We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$342
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$250
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$622
US$499
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
222
335
139
42
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
335
139
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillambassador roomshearings hotelshalf boardcoast countryshearings holidaybus passeslovely old hotelfront facingbus servicecity centreunderfloor heatingnumber busnight porterrestaurant staffper daycar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Recently stayed here for weekend and what a great weekend, Lovely Views overlooking Bath.
Hotel nicely furnished rooms fine. The food is excellent in this hotel. Also excellent for getting into town cwntre as bus stop outside hotel.
Would stay there again.Well done Shearings for good value short break

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frannyb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Frannyb4
Thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review.Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane Milliken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel during December. We were extremely pleased that it was within walking distance and on a bus route to Bath CityCentre. The Christmas Markets were stunning and we attended a lovely Carol Service in the Abbey. The only problem encountered was the car parking which was limited at the hotel with road parking with time zones.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Lyn0607
Thanks for the lovely comment you have posted.
Next Year's Christmas Market in Bath will be held between Thursday 22nd November 2012 and Sunday 9th December 2012 (to be confirmed).You can pick up some great presents and it gets everyone in a festive mood! As to the car park we can usually fit in all our guests cars,normally a lot of the guests park their car here and dont move it till its time to go home.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked last minute direct with the hotel. The room was good value and the staff were excellent. Well woth the nights stay. Decor tired though.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony.Use the stairs if possible
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Nick W
Thanks for your review I am glad you thought your short stay was value for money.
Hope you will come back soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have recently stayed in this pleasant and comfortable hotel .The room was clean, spacious with an ensuite bath and shower where laundry was changed regularly and drinks supplies replenished every day.
The food was of an exceptionally high standard considering I was with a tour company where costs have to be as low as possible.The menu choice was more than adequate.
The staff were pleasant , helpful and went that extra mile.
The hotel is sitated on a steep hill but this is overcome by a regular bus service with bus stops outside and of course you could book a taxi.
One area of concern though.Keep a tally of your bar account yourself.Drinks were charged to accounts incorrectly or overcharged as became evident on the day of departure.These mistakes were rectified however by mutual agreement.
I would stay at this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Christine W
Thank you for a great review, its brillant when we receive such positive comments which give all our staff including myself a pat on the back.I have taken steps to ensure all bar accounts are correct.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lansdown in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just returned from a 4 day self-drive to this Shearings Coast & Country Hotel. We did have one issue in the room but this was attended to very swiftly and efficiently. As with lots of Shearings hotels this one is the subject of refurbishment so I'm sure rooms will be much smarter in the near future. That said, the staff couldn't have been more friendly, efficient and courteous. Everyhere looked cosy and Christmassy, the food was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful city of Bath. Thanks to all for a lovely break :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Deriel
Thanks for a great review I am really glad you enjoyed your break with us. We have great staff here at the Lansdown who are more than happy to help all our guests have an enjoyable stay.As you said the company is investing in our hotels.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews