We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Coach Holiday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Recently stayed here for weekend and what a great weekend, Lovely Views overlooking Bath.
Hotel nicely furnished rooms fine. The food is excellent in this hotel. Also excellent for getting into town cwntre as bus stop outside hotel.
Would stay there again.Well done Shearings for good value short break

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frannyb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Frannyb4
Thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review.Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane Milliken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel during December. We were extremely pleased that it was within walking distance and on a bus route to Bath CityCentre. The Christmas Markets were stunning and we attended a lovely Carol Service in the Abbey. The only problem encountered was the car parking which was limited at the hotel with road parking with time zones.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Lyn0607
Thanks for the lovely comment you have posted.
Next Year's Christmas Market in Bath will be held between Thursday 22nd November 2012 and Sunday 9th December 2012 (to be confirmed).You can pick up some great presents and it gets everyone in a festive mood! As to the car park we can usually fit in all our guests cars,normally a lot of the guests park their car here and dont move it till its time to go home.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked last minute direct with the hotel. The room was good value and the staff were excellent. Well woth the nights stay. Decor tired though.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony.Use the stairs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Nick W
Thanks for your review I am glad you thought your short stay was value for money.
Hope you will come back soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have recently stayed in this pleasant and comfortable hotel .The room was clean, spacious with an ensuite bath and shower where laundry was changed regularly and drinks supplies replenished every day.
The food was of an exceptionally high standard considering I was with a tour company where costs have to be as low as possible.The menu choice was more than adequate.
The staff were pleasant , helpful and went that extra mile.
The hotel is sitated on a steep hill but this is overcome by a regular bus service with bus stops outside and of course you could book a taxi.
One area of concern though.Keep a tally of your bar account yourself.Drinks were charged to accounts incorrectly or overcharged as became evident on the day of departure.These mistakes were rectified however by mutual agreement.
I would stay at this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Christine W
Thank you for a great review, its brillant when we receive such positive comments which give all our staff including myself a pat on the back.I have taken steps to ensure all bar accounts are correct.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lansdown in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just returned from a 4 day self-drive to this Shearings Coast & Country Hotel. We did have one issue in the room but this was attended to very swiftly and efficiently. As with lots of Shearings hotels this one is the subject of refurbishment so I'm sure rooms will be much smarter in the near future. That said, the staff couldn't have been more friendly, efficient and courteous. Everyhere looked cosy and Christmassy, the food was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful city of Bath. Thanks to all for a lovely break :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Deriel
Thanks for a great review I am really glad you enjoyed your break with us. We have great staff here at the Lansdown who are more than happy to help all our guests have an enjoyable stay.As you said the company is investing in our hotels.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

It has been 30 years since we visited this hotel and did expect changes, however paying for less was not what I expected. I upgraded our room to an 'Ambassador' room and that was a fundemental error. On arrival in the afternoon there was no heating in the room or bathroom and the bathroom towel radiator was not working either. I reported this to the duty manager and he said he would put it in 'his book' for the maintenance men. The television gave up during the night which I reported to reception. None of these problems were rectified during the day. Speaking to the duty manager he said that the heating only came on during 18:30 to 06:30. I asked to be moved to another room but he said the were no other rooms available. He offered a portable electric heater to put in the room / bathroom but there was one already in the wardrobe, I expect this was left there to placate other guests. He changed the television after indignantly saying it was not in 'his book' but would get one from 'another room'. He also said he had adjusted the heating timing and everything should be ok. The bathroom underfloor heating came on about 4 hours later but nothing else. Other guests in the same hotel area near us said they had no heating but others said they could not control the excessive heating and had to put a shoe in the doorway to cool the room down. Due to the inherent layout of this hotel there are a lot of stairs to negotiate if you are on the upper floors even with a lift. Overall the staff (except the duty manager) were very good and the food ok.

Room Tip: Based on my recent experience I would CHOOSE A ROOM IN ANOTHER HOTEL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nautique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Nautique

Sorry to hear about the issue in your room with the underfloor heating this has now been rectified.
Thanks for the nice comment about our staff I will pass this on to all concerned.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Yes, it does need a bit of t l c - but we had a really good stay.Our room 207 was small and overlooked the side road-but was very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms that overlooked the town were probably given to full paying residents and coach trips.The hotel was full - so there was a problem parking our car in their 3 small car parks.We were told to block someone in and would be informed if we needed to move our car. A bonus was the park and ride into & out of Bath 1 minute from the hotel door.Free if you have a bus pass.Great as parking is so expensive in Bath - if you can find one!
The staff were excellent-friendly,smiling,helpful.
We stayed B & B. The breakfast was wonderful.Great choice and served by smart,smiling waiters.We would definately book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Jean maggie

Thanks for posting your lovely comments , I have passed them on to all staff concerned hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £57 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing