We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice One”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice One”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I went to the Lansdown Grove Hotel with my wife on a shearing holiday for a 5 day break, the hotel staff where very friendly and helpful the food not too bad the room we had was quite nice with a large bed and all the little extras.One tip I can give is to get a map for your room essential for rooms 318/322 ha.ha.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187053Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear 187053 Bobby
Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your great comments to all staff concerned.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    306
    119
    36
    17
See reviews for
84
416
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Booked this hotel for two nights and only stayed for the one ! Beautiful building but interior very tired and dirty in places . The corridors smelt like a nursing home , everything needed up dating ! The shower didn't work in the room , although someone tried to fix it .
Location was lovely , with lovely views over the city , bonus of having a car park but that was about all that was positive .
Whole place just looked sad , although the staff were friendly enough .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Frenchtree
Sorry to hear you didn't stay.
We are an old but beautiful building and try to upgrade where and when we can.
Our aim is to ensure all guests not only get value for money but have a lovely stay.
We are in a great location not far from the city centre and with the added bonus of a car park.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for an overnighter, to be honest we only wanted a place to stay, but this was Bath and therefore you expect. Pleasant staff, let me book in early to park the car there all day, helpful receptionist. Room was small, just about clean enough, tired decor and bathroom but all in working order. As you walk through the Hotel, it is just very apparent that it could do with a facelift, even a new paint job and a carpet clean would help. I understand that to completely re-dress the Hotel would cost hundreds of thousands, but small changes could make a huge difference and could easily change the Hotel in to a gem.
Breakfast... once again, friendly staff, nice tea and coffee, but cereals and juices looked messy and un-appetising so we opted for the full english...this was not good, scrambled eggs were of rubber, sausage was not exactly butchers choice and tomato was tasteless.
So to summerise, dont expect the ritz, but dont be too disapointed, and a good enough location, only a fiver for a taxi in to town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Chris P
I am glad you found the staff pleasant. We really do try our best. Sorry to hear about your breakfast this is unusual and I will look into it further.
You are right it is in a great location just a 10 minute walk into Bath City Centre.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I could see from other reviews that there were a whole variety of opinions about this one! Let me conclude first. Would I stay there again? Yes.

The room was spacious and pleasant with a french door opening on to a courtyard. Great for a sunny evening. Kettle tea and coffee in the room but no fridge. Location is up a hill but as mentioned by others you can walk if fit or the bus stops outside. It looks as if there is little room for parking, but that is at the front. Car park at back decent size with sensible size spaces.

Had set evening meal (extra £15 pp) which was very fair for the price in a nice dining room. Decent hot breakfast too the following morning.

General fabric of the hotel is fairly poor but it is a seriously high maintenance building. This pulls my rating down to three star average. Staff friendly and helpful though.

Only stayed one night to meet a relative from Australia who was touring Britain but rate it overall good value. Wandered round Bath next morning which was very pleasant too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Happy Hombre

I am glad to see you would stay with us again. We strive to give all our customers good value for money. One day is not enough to explore our wonderful city, why not book for a two or three night break next time and visit the newly refurbished Holburne museum or visit the Roman Baths by candlelight.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Excellent hotel - not too expensive and at the top of the Hill overlooking the city of Bath. It is a lovely old building with all the modern things you need, and only a very short taxi or bus ride [about four minutes] down into the centre of Bath where the Thermal Spa and the Roman Baths await. These are extra special and a must do if you are in town. Even if you walk down you will need the taxi or bus coming back as the hill is very steep...!!

The food is very good, bar / drink prices are not bad either, but the real bonus is the staff at the Lansdown Hotel - they really make the place. Helpful, friendly, very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Note: Book a Parking Space if you are going by car - there are limited spaces available and this is also a must do.

Room Tip: Book a Front Facing Room for the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony_Mangnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Anthony Mangnall

What a cracking review ,thank you so much for taking the time to post it.
The staff and myself love these reviews as it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Hope to see you with us again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in March. Staff and service excellent but room in serious need of updating. TV poor need new flatscreens. Bathroom disgusting , cracked washbasin and bath/shower grouting dirty and coming off, shower very inefficient, poor flushing toilet. (our survey form shows)
The food was typical cheap catering food, or was it poorly cooked?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Walter G

I am glad you felt the staff and service were excellent , new TV''s are being purchased soon for the whole hotel and we are currently doing an in house refurbishment programmme.
I am surprised about your comment about the food this is very unusual as our kitchen team produce a great menu.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hinckley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel in May for four nights, The basic menu the was quite good no need to pay extra for selected items the public rooms had been upgraded the bedroom less so
although it had a very good t.v. for a hotel, a number 2 bus from near the station stops just outside the hotel. On the whole good value!





































































































































Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room










Do you have photos to share?
(optional)

Add photos


During your trip to Bath, did you visit any of these World Heritage Sites?

TripAdvisor collects this information to assist UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, in its efforts to protect World Heritage Sites. Your feedback will not be shown as part of your review.

City of Bath

































Submit your review



I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review. I understand that TripAdvisor has a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews. Learn more






Submit your review
Preview your review



Welcome back, oap123

6 reviews 1 helpful vote


5 reviews until your next badge

Recent reviews of this property



bobglov




“Good hotel shame about the hill!”


Booked a last minute Shearings visit... Well worth it. The hotel is well run with friendly and efficient staff, a lovely dining room, good food, clean bedrooms. Like many of Shearings hotels, a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss but overall I' d recommend this hotel if visiting Bath. The only slight drawback is the hotel is...
more





lyndyloo51




“My sister and i have been to this place twice great place”


my sister and i have been to this hotel twice now, we are going to go back again next year, the hotel is great, staff are brill, food is great, nothing is to much trouble for anyone who works there, if they can do it it will be done, all staff smile all the time , it makes you happy when staff are happy in thier jobs as...
more





carine B




“A bit dissapointing”


The Lansdown Grove Hotel has a great potential: the decor and location are great and it's easily accessible from the train station. However, I have to say that the double ambassador is slightly dissapointing: the room heating was broken, our window was obstructed by slabs, breakfast (included) was served between 8 and...
more



Tips for writing a great review



















About TripAdvisor™ TripAdvisor features reviews and advice on hotels, resorts, flights, holiday rentals, holiday packages, travel guides, and lots more.

Reviews and advice on hotels, resorts, flights, holiday rentals, holiday packages, and lots more! Visit TripAdvisor's international sites:





























About Us | Write a review | Careers | Owners | Help Centre | Business Listings | DMO/CVB


© 2012 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved. TripAdvisor Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.



* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... (more)

TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
tation. on the whole it was good value for money booked through Coast and Country

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear OAP123
Thanks for posting a great review, it is good to hear you though your break was good value for money. Like the number 2 bus the number 31 Lansdown Park and Ride bus also stops right outside our hotel.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing