We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Christmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here in December visiting Bath for its Christmas Market. Hotel is exceptional value with evening meal included in the price. You can't get a B&B in Bath for that price. My single room was the biggest and most nicely appointed I have stayed in. The public rooms are all nicely decorated with lovely fabrics, and the Christmas decorations were very elegant. Breakfast buffet was enough to set you up for the day, although they can't make scrambled eggs! Dinner was much better with plenty of choice. Hotel is on a hill but it's also on the park & ride bus route with frequent buses stopping by the hotel. You can walk down to the Circus & Royal Crescent in 10-15 mins. Booked again for January for a business trip with collegues.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzcatjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Jazzcatjan
Thanks for your lovely comments it's great to read that you have decide to return to the Lansdown.
The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a great base to see Bath and all the surronding areas.
Next time you are here why not visit the newly refurbished Holburne Museum which is free.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have recently returned from a Shearings break to the Lansdown Grove and had a fantastic time. In particular many thanks to our coach driver Phil who made our holiday by going out of his way to be helpful and informative and going the extra mile.

The Lansdown Grove is a lovely old hotel, the decor is dated but this is in keeping with the building. My only small complaint was the bath in our room which was in desperate need of being replaced, however the shower was fine. The staff were all very friendly and helpful particularly in the dining room and the food was fantastic, my mum is a very fussy eater but she found something every day that she liked. The entertainment was very good and in particular the head receptionist Frank was very entertaining and we enjoyed his quiz night immensely.

I would love to return another time and recommend this hotel/trip very highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Carole W
I have passed on your comments to Phil our coach driver and Franck our head receptionist who loves doing his Monday quiz both are well chuffed. I am glad your mum was pleased with our service in the restaurant we do our best to help all types of eaters including fussy and the not so fussy.
Hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at several Shearings hotels and this is the best so far. The food was good, and enough not to leave the table feeling hungry (The Savoy, Bournemouth). The restaurant was well set out, so we did not feel as though we were eating in a canteen (St Ives Bay); the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a lovely room on the first floor (104, over the Easter weekend); right by the road, but we did not get distrubed by the traffic. However, it was freezing cold. We reported it after the first night and were assured it would be rectified. It was not and the 2nd night was even worse. As they are still using blankets, despite previous postings that this was being changed, it was impossible to snuggle down and get warm, even in bed. On the 3rd night, a portable heater was provided, but it was such a large room, it did no more than take the chill off. The radiators were not working at all, until late(well after 18.30) on the 3rd night, a bit late for us. Although the reception staff were polite, no refund or compensation was offered. Reliable heating is the least a guest should expect from an hotel in the 21st cenury. It appears that heating is a problem for this hotel, so perhaps getting a full overhaul should be a priority. Overall, not a bad hotel and at £112 per room per night for dinner, bed and breakfast, not bad value either, but it could be so much better with a bit more care.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear TheValients
Thanks for your review it was nice to see you thought the Lansdown was the best you have visited so far. As to the heating of the hotel this isn't an area we normally have any issues. Hopefully any problems you had don’t happen again. You will be pleased to know the duvets are on their way !
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Went on a Shearings holiday, hotel absolutely fabulous, extremly helpful friendly staff, lovely delicious meals and good entertainment.
Phil our driver was very helful and informative all through the holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sandra C
Just what we like to see a happy guest. Great review
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

stayed for 4 nights...nice big hotel.good size room...tt breakfast you can have as much as you like..ie,cereal,yoghurt,fruit juices...croissants....then you order english breakfast..which is nice except for awful sausage every day..excellent unobtrusive service.
evening meals are good.didnt need to pay dear supplements they ask for.
overall..would stay again..nice bed..warm room..good staff...an identical shearing holiday..well priced so cant complain about lack of investment in decor for fhe last 30 years.............!

Room Tip: there were only ambassador rooms left,therefore cost £100 per room for 4 nights...uuuhh..apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwahfwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Fwahfwah
Thanks for your great comments we do pride ourselves on giving value for money on our breaks. The early you book the better chance you have of getting the room type you want. Hope you see again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is part of the Coast & Country chain, the hotel is at the top of a hill overlooking Bath. Only a 15 minute walk into Bath but 45 minute return due to the hill. Great exercise when you have had a cream team. Our stay was over 3 nights BB & Evening meal. We were given a family room which gave us plenty of space to spread ourselves out, the bed was large and the shower really good with plenty of power. Breakfast was very good we had the Full English and there were plenty of cereals and juices’. The evening meal was excellent with a varied choice on the set menu or for a supplement there were other choices. The meal was well presented and the service top class.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear PWaine
What a review thank you so much from all the staff including myself we love getting comments like this. We do try to do our best with what facilities we have.
Thanks again
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a 5 day self drive short break with Shearings and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, rooms, staff and food. We had room 324, which although the decor is definatley of the faded glory style, had a lovely position, with great views over the city, however I would definately agree with previous reviewers that the carpet is a trip hazard especially for those less mobile on their feet! The deal we took included evening meals, which were of a good standard, choice and portion size, and a £25.00 per person "bar" account, which was great and easy to spend! One of the best features of this hotel is the staff, who are a credit to the company, being curteous, friendly and extremely efficient, especialy Abdul in the bar. Overall, a very good value for money break and would consider using Shearings again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munrobashers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Munrobashers2

Its great to see staff names getting mentioned as it gives everyone a bit of a buzz .As I have mentioned in previous reviews we are continuing to try to improve all areas of our hotel.
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,009 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing