what I expected. I upgraded our room to an 'Ambassador' room and that was a fundemental error. On arrival in the afternoon there was no heating in the room or bathroom and the bathroom towel radiator was not working either. I reported this to the duty manager and he said he would put it in 'his book' for the maintenance men. The television gave up during the night which I reported to reception. None of these problems were rectified during the day. Speaking to the duty manager he said that the heating only came on during 18:30 to 06:30. I asked to be moved to another room but he said the were no other rooms available. He offered a portable electric heater to put in the room / bathroom but there was one already in the wardrobe, I expect this was left there to placate other guests. He changed the television after indignantly saying it was not in 'his book' but would get one from 'another room'. He also said he had adjusted the heating timing and everything should be ok. The bathroom underfloor heating came on about 4 hours later but nothing else. Other guests in the same hotel area near us said they had no heating but others said they could not control the excessive heating and had to put a shoe in the doorway to cool the room down. Due to the inherent layout of this hotel there are a lot of stairs to negotiate if you are on the upper floors even with a lift. Overall the staff (except the duty manager) were very good and the food ok.

Room Tip: Based on my recent experience I would CHOOSE A ROOM IN ANOTHER HOTEL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nautique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Nautique

Sorry to hear about the issue in your room with the underfloor heating this has now been rectified.
Thanks for the nice comment about our staff I will pass this on to all concerned.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Yes, it does need a bit of t l c - but we had a really good stay.Our room 207 was small and overlooked the side road-but was very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms that overlooked the town were probably given to full paying residents and coach trips.The hotel was full - so there was a problem parking our car in their 3 small car parks.We were told to block someone in and would be informed if we needed to move our car. A bonus was the park and ride into & out of Bath 1 minute from the hotel door.Free if you have a bus pass.Great as parking is so expensive in Bath - if you can find one!
The staff were excellent-friendly,smiling,helpful.
We stayed B & B. The breakfast was wonderful.Great choice and served by smart,smiling waiters.We would definately book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Jean maggie

Thanks for posting your lovely comments , I have passed them on to all staff concerned hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Recently travelled with Shearings on a 5 day break to Bath to the Lansdown Grove Hotel. Was really impressed with Shearings organisation, how smoothly it went. Really lucky with our driver Phil who went out of his way to make our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is situated about 20 minute walk from the centre of town up a very steep hill. But there are bus stops outside and taxis only £4. The hotel gave excellent service, staff are so helpful and friendly. Food is excellent, plenty of choice. The evening entertainment was particularly good, and an all inclusive package made it very economical. The Christmas Market in the centre of town is really impressive especially after dark. All in all a very good trip, well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HoptonLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear HoptonLassie

We appreciate all the good comments you posted online. I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff and to Phil the coach driver who is over the moon with his first ever comment on trip advisor.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just had three days at The Lansdown Grove Hotel. We had a really comfortable large room.Could do with a lick of paint, but guess it has to get a bit tatty at some point before face lift. Think there was a bit of decorating going on somewhere. A big hotel so would take some time to do it all!!! The restaurant was very nice, the waiter service was excellent,couldn't fault it at all. The waiters were worth what ever they they are being paid and more probably. The food was excellent and always hot and fast. The barman was very pleasant with a joke here and there. All in all my sister and I had a very pleasant few days.

Room Tip: We were on third floor with bit of a trek up and down steps after lift. If you don't want the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelaghstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Shelaghstrom

Thanks for a great review. I have passed on all your comments to all the staff concerned who say it makes their job worthwile when our guests enjoy their stay with us at the Lansdown.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a very enjoyable four day midweek break here in October. The staff were friendly and helpfull and made us really welcome. We "upgraded" and had a clean and comfortable good sized room with a super view over the city. Our meals were well cooked and efficiently served and while the choice is a little limited we had no trouble finding plenty to satisfy us.
It was our first stay in Bath and we found it a fascinating city with lots to do. The Roman Baths, Assembly Rooms et al are all well known but don't miss the cracking Holburne Museum.
We will be returning, both to the city and the Lansdown Grove.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john_ashton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear john_ashton1
Thanks for posting a lovely review.I have passed your comments on to all the staff ,who get a buzz to see such great comments online. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lansdown in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Good value for excellent service and food. Rooms clean and comfortable. We had quite a long walk to get to ours but compensation was a nice view over half of the town. We got there at lunch time and managed to park but later arrivals had a few problems as there appeared to be no coach party.Staff sorted this by holding the car keys of some cars that had to block others in. No-one seemed to have a problem with this. We never moved once parked but walked down the steep hill to town - 10 minutes and walked back up stopping at attractions on the way. Roman Baths were brilliant and took a good 2 hours with audio guide. Visit '1 The Crescent' and pay for 'The Building of Bath Museum' at the same time as its cheaper this way and The Building of Bath Museum is fascinating - you must watch the video - and its on the way back up the hill. Had a really good couple of days and we walked back up the hill both times even though we could have used our bus passes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Billmall
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lansdown.Here at the hotel we have up to 40 free car parking spaces. Bath is a great city with lots on offer like the Roman Baths that you mention above but Bath also has some great art galleries,museums and some fantastic shopping.
Hope you will make a return visit to Bath soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing